Re-introduction @moderndayhippie: dream chaser!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So many things have changed since I first joined steemit 5 months ago that I wanted to take the chance to re-introduce myself to all of my newer followers or to anyone who may want to follow me but doesn't really know what I am about.

This is me @moderndayhippie, I am a dream chaser. Weird thing to hear right? Well honestly it's just as weird to say. But believe it or not, it is true.

A little about me

The last year of my life has been pretty crazy for me. I have completely changed everything about myself to follow my dreams! Sounds pretty awesome right? To tell you the truth It has not been easy, we have had problems at every turn, but it has been an amazing journey every step of the way. But here I am, a few months from reaching my first dream and loving life! I have finally found myself and true happiness for the first time in my life and I want to share all my experiences with each and every one of you who want to hear it!

While chasing my dreams the universe was kind and helped me to find cryptos which ultimately lead me to stumble upon steemit. When I had heard I could get paid for blogging in cryptos I had to check it out. I had actually quit social media years ago but there I was, going back to social media with steemit. Funny how life works out sometimes. I honestly didn't know what to expect, I just knew I have always had an urge to write but never had the proper platform to express myself and this seemed like a great oppertunity to earn some free cryptos for what seemed to be an amazing token.

When I first started I thought I was going to write about news, health and a little about my life. Boy was I wrong! It took me some time to figure it out, but steemit has a funny way of making you realize what you really love writing about. I have found my niche in a few areas, but everyone is different so do what you love and it will be so much more fun.

As of today I have been on steemit for 5 months and have over 800 organic followers! I never thought I would get this far, THANK YOU so much to all my followers and friends on steemit! Without you none of this is possible!

A little about @moderndayhippie

I am a dream chaser!

In early 2017 I decided to give up the normal life and chase my dreams. It was hard and I had no clue where to start or what to do but I was determined to succeed. I have since quit my job, sold my house, and now I'm getting ready to move to Costa Rica to start my dream life traveling the world! If I can live my dreams so can you!

Positivity

I am a huge believer that being positive can really change your life. It worked for me so I know it's possible for you too! Because of this I post a lot of positive articles trying to help others to follow their dreams too.

  • To show people how much better life can be with just a little more positivity.
  • To help people find some happiness when the world is full of suffering.

Motivation & Inspiration

My goal on steemit is to inspire the un-inspired.
To motivate people to do more with their lives than accept mediocrity.
To make people dream bigger and try harder to accomplish their goals in life.

you don't have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.

Photography

  • All of the amazing things we see on our travels.
  • Sunrises, sunsets and all the beauty of the world.
    I like to let them speak for themselves :)

Amature photographer, Professional at appreciating life!

Thanks for checking out my post! If you like what you see follow me.

My fiance just joined steemit this week! show her some support at @ayogihasnoname.

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

Hope it's the beginning of a long journey! I'm here for whatever you need, do not hesitate to ask for help! I will follow closely your posts and your blog updates.
Resteemed this via @nunojesus

Thank you, i really appreciate the resteem and the support! Life is always easier when you have people to help out :)

I have the the same dream! congrats on making it happen!

Awsome, don't ever give up on that dream! With cryptos and the price of steem going up it may be sooner than you think my friend! ;)

The pictures are spectacular les dare resteem. I loved them.

Thank you so much!
A resteem definitely deserves a full upvote.

Oh, Love the name btw😉 i sometimes try to write poetry but it is not very good.. lol.. i do post most of it on steemit tho cuz u got to practice if u want to get good at something.

Good to meet you again Modern Day Hippie. It really is great. you never know where it will lead you or the lessons you will learn along the way. Just be willing to let go of things you once believed when you see that the truth is something different.

Never have i heard truer words! 😉
Thanks @anothervoice for always having such great comments and advice. I always enjoy reading them.

Thanks for the kind words Modern Day Hippie. I do hope you may influence at least one person. I was thinking about the sharing the experience. Just don't get so caught up in sharing that you miss the experience yourself.

You should be a dreamer and you should follow your dreams. Dreams keep us alive :)

I wish more people thought like you.. the world would be a much better place ;)

I checked out your profile really quick because of your comment.... following

Heya @moderndayhippie..... maaaaan, this sounds so familiar to my own life! I feel like the last 2 years have also been extremely challenging in my life and the Universe seems to have lead me back to Steemit after many months off it. I actually saw a sign, an ACTUAL sign, which looked very much like the Steemit logo and at the same time was seeing a psychologist about my life-long introversion, which then lead me to posting a blog about it.... now I've done heaps since!

It is great that you can sell your house and quit your job to follow a dream. I'm unsure if a 'dream' is even a thing for me or if just learning to live in the present moment is enough for me. I have a family so it's maybe much harder to sell the house, though my recent discovery of Buddhism has lead me to believe I could get rid of just about everything (except my computer and digital wacom tablet) and I'd be ok. Sell the house, sell the car, sell all the bullshit I've acquired and just live as minimal as possible. Maybe one day I can convince my wife to do it... maybe!

Thanks for the great re-intro post. I discovered this by accident (or force of the Universe perhaps?) when I stumbled upon Steem Engine, so you've got yourself another organic follower :) Peace.

Hey @spaceginger, im so glad you left me this awesome message! Not to many people understand what Im talking about when I mention the universe, but I feel like we are on the same page so that is a refreshing feeling for me to meet a like minded soul.

I'm sure the universe did send you sign for steemit! Maybe steemit will be your future, or a stepping stone in the direction of the life you want. The universe sends messages all the time, people just don't see them, or don't understand them. Truth is the more you ignore the signs, the stronger they get and the harder the lessons.

For over a decade I kept trying to live the upscale life, nice cars, nice houses, expensive things, and the universe kept putting me on my ass because my life revolved around working and making money.. now that I have given on all that material stuff up I am so much happier its crazy! Now I get to focus on following my dreams and helping people, what a great life. If i would've stayed in my old life I wouldve remained miserable, thinking money is happiness.

I too found Buddhism, about a year ago now.. It has helped me to let go of a lot of struggles I had held from when I was in war. It has helped me to see light on many of my dark days. Meditation has been very good for my soul. Learning to live in the moment and not worry about past or future problems has made me a much happier person and I hope it can do the same for you.

Don't worry about being an introvert, I have found that as a free soul you kind of have to be that way. Good news is that happiness comes from within ;) Worry about making yourself happy and then worry about helping others. As soon as I started doing that my fiance started doing the same, now we are both on a journey to find true happiness and we are on that journey together! :) I'm sure you can have the same experience!

Im so glad the universe got us together ;) I look forward to having more great conversations with you and seeing you along on your journey. Good luck my friend.

Take care.
following

Thankyou for taking the time to write a lengthy reply, @moderndayhippie. I must say that until recently I've never been a big believer in Universal signs but I’m starting to feel there really could be a bit of direction given to you in your life from an unknowable source of energy. Even the challenges that I faced over the last two years seem to have been stepping stones to learn more about myself and actually learn a lot about other people and how to live in this world.

I feel like I've never lived aiming for a materialistic life like the majority go through, although I’ve been into cars because the friends I had were, and that lead me down the same path. I believe the truth has always been in me but now it seems more apparent, I just wish I discovered this before meeting my wife as I don't know if she could live a minimalistic life with me. Money seems to be like a cancer on the mind, selling our time and souls to put numbers in a bank account, which is why I have created art for 30 years but very rarely tried to ever sell it because I believe it comes from a place which can't be bought like some throw away item. I would rather do a piece of meaningful art for free then to paint something without true intention but just for money. Not saying that all my art is meaningful, often being silly cartoons, but even they are done with an intention to brighten someone’s day more than getting myself a reward.

I wish I been shown Buddhism earlier but it is what it is. It was brought into my life by an ex Special Air Service Regiment mate of mine, who himself discovered Buddhism after taking acid and reading ‘Zen Mind, Beginners Mind’. I find this very interesting that he could go from essentially a trained killer to a peaceful vegan pacifist. He suggested that I should learn to practice meditation and yoga. He told me this about 10 years ago but it’s taken until now to realised why he suggested it. Oddly enough when I contacted him a few months ago I told him I was reading ‘Zen Mind, Beginners Mind’ and he also said that he had started to read it again as well. Coincidence! This in itself was a lesson for me because I realised that even after practicing something for a very long time you can still learn by understanding you are always a beginner.

Thanks again for your quality reply as it's difficult to find people that are on the same wave length. I do feel like I want to dedicate my life to helping people more than creating wealth which is why I got a new job helping troubled youths and I also enjoy posting quality content on Steemit regardless of the rewards. The human interaction on here is much more that I've had in a long time I feel because of social media disconnections. Maybe one day it could be a method of putting food on the table but if or when that happens I’ll keep posting :)

Wow, thanks for the awesome comment!

No worries :) For sure, I'm on Discord a lot of the time now since discovering, feel free to add me, SpaceGinger!

Yeah, get those dreams!! Totally hear you on the positivity. I am stoked to hear that you are living fearlessly as well!!

Do you make vision boards? I just made one this weekend to help me work towards my dreams as well. I wrote about it here: https://steemit.com/life/@soleil-research/keep-your-success-in-mind-the-2018-vision-board-of-a-true-skeptic

Following you - I was just dreaming of moving to Costa Rica. I won't, because it's not REALLY my dream, but fun to think about regardless :)

I checked out ur article and really enjoyed reading it.. i see we have a lot in common, its nice to find other like minded people on steemit.. sorry i didnt have time to leave a comment on ur post, i did give it a full upvote tho ;) and i will try to remember to get back to comment when im not so busy.. either way, im now following u. ;) take care

Aw, yay thanks!! have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #13 (1/11/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate all the help. @thesteemengine is the best ;) Thanks again.

Amazing sunset!!! Thanks for sharing.

glad you liked it.. :)
Your name sparked my interest so I checked out your profile quick..
Im now following you, hopefully i will have some cool photos like you have one day soon!

Great pictures, definitely following, even better lease on life and positive spreading vibes. Thank you for leasing the way. I, too, plan on unleashing a lot more independent living and traveling plans on the family in the coming year. Want to be able to take baby girl with me every where!!! :) Cheers, look forward to seeing your new place down South.

Glad you like my vibes :) Thats awesome you have some big plans too! Life is all about being happy and family, but if you dont have big dreams then u wont live a big life with lots of happiness..
I look forward to hearing about u reaching ur traveling goals! following

Cool, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66