Social Media? It's complicated...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I hate posting on social media.

My life is awesome. I love it. I live in paradise, I go surfing a few times a week, I currently work about two hours per day doing things that are fun and run my own business and projects on the side.
I go out for drinks at night, I cook, I eat out, I snorkel, I paraglide, I take cool pictures and have an overall awesome life compared to most of the people I know.

I hate posting on social media.

The idea of sharing isn't what's bothering me. I like to send funny or goofy pictures to my friends. But I don't like all of the self-promotion and over-compensation that a lot of the instagram-people do, nor am I a fan of the I-hate-my-life posts on facebook. Where is the honesty? Where is the truth?

That's why I really like this. Here, I can just post my stuff without having to deal with the dread of envious friends, well-meaning family members with inappropriate comments, and corporate advertising on every page. I can be myself – albeit without showing too much of myself. I can still make friends but they get to know the "real" me and not the one I would have to be for instagram or facebook...

Anyways, thanks for the warm welcome, you'll hear from me soon.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, @reaggyg!

Indeed, there is a lot of hypocrisy on social media in general. Steemit is not exempt, but perhaps it is better at the moment than those others you mentioned.

Best of luck to you on here!

Thanks very much, @kccrypto!
So far, I really like it here and everyone has been overwhelmingly nice. I'll look around a bit more and figure this out and hopefully find my "groove" on where to post what and when.. ;-)

I don't want to limit myself to only talking about food or sports or cryptocurrencies or life advice (which you probably shouldn't take from me anyways) and to make it a colorful mix. We'll see how it's liked but so far, it's really fun!

Welcome to Steem @reaggyg I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome in steemit @reaggyg, I have followed you. Follow and upvote my post!

Def. better than the F-book which I have avoided at all costs the majority of my life. You have a lot to offer this platform / community....my version of your post is: 'I do what must be done just to get one day closer to The End' ! Despite extreme efforts there's no pleasure, seen and done it all but no pot of gold (or even one to piddle in) at the end of my life's rainbow. so I look forward to living vicariously through you ! Congratulations on your success in life and ability to make the most of every day.
LMAN.GIF

Hi @lanceman!
First of all, thanks for your reply!
I would neither say that I'm especially successful, nor that I feel no pleasure in my life. I may have taken on the Spanish mentality a little too much concerning work-life-balance. Right now, it's tilted a lot more to the "life"-side than for the majority of people. That may change in the future but I feel like I'm currently making the best of it.

My advice to you would be to focus on prioritization of your tasks (if you can). I don't know what responsibilities you hold. However, from what I've seen the only things that really matter are connections with people. If you value those, you'll be fine in the end (and hopefully before that as well!) What would you need a pot of gold for in the end? No matter what the end is, you won't be able to take that pot with you anyways... ;-)

If you ever feel down and/or want to talk, let me know. I'm not a bundle of positivity but I always try to have an open ear.

Thank you @reaggyg ! I appreciate the kind words - you have a new friend and follower. Very good advice - tha Steemit is helping me on some level to work on my vacant social skills so that is certainly something !

No problem @lanceman! Always happy to help :)
What are you talking about when you say "vacant social skills"? You seem just fine to me. Of course, everyone can (and should) always work to improve oneself on some level. If you feel like you are lacking something, practice makes perfect.
Anyways, I'm of course happy to have gained a follower but more so to have a new internet-friend.

Thanks again @reaggyg ! I enjoy writing but in life I am def. a loner and have become as much of a recluse as possible at a young age. I seem to attract drama so much so that in order to cope I have learned I must avoid real life relationships at all costs. The Steemit allows me my social 'steem' which is rewarding in that sense !

I don't mean to be rude @lanceman but there is a quote that has helped me a lot:

“If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day, you're the asshole.”
― Raylan Givens Justified

There are two theories that really get me through life with a positive outlook:

  1. Everyone is the main actor in their own story. Think of the most embarrassing thing you've ever done. Then, try to come up with the most embarrassing thing other people have done. It's much easier to remember your own story than that of others. And for everyone else out there, it's the same way. Most people are so caught up in their own life that they are too busy to pay attention to your shortcomings. Much of the drama of life is just misunderstandings or miscommunication. If you think people are out to get you, it often seems that way.
  2. Do what YOU like. If Steemit is something you enjoy doing and not just an escape to get away from the life you DON'T enjoy, great! Use it to the best of your ability and enjoy your time here. If you are however in hiding from your "real" life, I would suggest stepping outside from time to time. People may surprise you.

G'day @reaggyg! Welcome to the platform :]

thanks @msg768! It already feels like it's going to be a good place for me..

Looks So Yummy. 😍 @reaggyg

Welcome to Steemit @Reaggyg! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Hey there @reaggyg! Welcome to the platform :]

Hi @Reaggyg its good to see more people around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97