Hi steemit! I'm Mike Macintire, former poker pro turned photographer, and I'm on a mission to make steemit more beautiful! Drone verification video included!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I'm Mike Macintire, and I'm excited to join the steemit community! I hope my photography can be a valuable contribution to steemit's fast-growing pool of creative wealth. Unless I state otherwise, every image I share was photographed and edited by me personally.

alt-text

Love and Liberty

I lucked out bigtime by marrying the most amazing girl on earth. Lauren is smart, sexy, and the embodiment of integrity. She's my best friend.

We had a state-free and religion-free wedding. There was nothing to get in the way of our celebration and declaration of love for each other. We live in Auburn, Alabama and have three wonderful dogs.

I am a libertarian/ancap/voluntaryist, and that's how I found cryptocurrencies. To give you an idea of my particular flavor of liberty, I'm a fan of folks like Robert P. Murphy, Jeffrey Tucker, Tom Woods, and Stephan Kinsella. I identify as the Myers-Briggs personality type INFP, and I'm 32 years old.

alt-text

Poker in Mexico

I played online poker professionally for most of the time between 2006 and 2015. After the US government effectively shut down online poker in the US in 2011, my wife (girlfriend at the time) and I moved to Cozumel, Mexico to pursue my poker career. We lived there for a little more than three years, and it was a really great experience.

As much as Mexico had going for it, though, it didn't have our family and friends. We moved back to Alabama in early 2016 and I left my poker career behind. I've since realized I was grinding my life away playing mid- and low-stakes tournament poker, and I'm much happier now that I'm pursuing things I find more fulfilling.

atl-text

I discovered my passion for photography while living in Mexico. Now that I'm living in the US again where playing online poker is riskier and less profitable, and because I don't really enjoy playing poker professionally anymore, I have decided to make a new path. I started a real estate photography business in Auburn, and I've been gaining experience with other types of commercial photography. I'm having a lot of fun, and business is off to a good start!

alt-text

Thank you, steemit!

I learned about steem and steemit less than two weeks ago. I have been blown away by the effect they've had on me in that short time! I feel more inspired and motivated to create great content than ever. Whether I have success directly on steemit or not, it's already played a very positive role for me and I'm grateful. I will bring my newly learned skills and heightened confidence wherever I go.

I made this drone video for fun and to serve as verification that I am who I say I am. I recently bought a DJI Phantom 3 4K, and I'm having a blast playing with it! I'm excited to learn to make great videos.

Thank you so much for checking out my introduction! I hope you enjoy my posts, and I would love to have you as a follower! Click here to go to my profile page, then click alt-text in the upper right corner if you would like to see my work regularly. Thank you again for reading, and have a great day!

Connect with me

Facebook
Twitter

Sort:  

Hi @mikemacintire, so are you all in or are you bluffing? can't tell with that pokerface ;) hehe Welcome and what made me click in this was the "drone" reference, I did something like that a few weeks ago ;) I'm saving to buy my own drone, maybe in a few weeks, what are you flying with?

Hi @brunopro! I love your video! I actually saw it yesterday when I searched for drone videos on steemit. I wanted to say "First Drone Verification Video!" in my title, but I couldn't because you beat me to it! Very nicely done. :)

I bought the DJI Phantom 3 4k. It's got all of the benefits of the Pro version over the Standard, except for range. I only get 3/4 of a mile instead of 3.2 miles of range. For my purposes, it was worth giving up the range to save about $400.

That's an awesome way to do a verification video, though I was kind of hoping it would be the other way around... start out with a nice big shot of the city, then slowly descending until we see your huge beard and smile.

I've never been to Cozumel, but people say that area around Playa del Carmen is amazing. I live here in Guadalajara.

Welcome to Steemit, and have a good one

Thanks! That's cool that you live in Guadalajara. There are a lot of things to love about Mexico.

Just for fun I did the video in reverse! I think I like it even better this way! @churdtzu

Haha yeah, I think it's much better that way.

It was interesting to read about you. Welcome to Steemit. I'll wait on you more good, high-quality pictures :)

Thanks! I'll keep posting! :)

Welcome! I will follow you. I cant wait to see your photos.

and by the way, you should remove your email, bots will pick that up and junkmail will come. cheers!

What kind of horses go out after dusk? -Nightmares!

Thanks for the post!!

Ciao! Ciao!

Greetings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48