On behalf of Nelson Mandela Bay I officially introduce myself, hit the streets as a steemit evangalist and ambassador for my city!!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello all, today I am excited to personally introduce myself on behalf of my beautiful city, and as promised I took the day to drive around and take a few pictures of Port Elizabeth, Nelson Mandela Bay.

About me

My name is jonathan, I was born 1982 in Nelson Mandela Bay, Port Elizabeth. I have been a crypto-currecy hobbyist ever since I discovered bitcoin in 2011. Recently I found steemit via a Google search and was instantly intrigued at what I had found, one week later and with a little research and help from @merrij99, @bitminter and @virtashare the rest became history! I have now taken it upon myself to run with this opportunity as a steemit ambassador creating awareness and putting steemit on the map in South Africa, Eastern Cape. more info

My journey so far

When I first joined steemit I was uncertain of what to expect, I grasped the concept quite quickly but decided to read and research before I just jumped in. I have come to realize, and I believe it is quite apparent that the steemit community is very passionate. I have taken it upon myself to become the driving force for steemit awareness and branding in Nelson Mandela Bay, South Africa.

Today I took the time to hit the streets of Port Elizabeth riding my motorcycle proudly representing steemit, wearing the first printed steemit T-shirt printed in the Eastern Cape, South Africa I believe. The response from the local people has truly been inspiring and a wonderful experience from my side. I can proudly say I have personally spoken to over 50 people today, and the Port Elizabeth community was more than happy to jump in for photo's and listen to what I had to say. Wow what a great opportunity we have here for creating steemit awareness!

Without further delay...

My journey started this morning by first visiting the Save-a-pet a charity. I am happy to welcome @leighd, Manager at Save-a-Pet to the steemit family. More info here.

My next stop was on our famous beachfront, the water-sports capital of the world. I started with our local skate park randomly chatting to people and the next thing I knew we were taking a picture, how awesome is that! Welcome to steemit guy's!

A few local artists I have now also personally introduced to steemit. All the paintings you see are 100% authentic hand painted African portraits. It was explained to me that they grew up paining as there father was a artist and the painting techniques are a family secret. Another interesting fact is that these paintings are laid out and exposed to the African sun all day, with almost no fading or signs of weathering, I found this very interesting.

Me standing on Shark Rock peer overlooking the ocean and city bay, one of my favorite Port Elizabeth landmarks. On a good day the water will be almost 100% clear boasting all kinds of beautiful marine life, our local bottle nose dolphins are known for swimming laps around shark rock peer while playing in the surf and also for protecting our swimmers from sharks.

Proceeds from this post will be donated to the Save-a-pet charity and contributed towards local media coverage for steemit, please follow this link for more info: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nelsonmandelabay/save-a-pet-or-rescue-rehab-rehome

Thank you for reading and your support! I am looking forward to your comments and any questions.

Jonathan

Follow : @nelsonmandelabay
Tel/ Whatzapp: +27 (0)81 314 9814
Email: [email protected]

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

interesting concept I will give it a try, thank you!

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
This introduction post has been nominated for the @projectnewbie incentive where we try and get new and verified users more visibility on their first post to make it easier to connect to other users!
If you have any questions about it, this is the Announcement Post. Have fun Steeming! :)

@projectnewbie, thank you very very much for your support, I am now following you and will continue to support you as you have done for myself and my city. Much appreciated!

What do you call a pig that does karate? -A PORK CHOP

What did the Buddhist say to the hot dog vendor? -Make me one with everything!

Welcome fellow safas from Durban :)

@mrgrey, Thank you much appreciated, I am excited to have you comment and have found my post! South Africans appear to be catching on fast and I believe we are going to take steemit by storm. Cheerz my Bru I am now following you!

@nelsonmandelabay, great post you are really putting in the effort. Sorry I have been so quite but steemit was not paying the bills and I have had to turn back to finding part time employment and this is currently taking up most of my time, really sucks but that is life I guess :P

Can I please have permission to use your images and re post on behalf of Nelson Mandela Bay and yourself? I read what @projectnewbie had to say I feel if I re posts using my own tag's giving credit to your original post we might be able to gain some momentum, well at least it might help to raise a little extra funds to help you get off the ground.

Thanks for reposing , sorry for the late reply :-) As we discussed on whatzapp I am busy putting together a venue for us to have a steem meetup and hopefully this will help drive locals to steemit. Currently I am busy building funds to pay for the venue and will confirm a date as soon as possible. Cheerz

To be fond of learning is near to wisdom; to practice with vigor is near to benevolence; and to be conscious of shame is near to fortitude. He who knows these three things

The way of the superior person is threefold; virtuous, they are free from anxieties; wise they are free from perplexities; and bold they are free from fear.

Awesome introduction and enthusiasm!!!!! upvote and follow. Looking forward to hearing more about you and your community.
Happy Spring!! oc

@optimistic-crone thank you for your support!

This is excellent, Jonathan! I love the pictures and how your community seemed to fully embrace you. Here's to a great beginning for you all :)

@merej99, Thanks once again for the continued support, I am fortunate to live in such a vibrant friendly city with so much to offer. I am happy to have shared and appreciate the feedback, Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51