Introducing me: Engineering machines, cells, and food!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! I'm Jane.

I am a bioengineering student. I really enjoy making stuff whether it's by 3D printer, laser cutter, mill, Illustrator, — or oven. Exploring new flavors and experimenting with plant-based ingredient replacements in recipes has become a huge hobby and creative outlet for me (not to mention, I've come a really long way in the last year), so I hope to share recipes and food pics.

Switching to a plant-based diet along with classes in synthetic biology and tissue engineering have made me fascinated by next-generation food (like using yeast to produce expensive ingredients more affordably or using stem cells to produce a burger). In fact, I want to pursue a career in cellular agriculture (lab-grown meat). I'll share summaries of publications about advances in food technology or animal-independent food products.

A few things to whet your appetites (get it? I think I mentioned food a bit):


A Stirling engine I hand-machined for a class
The left end is heated to displace air in the piston, which spins the globe on the right.


My cute animation of bacterial transformation
E. coli is getting a gene for green fluorescent protein inserted, making it glow green.


Pumpkin biscotti (vegan)


Banana bread cinnamon rolls (vegan)

Catch you soon!

@jshmu

Sort:  

Hi Jane, welcome to the community. Did you made that sweets?

Thank you! I did!

Amazing

Love reading plant based recipes, and I'm fascinated by cellular agriculture. Welcome to Steemit, looking forward to reading your posts.

Glad to see someone interested in those things too :)

Welcome to Steemit Jane :D

Thank you :D

welcome to Steemit Jshmu :) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to steemit!

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Welcome @jshmu aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Thank you for the good advice :)

Welcome to Steem @jshmu I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @jshmu, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31