With the appropriate level of foresight, very few future events should come as a complete surprise...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

PrepareWithForesight

With the appropriate level of foresight, very few future events should come as a complete surprise. It is often our own shortcomings, bias and lack of insight that limit our awareness of possible futures.


Hi, Everybody!

My name is Christiaan, but for some reason, I decided to go with @redpig for my Steemit profile. I am not sure why, but I guess it could have been worse...

A bit about myself

I have been involved in the fields of risk management, disaster risk assessments, emergency planning and strategic foresight for a few years. During this time I had the opportunity to do work for a range of government and corporate clients, and I also saw what benefits the tools from these fields offer if they are used correctly. Benefits that support sustainability and organisational resilience.

However, I often feel like the people who need these benefits the most - individuals, families and communities - are not aware of the tools available in the fields of risk management or strategic foresight, and often struggle to develop their own long-term sustainability and resilience.

Therefore, earlier this year, I started a blog Prepare with Foresight.com to try to address this need. The blog is dedicated to the field of disaster preparedness and aims to assist individuals to establish resilient families and communities. My overall goal with the blog is to ensure that ordinary people, families and communities arrive at a point where they have the peace of mind that they will be able to recover from, and successfully adapt to the consequences of adverse events.

The blog has seen a gradual increase in the number of visitors, and through the Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn and Pinterest pages, I have been able to address some of the questions people have.

But the progress is slow, and I hope Steemit is another platform I can use to get the message out.

Join me - but only if you want to

If this sounds interesting, feel free to visit the blog and see what was done so far. If you are still interested, join me on the journey to help others build resilient communities. I don't expect charity, and I will not expect anyone to share or like posts they do not find useful. But if you find value in a post, let me know. And feel free to submit your questions, and I will try to address them in a future blog post.

That's all from me. Let's see how it goes!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Welcome to family :)

Goodlock in steemit.com

Welcome to Steem @redpig I have upvoted and sent you a tip

hello~ redpig, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~, @leesujae17

Welcome to Steemit community, nice to meet you.
I am very happy to share with you, I invite you to follow me at @chantha, Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it.
I can not wait for your best postings. See you ...

Welcome Redpig:) Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steemit ! happy to have you here. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome @redpig, looking forward to your posts. I am interested in all things survival and will definitely check in with your latest tips.

Thanks @bethanymac, let me know if you have any questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33