My Introduction to the Steem Community, My Background...

Hello People of Steem,

I'm here completely by accident. But I'm glad to be here. Blame it on the Drink!

Here's my story:

I lived in Westchester NY for much of my adult life but 8 years ago I had to move down south to take care of family issues. I just recently moved back to the area after everything was taken care of!

So a A few weeks ago, I was waiting at the Bar for a blind date at a nice Restaurant in Hartsdale. Drinking a Beer.
And I got surprised when somone slapped me on the shoulder from behind, Much to my surprise saddling up next to me at the Bar was my former Boss Rich (@richatvns). He said he saw me on the way to go play in his Poker game and came over to say Hi. I was surprised he looked alot different from 8 years before. But it was great to see him.


He ordered Diet Coke and immediately started flirting with the Bartender (a cute brunette) and we started to wrap. I mentioned that I had gone on to use the stuff he taught me to get a job working for renovation company in Atlanta after I left NY. He was impressed.

I asked him how everyone at the Company was doing (I knew he'd hook me up with a job because he was always a righteous dude).

I was surprised and sorry to hear about about the series of crappy situations that killed his businesses. I felt real bad because I know he spent alot of years building them up and helping alot of people. The one thing he was always about was saving techniques and items from be lost because poeple no longer were in the those industries and there were no legacies. He literally lost over 15,000 molds and all of his documentation he had hand written and copied in multiple manuals were lost when he lost the storage units with all the businesses equipment while in the hospital. It was a sad state. Outward he claimed it did not seem to bother him, but I could tell it really bothered him.

After all Arkahdia Arts Motto was "Creating the New and Saving the Bygone" and he took that to heart on the way he ran the business.

But he had an idea. He still knew all the techniques, and had all the pictures of everything we produced. In addition there still were documents on backup and even some videos.

His idea was to create a project that would continue his idea to save the bygone by putting the images online with as an open source library.
Creating a set of tutorials to teach the the old school techniques for making the products, and finishing. In addition show how the science and art of mold making, casting and finishing. And discuss tools and materials proper use and options. By using images of prior projects as samples.

So how many images exist you might ask? Well Arkahdia Arts had a 600 page catalog with around 10 images pages. And the online site used to be over 10,000 different products we made with over 70 standard finishes. That's not even counting custom work! Every product that was put up for sale that we cast had at least 10 pictures taken in at least one finish. Considering we took pictures of over 200 different items a month for at least 10 years.. That's over 200,000 raw images alone!.

here's a couple of items:


Easily there are over 100,000 images....

He told me, it was a shame he had no time to actually do it, because he thought that the Steem Blockchain would be a simple and easy way to actually accomplish it.

The fact was I took a lot of pictures and learned many of the techniques from my co-workers and directly from him. Means I am in the perfect situation to help out. I told him that I'd be more than happy if he could direct me.
He said we'd split the money and I was all in!

Here's a old sample video of Modesto and Armando doing a hand layup and roll casting at the same time of two large pieces


We will be writing a lot of information about techniques and why certain things work in the coming months.

So I'm here to Show and Tell.....

Please follow along ...If you have questions we will field them!

Thank you and see you soon....

Sort:  

Sounds amazing!! Good luck! I'll be following your journey! my name is Francesca! do you plan on using #dtube for your videos? it's a decentralized dapp that works with the steem blockchain. That be sweet!

Welcome to steemit @lordoffaux.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @lordoffaux! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @lordoffaux

You have written such a nice post. I am Partiko partner and I would like to invite you to use Partiko app as it makes the Steemit incredibly easy to use.

You will earn Partiko point for each and these points can be exchanged to upvote your post.

  • 3000 free Partiko Points for downloading the app (welcome points)
  • 1000 Points every day.

We need to work together in this platform to grow and help the community and I am trying to help people over here. Please reach out to me by comments or through CHAT in partiko app. you can chat with me anytime and I will be more than happy to help you.

Partiko app download

Wishing you the best.
Best Regards
@alokkumar121

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello and a big welcome to Steemit!
Wish you much fun and success.
Any questions? Ask, we will help you.
Tom
You heard about Partiko already?
A beautiful and easy to use Steemit app, feel free to follow my link to download :
https://partiko.app/referral/zanoni

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to steemit! It's really a good platform for the enthusiast writers and for the people who want to share their good work with the world! ;)

Hello and welcome to Steemit, lord 😉

You are a Steemian now! And your first blog is online. Better late than never, and I'm sure one day we will say those were the very early days of Steemit, so congrats! Whats essential here is regular posting off good quality blogs.
So start writing ! Tell us about your life, passion, animals or your work.
That Will attract possible followers.
Do be carefull with your passwords, they are yours and yours only.
Look up the free Steemify app in the Appstore or read this blog https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote Thats helpfull too.
Next to Steemify I use Appics to post.
You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!
Or visit the @heyhaveyamet account( a coop with @xcountytravelers ) where we highlight newcomers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead! Let me know if you have questions,

Love from the Netherlands
Britt

This post has received a 62.12 % upvote from @boomerang.

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69