Once upon a time, I drew on Microsoft Paint: A short story about me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

What's up everyone! Today, I'm telling you a short story about me back when I didn't have tools to draw digitally. A little introduction since I've been here for quite some time already and haven't done one hehe


ms paint.JPG


Let's be honest, pen tablets can be pretty expensive. And as a student, I could only dream about it. On one specific day, our internet got cut off (my mom forgot to pay the bills). I had nothing to do; and so, my love for digital drawing began.

I opened MS paint out of boredom and with a mouse and the little curvey tool, I started to make eyes (I always start with the eyes hehe).

ms paint 2.png

Then I learned to draw the hair using the same tool, and eventually, the whole body. Then with the fill tool, I colored them nicely.


In my drawing folder, I label them in the order when I drew them (quite glad I did). And here, I proudly present 01, 02, and 04 (I'm not sure where 03 went hehe)

ms paint 3.png

Sure, they look a bit different but I've learned along the way that you must be proud of your works, no matter how silly it may seem. I mean, it's your work. If no one else would be proud with it, who else will but yourself, the one who made it?


My family was pretty much amazed on what I can do on paint. They often see me do it and the process how I did it. Christmas was just around the corner and I knew exactly what I want for Christmas, a pen tablet. On the 25th of December last 2015, I received a pretty big box as a present. I didn't think they'd actually buy me one since I'm a bit untidy with my stuff, but there it was!

It's no wacom, and to be honest, I don't know its brand until now but it's reaaally good. I loved it so much that until now, I kept it in its box when not in use. So much for the untidy me hehe I didn't know much about it. I tried googling every word that's on the box that may give some clue on what my pen tablet is but I got little information about it. There was even this one time when I thought I had broken the pen holder only to find out that the pen holder also holds about a dozen pen nibs!


This was my first drawing with the pen tablet:

22.jpg

I was still unfamiliar with Photoshop and didn't realize I was working on a very small canvass.


I watched a lot of tutorials on Youtube about digital drawing, a lot of speed painting too. I learned from a good friend how to color nicely. I learned from school the basic tools in Photoshop. I continued learning and even now, I'm still learning. Specially now that I'm in steemit, I get to see how professionals work.

Being acquainted with a lot of talented people here in steemit was, by far, my greatest advance. For less than a month, I've had a lot of 'first times'. I've never participated in any drawing contest before, never in my life until steemit. It was very, very thrilling! And I even won some of it! I guess my point is, no one was born an artist. It's a skill that is honed everytime you try something different.


Here are my more recent works, drawn with a pen tablet and on Photoshop :)


dragon.png
https://steemit.com/dragon/@kothy/the-winter-wyvern-peeks


yay.png
https://steemit.com/drawing/@kothy/smile-love


so.png
https://steemit.com/drawing/@kothy/the-spy-from-another-dimension


hehe.png

Well, I haven't posted this one yet haha But it's one of my greatest work and I thought I'd show you guys a little teaser :>

Funny thing about this one is that I made the same mistake I did on my first drawing on Photoshop. The canvass was a little too tiny and by the time I noticed it, it was already too late.


That's about it! My drawing journey


I wish to have more amazing experiences; and for that to happen, I won't stop drawing :)


If you wish to have an amazing companion through your drawing journey, feel free to join us @steemartists! It's full of amazing artists who are willing to share their experiences. I learned a lot from them, I hope you will too n_n
steemartist smol.png
We also have a discord channel and we'd be more than glad if you dropped by: https://discord.gg/C9PsHV6


Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.


All images were drawn and edited by @kothy


Sort:  

I have to politely disagree. Everyone is born an artist but as we progress from childhood into adolescence we tend to forget it because of social pressure. School plays a big role in this too because traditional teaching sucks creativity out of a person.

Luckily, as adults we can reclaim this idea again. I'm happy for you that you did.

Thank you! I totally agree with you as I've noticed from my nephews that they are very much creative! We tend to be told to excel at maths and other stuff at school that we forget to bring out the little artist within us. But I guess what I was trying to say on this one is that we all started at some point. That at some point we were all beginners and eventually, through hard work, we get better. I should've worded it out a bit differently hehe

I'm glad you read through all this :3 I spent hours to write the entire thing hehe

nice post thanks

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it :D

welcome! i look forward to reading your articles!

Thank you! Glad to be here n_n

Wow you struggled a lot to reach your dream. Good luck with your dream. And you have a great artistic talent too

Thank you! I haven't quite reached it yet but I'm working on it! n_n

It's a beautiful introduction kothy. Detailed, personal, and no fluff. I hope you grow as an artist and keep that passion burning :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I'll definitely keep it burning till I get to my dream! Let's grow together as a community! Yay @steemartists!

This post has received a 0.18 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kothy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60