Hello everyone, I'm Mikeville

I just got involved in Steemit and have heard good things from my friends who are already here. I'm eager to have another platform for my art videos.

About me

I am enthusiastic about art but more specifically, the beauty that can be found in simplistic art, namely something as easy as watercolors. You see, children and older children like myself get frustrated when trying to get involved in art because it can all seem so daunting at the beginning. I think adults are more likely to succumb to the frustration of not being very good at something when they first start whereas kids will just run wild with it whether they are any good at it or now.

However, children of all ages want to be able to eventually produce something that someone other than their parents are going to be proud of. My channel, which I would like to eventually move away from Youtube is all about showing people that you don't have to be world-class to make something you can be proud of, you also don't have to drop a bunch of cash in supplies.

unnamed.jpg

This is why I, for now, focus on water colors.

My videos tend to be 8 to 10 minutes in length and while I know there is a lot of space to improve such as including narration (which I have not done yet) I am taking this slowly because just like learning how to paint is a slow process, so is video editing.

When doing your initial sketch it is important to use a sharp pencil or a electronic pencil and press lightly we want to make erasures as easy as possible without creating indentations in the paper that will be difficult to cover up later.

So I hope you will bear with me as I try to improve over time.

In this video I detail the importance of drawing out your eventual masterpiece with pencil, which you can later eliminate or color over in the finished product. A lot of it is up to you and that is how art is so special. Remember to NEVER TRACE an image, your slight imperfections are what makes your art special!

Once you've completed your outline we can get over the fun stuff, which is adding color.

You can feel free to completely copy what I have done (as if I could stop you) and I find that this is actually a good way to learn. In the future though, you should try to do your own outlines and see where your imagination takes you.

I hope this ends up being useful or fun to someone out there!

Consequently, since I am new here, if anyone could offer me recommendations on platforms that I could post my videos to other than Youtube or particular communities they could recommend for me to join I would appreciate it.

Sort:  

Hello @mikeville ,
Welcome to this wonderful community and wish you will enjoy Steemit !
I'm @besticofinder, a member of the Steem Greeters Team.

👉 We like to invite you for the New Comers Community which will help you to develop essential skills for this platform through a series of achivement tasks.And for this program which will support for Existing Steemian under 500 Steem Power Level. You can join the program from here.

👉 You can follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

👉And I like to invite you for the #thediarygame Season 2 , you can find information from here, and also there is a program where you can earn by commenting with #oneprecent tag .. you can find more infromation from here

Wish you a great future with Steemit !

Please feel free to ask anything and have a nice day !

Welcome @mikeville hope you will enjoy steemit. Checkout community for Newcomers here and all the other great programs in there. See you around!

thanks for the tip. There's some real good information in there.

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder, Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

cool, thanks for that :)

welcome mikeville. I watched your first video and it seems very easy to follow. I hope we can get some more traffic towards your post(s), I've resteemed this and will continue to do so. I hope it can result in some interaction for you. I'll be watching the vids because I'm terrible at art and you actually make it look easy.

Does it matter what brand or what sort of qualities the watercolors have? I haven't been to an art store in years but I would be willing to bet that there are tons of different types.

thanks for the welcome and the reblog also. I think that the kind of watercolors vary so much from place to place that it doesnt' really matter at least for someone just starting out. Honestly, they cost so little that someone could just pick up several different types and figure out on their own which they prefer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58