New here, trying it out to see how it all works

Hi,

I was curious after one of my customers told me about this, so here i am.

What about me?
Well, i'm a man of many jobs, I work as sales clerk at a big electronics store in belgium, but that job is only part-time.

On the side of that, I present games for GOLIATH, the big dutch games giant, I usually do trade fairs for them, a truly enjoyable thing since i'm a lover of boardgames. I have too many boardgames to list, but let's just say i won't get bored fast. Another thing that will keep boredom away for me is my huge steam collection, nearing 1000 games and it's going to be such a milestone for me.

Which convienently brings me to my next activity, I co-own a gaming bussiness, we have an arcade hall where you pay an entrance fee and can play all you want, Old arcades with pacman, tetris, mortal combat... Retro consoles, like the NES and master system, ever heard of a Vectrex? yeah... we got that, new consoles too btw. Oh and VR, which is my next passion and freelance job. I'm a VR consultant for different VR companies around my area.

The funniest part is that couple of years ago I didn't even have a decent job, was just living off a small income that the company I owned back then afforded me. Now I feel like someone who made it.

So yeah that's a bit of a story, also what brings me here, I love computers, boardgames, pc gaming, working apparently and also my cat and SO.

Hope to see, and enjoy this platform.. even if I still have so much to learn about it.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Owen! Great to have you. Really looking forward to what you’ve got to share. I also love gaming, and VR intrigues me, so I didn’t hesistate to click that “follow” button! Best of luck to you!

Thank you for the warm welcome, what is the kind of content that would be appreciated here? or does anything go?

I've had an idea to make a thing where I play a game for a week, and then give it my thoughts and mini review, something I did have a blog for a while ago but it didn't have many views and thus I gave up on it, think it could work here?

VR is very cool if you do it right, and you know the things that are worth your time.

Heh, if I knew the answer to that I'd have an account value a lot higher than $0.50 after two months!

Seriously though, there does seem to be a niche for just about everything. I'd keep posts shorter rather than longer. I'd try to post only once every day or two. I would comment a ton, especially on topics that you yourself would like to write about. That will help you form connections and gain followers, which as far as I can tell is the best way to be successful on here without resorting to anything that costs money.

I like your idea! There is a fairly decent gaming community here from what I've seen. Just make sure you pick 5 good tags so people can find it! I like picking 2 or 3 of the very common tags (in your case, something like "gaming" and "pc" and "review") and then 1 or 2 more specific tags, like the name of the game (and maybe the abbreviation, like "CoD" or "SC2" or "WoW"). That'll help people find your content more easily.

Best of luck!

Loading...

Welcome to Steem, @owengraven!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2787 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

Welcome to steemit @owengraven. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Congratulations @owengraven! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello owengraven! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67