You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musica Poetica comes to Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I'm happy to find you on Steemit. Although I made my living as a scientist, performance and listening to classical music was a big part of my life, and I became particularly interested in period instruments. No one else I knew had even heard of the art.
I played trumpet, and back in the 1970's I discovered Edward H. Tarr and wanted to learn to play the baroque trumpet. I was fortunate to meet him on two occasions when he toured in the USA. But how could I find a baroque trumpet in rural Kentucky? I knew of reproduced instruments made in Europe, but only one dealer in New York sold them and I couldn't afford one.
My determination was resolute so I made several instruments myself from disassembled valve trumpets. I learned to play it and became good enough to perform in public on my homemade reproductions! In my circles, I was the only-lonely musician who was interested in learning the technique. I knew it was cool before my peers. I had set of three matched instruments, but nobody to play duets or trios. I did play solos with a local chamber group and at many churches, weddings, and even a funeral. I especially liked performing with a pipe organist, who was very enthusiastic and supportive.
I invented my own tuning hole configuration that only required two, instead of the three- or four-hole systems adopted by the established craftsmen. My system even allowed for a perfect B-natural, which is a challenge even for the pros. I contacted them and offered to trade my secret if they would fabricate a professional instrument to prove it's utility, but never got a response.
Eventually I stopped playing valved trumpets altogether and went totally "baroque"-pun intended 😉
Of course now period instruments and performances are well known and popular. I was ahead of my time, I guess.
My passion was evident when I was in high school and I wrote my first research paper in English class on the subject. I recently posted it on Steemit as a tribute to my teacher and lifelong friend who passed away last month: https://steemit.com/life/@qiyi/my-first-high-school-research-paper-trumpets-of-the-renaissance-and-baroque
I look forward to your future posts as a new follower, and thank you for your letting me tell my story.
Sincerely,
Rick, @qiyi

Sort:  

Nice to have you follow us!

That is an incredible story of passion for the baroque trumpet. A pity that you missed the Early Music revolution in Europe, although I gather it is getting more and more popularity in America.

I'm afraid my personal (@bengy) experience and knowledge of baroque trumpet is a little slim, I am always amazed that trumpeters manage so well on instruments that are so difficult. I even know people that play with no holes! Anyway, I was on tour last year doing the Brandenburg concerti and it was a huge play every night for the trumpeter.

We have some performances up already and have more to come. We look forward to your feedback!

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

@bengy I guess I would say I'm a scientist with a music background. I used my knowledge of physics and harmonics to devise my two-hole tuning aid for the natural/baroque trumpet. Thanks for the discord invitation...I joined.

Ha ha, I am your opposite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45