Who the hell is Richard Taylor?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

First off, he is a massive slacker!

I have been on Steemit for a few months and just now getting around to making my first post.  In my own defense I have been reading posts, making comments, and upvoting/following people I enjoy reading.  I also join the weekly Noob Night CryptoCast on @dtube.  Now my good friend and longtime business associate, @jongolson , seems to think I need to be more 'active' here.  The kicker?  He's right!

The conundrum I face is simple (yet complex), and one I am sure almost everybody finds when they show up here . . . where do I fit in all this?

Here's the thing, I really like Steemit and all it has to offer.  I see a promising future for the platform, the different aspects (@dtube, @dlive, etc.), and the people here.  Herein lies the problem, what can I possibly offer in a realm with so much?  Honestly, I haven't a clue at this point!

And now, Ladies and Gents, allow me to introduce . . .

The eclectic (nice word for slightly confused) side of who I am!

I am one of those Baby Booming Old Farts.  Yes, I can remember when phones had cords, we used Encyclopedias for information, and the only 'self driving' vehicle was the pickup we let ramble across the pasture while the 'driver' was in the back tossing of hay bales to the cows/horses.

Although I was riding horses before I could walk good, after I got out of the Army I realized there wasn't much demand, or money, for a cowboy.  So I sought out my fortune through higher (it was the 1970's - need I explain?) education and, over the years, studied Criminal Justice, Engineering, and Business.  Yeah, even then I was confused!

However, it was during this time I found two things that shaped my future.  Computers and the Entrepreneurial aspects of business development.  I was hooked!  Over the next 3+ decades I worked with entities such as Microsoft and the U.S. Government, built several businesses in the traditional brick/mortar world, and online.

Ok, but what does this have to do with Steemit?

Maybe nothing, maybe everything?

As I mentioned, I am not sure how I may 'fit' into this new, exciting, platform.  I hope that I can draw from past experiences, and current ventures, to offer some assistance to others, be of value in some small way, and LEARN from others.

Being the noob here, learning from each of you is of the upmost importance.  I can't move forward on this new path along the journey without the input/assistance of others.

Currently, I am building new ventures that involves:

  • Naturally grown food production through alternative methods (aquaponic, aeroponic, hydroponic)
  • Development of 3D printing concepts
  • Cryptocurrency/blockchain integration in business and mining/investing opportunities

As I said, eclectic, but perhaps some of this may be of interest to others here and offer a segway into where I can move this.

 Oh, I must forewarn everyone.  Brevity is NOT one of my strong points!  As you have probably already noticed, I might be inclined to ramble on a bit!

To those of you brave enough to have read all this, and perhaps offer insight in the comments, I am truly grateful!


With Sincere Thanks

Richard Taylor

Sort:  

For a belated first post, you have nailed it! You have made me finish my day with a huge smile. Thanks so much for sharing. Being a "jack of all trades" and having experience with corded phones isn't a bad thing at all here on Steemit. We need a some more 60's and 70's representation. I'm looking forward to seeing more. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @psionic-tremors. Congratulations. Wish you all the best.

Thanks, @energyaddict22 ! Glad I could offer some humor in your day.

@psionic-tremors has brought several people over to read this, and for that, I am truly grateful.

I have the 60's-70's well represented! I may be old (and still as handsome as ever!), but new tech still intrigues me. The opportunity presented here at Steemit is one I simply had to look into.

I hope to talk again. :)

About time! Holy moly!

Good to finally have you here blogging man. I REALLY hope you drop some gems like you did on Plus 1 all last year.

I think you are going to get a ton of value from this place but also deliver just as much.

Welcome to Steemit sir....Even though you've been here as long as me LOLOL

I'm old, I have an 'excuse' for being slow damn it!

Thanks for the kick in the tookus to do this Jon, it is appreciated.


Welcome to Steemit @richardtaylor!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello Richard ..welcome to steemit! ;) ....It's great that you've got motivated to be active on steemit. You wrote that entertaining introducemyself post and bammm you are featured in a contest ...isn't that great ?
In the contest you have to find 3 Steemians that are worth to get some support and more views on their posts. I found you and thought : yes this guy has writing skills and need to be kept motivated ;). You can take a look on my entry to the contest here :
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@psionic-tremors/my-entry-to-the-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-3-by-thedarkhorse
And i also recommend to visit the contest itself to read about more interesting steemians or even to enter :)

Hello @psionic-tremors! Thank you for featuring my humble post in your contest selections. I checked out the contest being run by @thedarkhorse, and find it quite an interesting way to highlight new people. I do hope you come by again!

You can join in the fun of the contest too! It's a great way to meet some new people while earning a little SBD from the Bounty.

Haha. This was one of the most interesting intro posts I have read in a while. Welcome to the community @richardtaylor, I was led here by #PayitForward Curation Contest where you were Featured :)

Thank you so much @elslekjay for reading my humble offerings and commenting. It would seem I owe the #PayitForward contest and @psionic-tremors a very large thank you for all the people it has sent my way. I am truly appreciative and hope to repay it by highlighting others here.

It is through these efforts that the spirit of Steemit can be fostered, and move forward.

You are very welcome. Correct indeed. We have to continue to build this platform in a positive manner if we are to see it succeed. It's my honor to have met you. Looking forward to more of your blogs :)

Welcome to the fun world of blogging at Steemit Rich. I even learned more about you today as a result. Thank you for encouraging me now that I am finally getting started and I look forward to reading your upcoming posts.

Nice to see you have started to post on Steemit too, Carla! :)

Carla!

Thanks for the welcome. Looks like fun times ahead, for both of us. Let's rock this place!

Welcome Richard! You have a lot to offer and sure you will find a rhythm here soon. Steemit should be glad it has someone like you here blogging now. Best of luck in your endeavors here.

Hey Mr. Joe!

I hope to offer some assistance or inspiration to others while I am here. However, right now, I am looking to learn from those that have been doing this. You are off to a great start here and I am picking up tips/tricks from your endeavors. Good stuff my friend!

Well, I thank you for the compliment and very humbled by it coming from you.

Man, I've been following and waiting patiently for your posts practically since I joined. Jon had a better idea, to give you a nudge! Ramble on Mr. Taylor! :)

Thanks! Hopefully, I can find my stride here and offer more than just rambling thoughts. And yeah, Jon's 'gentle nudging' works!

Don't worry, you will find your stride. I always appreciated your content, so you have one guaranteed reader. Some guarantee, right? :)

Great start Richard the first of many I trust. Looking forward to reading more.

Thank you, Eric!

I, too, hope there is more to come! Still not sure where this is headed, but this path along the journey damn sure looks like fun!

hi @richardtaylor Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around 😊

Thanks, @hazelicious! I appreciate that vote of confidence in there being a 'next' one! Going to give it a shot, though. Hope to see you around. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59