Ola Steemit! I'm Debb and I'm QuitePoetic

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

33x.jpg

Hello Steemit

Most of my friends have been talking about their Steemit blogs, and I’m jealous, so I’m starting one too. That said, I will try to make this more than an exercise in self-indulgence.

About Me

My name is Deborah but Debb will be better. I’m writing my first novel. Yes, my very first, what’s usually considered one’s “practice” novel. And in my mind, it’s the first in a series. So, um, we’ll see how that goes. If I need to set it aside and work on something else for a while in order to make all my worst first-time author mistakes in a different place, I will.

Maybe some short stories with related characters?

Not that I haven’t written anything before. I have: poetry, plays, essays, articles. Just no novels. And as all of you authorly folk know, writing (of any kind) is hard work if you want to do it well. And I am also a perfectionist, so I definitely want to do it well. Which means this process may take longer than I’d hoped.

Right now I’m a little stuck and am figuring out why and the best way(s) to get unstuck. However, I will do whatever I have to do, and I will finish.

Oh, what do I write?

Silly me, I haven’t mentioned that yet. Okay, this book/series is urban fantasy/paranormal romance, and so far a lot of fun, except for the getting stuck part.

I read pretty much every kind of romance, and also mysteries, thrillers, sci-fi, fantasy, and nonfiction. So the book is a little bit of a hybrid; it has some touches of sci-fi and mystery/thriller as well as its primary generic characteristics. Some of that may change in the revision phase; we’ll see.

I might need some good beta readers, so if any fans of urban fantasy and/or paranormal romance want to get in touch, I’d love to hear from you.

I’m watching with fascination the upheaval taking place in the publishing industry, with digital and self-publishing rapidly changing the way things are done. I’ll probably post about those issues, as well as book reviews, other writing-related topics, and other random things that strike my fancy.

Thanks for reading, and welcome.

Quite Poetic

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @quitepoetic.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi @quitepoetic and welcome to the blockchain. Great to see you are a writer who is pursuing the craft.

If you'd like to join a like-minded group of writers, there is a great one over on Discord (https://discordapp.com/) called The Writers' Block https://discord.gg/VvcTQc2 where you can workshop your writing and receive peer review from a great group of editors.

Come on over and enjoy the fun.

I always have trouble finishing stories. I'd probably have to make a series just so the book would never have an 'ending'. Welcome to the Steemit community. I hope you enjoy your time with us.


Welcome to Steemit @quitepoetic!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

I love poetry hehe. Thank for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43