Hi Steem! I'm pingu2k4 - A systems designer at a large Games company, with a passion for cryptocurrencies, programming, machine learning and a mix of all of the above!

Hi Steem!

I'm pingu2k4 - unsurprisingly, I first used this handle in 2004. It's kind of just stuck. The 2k4 part is kind of embarrassing at times, but not the pingu part. I embrace everything pingu.

So, I am a systems designer - What is that? I spend the majority of my time in excel, or programming. I do all the "backend maths" to the designs of upcoming games (no, I can't talk about them). Want to put combat in your game? You're going to need some formulas behind them - and I'm your guy - crafting experiences through maths to meet design requirements. Plenty of time is spent balancing systems after the formulas are created.

What else?

Well, I used to play a bunch of poker, I love programming (C# mainly) and if something can either be competitive or considered a logical problem, then I will probably love it.

Outside of my work, I HAVE to keep myself busy. I always have projects on the go, and keep a Trello board tracking all my projects - past present and future. That board is clearly private, however I did recently start off a tools board - Any tools I create which may be useful to somebody else I put up there. So far, I just have an excel sheet, which can be used to create multiple 3D scatter charts (something which excel itself doesn't have built in),  based on data in a table, comparing all attributes in the table with each other in every possible combination of 3.

What am I doing right now?

Right now? my projects are all based around crypto, crypto trading, and the automation of such trading. I am using Binance exchange (they have lower fees than most, especially with their reduced fees til the end of Feb). I went looking on GitHub for someone who had created an API wrapper for them, and there was plenty of choice! (Unlike some other exchanges) which also factored into my reason for choosing Binance. In the end, I settled with sonvister's implementation.

Around sonvister's API wrapper, I have created my own wrapper. It comes as a result of my first very messy project, which I had to scrap due to unmaintainability, difficulty debugging etc. So I created what I named "BinanceBase". It provides one-line calls into any part of Sonvister's API wrapper, has its own built in logger, lays out some of the basic UI in the console already, has a commands system - allowing me to type in commands at runtime, to change things etc. After configuring, connecting to the Binance exchange etc, it spins up 2 loops. One is the "action loop", which is where all the code for my trading strategy lies. The other is the input loop, which waits for a command to be entered, and when entered it actions it accordingly. New actions are super simple to create! It also has the code to calculate the values for 8 different trading indicators based on candlestick data (moving averages, MACD, RSI, etc). So, I create a project template of BinanceBase, and its a huge headstart on creating a new strategy - just put in the trading logic and you're done!

Have I made a profitable bot yet? No. But all I've really lost is time, and the odd $1 here or there testing out a few strategies. If you find something that makes just an average of 1% per day, that's huge! the compound interest on that is massive over time... (And yes - I have a spreadsheet for that!)

Got any automated trading tips? I'm all ears!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @pingu2k4!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Looks like you love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Nice to meet you, @pingu2k4! Welcome to Steemit!

Hi pingu, I'm not even sure I understood what I just read, but I'm sure I have a lot to learn from you. Welcome! :D

Programming skills, interest in games and cryptocurrencies! My man! I currently have an account with Binance. I think I bought my first Ripples there. I am working on my sprites drawing for a video game and know that coding will be a big issue for me. Luckily I have the online web and my lilttle brother who is taking coding classes. The gamemaking program is called "gamemaker studio". It will user friendly for people with limited coding knowledge.

Are you on Fiverr.com? This site people post their skills online for people to buy...mostly for $5 or more. Maybe you can offer some programming, coding service online. Well. Keep on Steeming!

:) I use unity for making games in, though have had to use other engines in the past at work (back into Unity for now though!).

I am on fiverr, but only to buy services not sell. Sorry! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43