Hello, Brave Steemian World!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! 你好呀!Apa kabar?

My name is James Chan - anti-disciplinary investor, entrepreneur and all-round hustler. I'm a 36-year old ethnic Chinese born and bred in Singapore with a 4-year stint in the United States for my Bachelor and Masters, after which I returned to Singapore and have based myself out of since. I used to be an introvert for much of my growing up years and became an ambivert by a series of circumstances around the ages of 27 through 29. My professional role requires me to take the reins and speak a ton, but I'd very much prefer to relax on a couch with my book or smartphone whizzing around virtual realms or the interweb.

Pic 1 - I stumble across a trolley of frozen tuna in Tsukiji and ask for a rare photo of myself to be taken with one of my fav food

I wear a couple of hats in my multi-dimensional life; as an entrepreneur, I spend all of my waking moments working on Wecash (since Sep '16) and Silicon Straits (circa Nov '12) in Asia Pacific, as I trapeze through the cities of Singapore, Jakarta, Ho Chi Minh, Delhi, Mumbai and Beijing. 

As an investor, I maintain our remaining unrealised portfolio in Neoteny Labs (final close Jan '11), a US$5M seed fund I started and raised with Joichi Ito in May '10 which has since returned 1.35 times of capital to LPs and GPs, and continues to have significant unrealised assets under our management. Post-Neoteny Labs, I wrote angel-sized cheques out of the Silicon Straits balance sheet, investing into companies and funds such as Burpple, Neoteny 3, HipVan, Caarly (acq. by Carousell), Ztore, Carro, One Eight Technologies, PolicyPal, Udu, Pixel Labs and SurePark. These days, I only invest in companies I operate or build teams to operate. I also invest in cryptocurrencies.

As a citizen of Singapore, I contribute to The Birthday Book and its community, The Birthday Collective. It's a non-profit I continue to be a core member of. We produce an annual collection of 800-to-1200-word essays by a curated list of volunteers that matches Singapore's birthday, hence the name "The Birthday Book". I spend most of my weekdays on the road and usually return to Singapore only on weekends. Apart from my family, this initiative is my only other anchor that gets me to continue to care for my home and country.

As an individual, I'm a father of three and try to sneak whatever time I can eke out from my bankrupt schedule to pen thoughts - previously on Medium, and henceforth, only on Steemit! I also try to sneak some time in to read, play computer/mobile games, hone photography, travel and gorge on good food. I've been largely a letdown to my friends due to my lack of time, and cannot thank my wife and kids enough for putting up with my mental and physical absence. All I can say is that I'm working hard on being a better husband and father.

Pic 2 - My 3 kids bring a smile to my face every time I think of them or see them.

I was cracking my head for a good blog title to jumpstart my Steemit presence and settled for a play on Aldous Huxley's ageless dystopian classic. I don't think blockchain, decentralised ledger technology or cryptocurrencies will play a pivotal role in getting us to an international scientific empire that manufactures citizens via eugenics in laboratories sans sex. I do think there's great potential here for crypto to bring about a new awakening and decoupling akin to the Internet - best embodied by select crypto-economies such as Steemit, Ethereum, Bitcoin and a few others - but also remain cautious given the sheer amount of shill-coins that raise insane amounts of money on the back of the crypto-bubble. I find the speculative nature of most cryptocurrencies to be a zero-sum game that can cause things to get worse before they get better; very different from the regenerative commons that is the Internet, where every additional user does not add beta and instead strengthens positive network effects without materially depleting much of the Internet Commons.

I'd like to end my introductory Steemit post by sharing with you a Chinese phrase I picked up from watching Fan Bing Bing's "The Empress of China" - 不问前程凶吉,但愿落幕无悔. It loosely translates as: "Don't ponder if the road ahead will be filled with wins or fails. Just live without regrets. YOLO!!" It's with this spirit that I approach much of life and crypto.

Thank you for staying up with me, and let me know what else you'd like to read from me in your comments!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @motochan!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @motochan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @motochan, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @motochan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi motochan,

A very warm welcome to you on Steemit. Hope you have a great time here. Just wanted to say thanks for your contribution to us. We would like to have a chat with you, if you are interested. Kindly contact us on discord: https://discord.gg/EE7DuYc

I noticed that you delegated some SP to bid bots. If you also like to earn a nice return on your investment in a different way, I can make you a proposal. Please let me know if you're interested?

Congratulations @motochan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Congratulations @motochan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @motochan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25