Logan Kreisher Formal Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

I've been on Steemit for about 4 months, but I haven't posted much yet, and I haven't fully introduced myself yet, so here it goes.

My name is Logan Kreisher. I'm currently in my last week of my second semester of college at Indiana State University. I'm studying computer science, which has been a passion of mine for the last 3 years. Despite only being a freshman, I was fortunate enough to go to a public school that had 2 years of computer science classes available, which is how I discovered my passion. I am one of the youngest people in many of my classes because I'm still 18, and essentially transferred in a year ahead in my computer science classes. I am also heavily involved on campus with a Christian ministry. This is where I've made my community on campus and found most of my friends. Next year, I am also super excited to be starting my job as an RA (Resident Assistant).

Why Computer Science?

So, I fell in love with computer science by total accident. I made my schedule for my junior year of high school, and then I got called down to the guidance office because my schedule had conflicts that made it impossible to take the classes I wanted to take. Essentially, I just needed to find a 1 semester filler course that got my schedule full. I've always been interested in computers, so I decided to take a computer science course for that semester. Well, I loved it so much, along with the teacher I had (she was a really awesome teacher), so I remade my schedule to take a computer science course again for the next semester, and then I took it my senior year as well. I can't be more happy that I had that scheduling error, otherwise, I may not have found what I wanted to do. 

I also was able to get more experience in computer science when I joined my high school robotics team. My high school had a very very successful robotics team that has been around for a while, and I got more so much knowledge and skills from the mentors that ran our team. Through this team, I developed my communication skills, because my job was to talk to other teams at competitions about match strategy. I also learned many professionalism skills. I posted on a robotics forum quite often, and I quickly learned that thoughtless and unimportant posts were not highly accepted. Lastly, through the team, I was able to develop a database with one of my mentors. It was a 2 year project that payed off well when the database I developed for scouting ended up being a major reason to one of the competition wins we got. I also learned lots of cool tricks from a professional computer scientist too. I can't even imagine how different my life would have been without robotics and my computer science classes. 

My Hopes and Goals for the Summer and Next Year

As I mentioned earlier, I'm about to start finals week on Monday. I am in a good transition period where I've been reflecting a lot on this year and thinking a lot about next year. As I go into the summer, I will be working at the YMCA as a day camp counselor. I'm excited for this because despite the computer science stereotypes, I'm very outgoing and love working with youth. Earlier this semester, I started dating a wonderful woman named Ashleigh. I really had no intent of dating my first year of college, but it completely caught me off guard when we started talking at my campus ministry, and I saw the great potential in a relationship. I'm hoping to stay in great contact with her and see her as often as I can. It will be hard being 3 hours away from her for the summer, so I hope that we can grow through this. Lastly, I'm also really excited for my RA training. We have about 3 weeks of training and I'm super excited to start this training because I'm super excited to hang out with my future staff members and for my RA job for next year. 

Leading on from that, one of the biggest excitements I have for next year is my RA job. I'm really excited to be working with the students on my floor and help them work out the problems they have. I'm also really excited to finally be getting out of the food industry, which I've been in for the last 3 years. Another goal I have for next year is to become more like a mentor in my campus ministry. Many of the main mentors I have at my campus ministry are leaving college next year, which is leaving many shoes to fill. Through this, I hope to become a mentor to students there. Lastly, I also really want to grow in my relationship with God and my girlfriend. I ultimately think that a God centered relationship is the best one there is and, I think this relationship has a lot of potential.

So... What About Steemit?

I personally got involved in cyrpto right after I turned 18. through the 10ish months I've had with crypto, I've learned a lot and find it very interesting. I think crypto has a lot of potential, and it's something I'd love to be a part of. Naturally, as a computer science major, I am intrigued with how blockchain works, and even though I'm still sitting at a minor loss, I have learned so so much and have no regrets. Apart of being interested, I've tried to discover many aspects of crypto. I've participated in 2 ICOs, messed with many alt coins, been scammed a few times, and now am involved with Steemit. Even after all the things I've been exploring in crypto, I still have so so much to learn which makes it such an interesting field to me. It's a fun and interesting challenge for me.

I've been on Steemit for nearly 4 months. I haven't posted a ton, and lately because of my course load, I haven't been browsing much on here either. This leads me to my last summer goal, which is posting on here a lot more. I find the whole Steemit community fascinating, including its many flaws and whale fights. I think that steemit has a lot of potential, and definitely want it to be something that I'm involved in.

Thank you so much for reading this long post. I can't wait to grow my community with Steemit. 

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.

Welcome to Steemit logank013. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Welcome dude! This guy is the kind of geek that ends up ruling the world LOL

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You have a great smile. I worked with the YMCA and The Salvation Army in Hawaii. I worked at camps. Nice to meet you.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)


You are very welcome on this great platform, enjoy it

Loading...

Congratulations @logank013! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @logank013! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37