Hola Steemians! I'm a Chilean self-taught artist passionate about travel, nature, dance... and avocado! <3

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hey guys! I'm a newbie around here, but I'm really excited about start using Steemit and share a lot of good content with you!

But first, let me introduce myself.
steemit photo.jpg

My name is Vania Hermosilla and I grew up in Concepción, the second biggest city of Chile.
Since I was little I was a lover of handicrafts, dance, gymnastics, and animals, and I was big fan of books! Every night I read a lot before going to sleep and probably that's why I got good grades at school, or because of my super intelligence haha, I don't know.
I grew up with the idea that being a doctor could make me happy, because it was what would make my parents feel even more proud of me and because it would give me the possibility of having a life with luxuries that until a few years ago I discovered that they were unnecessary.

I entered medical school and with the passage of time, I began to realize that I was far away from who I really was and what I wanted for my life.
I started to become aware that I didn't do things for me, but for the rest of the people and that's when I decided to stop. I put an end to toxic processes that I was living and one of the biggest and for which I needed a lot of courage, was to leave the medical career after 4 years studying it. At that time, I met my current life partner that supported me infinitely in this difficult decision. I started working in a store in a shopping center and saved money with the idea of ​​going on a trip. I needed to take a distance to see everything more clearly and be able to decide where my life was going. My boyfriend and I went 3 months to Southeast Asia and it was by far one of the best decisions I have made in my life.

Parallel to that, I took full refuge in the art as therapy for everything I was feeling. I needed to rediscover myself and art was the perfect medium to do it. From there I did not stop creating (or traveling). I noticed that time flew by and I could even forget to eat while I was painting.
Art certainly helped me to know myself better, to love and respect me.
In addition, I became vegetarian because of a deep love of animals and my body and discovered the wonderful world of plant-based cooking.
All these changes marked me deeply and are a great base for who I am today. After having traveled through the 5 continents with my boyfriend, painting murals on the beach of Mompiche Ecuador or on the streets of Bogotá in Colombia, rock climbed on an island in Greece, climbed mountains in Capetown, danced electronic music in a new year in Bali, walked through the desert of Jordan with the Bedouins, arriving at my house in the middle of a fire and losing everything, falling rock climbing in the patagonia of Argentina and not being able to do any sport for half a year, among many other intense and beautiful experiences, I can not be less than a grateful one of life.

I currently live in a beautiful apartment with my boyfriend. We have many plants that I always talk to (don't judge me haha) and a beautiful office/workshop that I will certainly show you in another post. I've started a healthy food business with a cousin and I'm an Aeroyoga teacher. I also work as a freelance artist and I want to grow and expand a lot in art world.

My biggest inspiration comes from two of my greatest loves: travel and nature, from where I absorb the greatest amount of patterns, symbols, organic shapes and colors; mixing different techniques, seeking to reproduce the invisible behind the visible, the brush being my greatest ally and the white murals my favorite canvas.

So join my adventure of learning and expansion... I will be sharing with you:

  • Artistic processes
  • My inspirations
  • Summaries of what I study (I am currently studying various topics such as geometric patterns and botanical illustration, to nutrition and medicinal plants)
  • New experiences in the artistic world (courses, dance, travel)
    ... so you won't get bored!

I will always be receptive to what you want to read/see, also if you are interested in having some work of mine, do not hesitate to contact me through my Instagram

DSC06688.jpg

Painting in Mompiche, Ecuador (2014)

Ipad 395.JPG

"Senbazuru" Custom Work (2015)

IMG_0030.JPG

Psychedelic Garden - Custom Work (2015)

DSC00080 for fb.jpg

Drawing inspired by Mapuche culture (2016)

mujer medicina015.jpg

"Mujer Medicina" (2016)

Copia de Mural Gimnasio Escalada 1.jpg

"Confiar es Conectar", Mural for Rock Climbing Gym (2016)

Captura de pantalla 2017-12-07 a la(s) 00.46.56.png

Digital artwork for a Women Calendar (2017)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

heeyy thank you! :)

Welcome to steemit! Glad you found your real destination in life and didn't continue to do something you don't like to - A unmotivated doctor ain't a good one anyways ;) Your art is awesome, I like the think you drew for the Hostel!
Would be cool to see a timelapse video of such a drawing on @dtube!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising newcomers! Greets!

you're completely right, I​'d be an unhappy doctor and because of that, probably​ I​ wouldn't be a really good one, but now I'm a very happy human being​ so I can be the best of myself yeeiii haha Thank you for your support!! :) I really want to upload videos soon. Have a nice day!!

Welcome to the steemit family. I hope you grow and thrive here. Just be yourself and you will do good. @mylittleblurbs

If you like poetry please feel free to check my stuff out.

Looking forward to your posts. I need get more gutsy with my photography. I keep telling myself that I need to carry my camera wherever I go, but then I fail myself.

I hope that your posts might inspire me to do the same and become more adventurous. Though I am far from a painter when it come to the arts. but I just write. I try to pain with words.

Thanks for joining and all the luck.

Welcome To Steemit! You are a very talented artist and are going to do well in life as long as you never give up.

This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.

You are really going to like it here. This is a unique place where there is no competition. Instead, we all work to build success by helping each other out. The best way to grow is to build Steem Power and vote to reward other authors.

I encourage you to take the time to search for other posts that interest you and upvote them. Also, start following authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following!

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 7 Must-Have Apps

Hello and welcome to Steemit, Vania! That's some beautiful artwork! Sounds like you've had a lot of interesting experiences. I'm following you and look forward to seeing more from you.

Thanks for your support! I'm pleased :)

Welcome aboard :) check out my giveaway

Welcome to the platform nativa! Explore and enjoy it :)

I love books as well :) welcome to Steemit

Welcome to Steemit ! Lovely art - I love that last calendar! Also I like reading books too.

Thank you!! it seems to be a good idea to share photos of the library of our houses/workstation​.. or "currently reading" posts ... I would like to see your library :)

Ah, I am currently not reading anything (besides a lot of Steemit posts) - but I shall keep that idea in mind.

welcome to steemit ... nice post nice photos

thank u! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41