Meet me - 24 years old student from Croatia

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm Josip Meštrović, 24 years old student of Agriculture from Croatia.
One selfie for beginning:

20424723_2022369307991313_143083757_o.jpg

I'm a big fan of biology, chemistry, microbiology, and ecology. Also, I'm into genetics, evolution, plant breeding and nutrition. I'm currently in Zagreb on my graduate study on the course Agroecology and microbial biotechnology. I'm focusing my research on mitigation of climate changes with the application of biochar in soil. My mentor and I just finished 2 years long experiment with biochar.

Wonder what is biochar ?
Biochar is carbonated material produced by pyrolysis of biomass. Biochar is interesting to more and more scientist around the world because he can sequestrate greenhouse gasses thereby reducing its concentration in the atmosphere (which leads to mitigation of climate changes). Biochar in addition can increase soil fertility. I will surely write a post about it in near future.

This is me on Chancellor's Award for seminar on biochar topic

20424629_2022352731326304_938040722_o.jpg

There are few pictures of our laboratory

First one shows machine for soil mulching.

20426991_2022352927992951_179921608_o.jpg

Then there are some soil samples that go through the mulching machine.

20424820_2022352914659619_1460485646_o (1).jpg

And in absence of fancy things in lab, I present you this picture

20424960_2022352911326286_942272687_o.jpg

I will write about nutrition, food safety (effects of pesticides and other residues on human health etc.) and bioethics in food production. I will also write about the sustainability of food production and natural resource management.

And great thanks to @antminer and @ninaprdolina for showing me wonders of steemit.

Sort:  

Nice to see you on steemit. Welcome.

Nice to see you too, thanks .:)

Welcome to steemit! I`m looking forward to your great content about food safety very important topic nowadays :-)

I agree with you, food safety is a very important topic. I believe that many foods we eat nowadays are safe and good for us.

Many people (i'm telling this from my own experience) are afraid of chemicals in our food so they buy organic to avoid chemicals. Which isn't a smart move because organic agriculture uses chemicals too like pesticides, fungicides, herbicides etc. Following that logic, you are not safe neither way. But the good news is that these chemicals are made to break down. Most of these chemicals will break down in 20 - 30 days. Let's use pesticides, for example. Their main task is to kill the population of pests. If we use pesticide in May and then harvest the crop in September then you got no pesticides in your food, only residues which are not even close to original toxicity. It's forbidden by law to use these chemicals in a later phase of plant vegetation before the harvest. At most of the time, there is not even need for that because grown plants can resist pests and diseases easier than young one. And it's good to remember that dose is what makes something poisonous. Some of the chemicals are impossible to intake through the food in doses enough to cause disease in us.

I will try in my future post to resolve this food quackery and to educate people that all the food they eat is healthy and good food.

I'm against organic agriculture because it needs much more land to produce the same amount of food because in organic farming there is a lack of available technology. So if we all went to organic there will immediately be hunger in the world.

Welcome and thanks for the awesome pictures. I'm a hobbyist botanist slash herbalist and I would like to hear more about biochar.

It's my pleasure to share these pictures with the community.

I will soon write a post about biochar and I will also quote all the literature. Also, I can send you some good e-books on biochar topic if you are really interested.

To get an impression what biochar do to the soil, feel free to write Terra Preta in google. :)

Dobrodošao brt :D Welcome brth

Thanks bro! :D

Welcome to Steem @jokster I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome Josip ! You are gonna love tha Steemit !! I never knew you could breed plants, this will be an interesting exploration for certain. Enjoy and
STEEMLMAN.GIFOn

Of course, you can breed plants. That is a process which is done thousands of years and it's lead to cultivars with high yields nowadays. But with genes, there is one rule: "when you got something you must lose something"

Today's modern plants have high yields, but very low resistance to biotic and abiotic stress. That's why we need intensive production with modern agrotechnology.

How fascinating ! Perhaps this will allow us to populate Mars successfully...let's hope.

welcome to steemit :)

Thanks! :)

Hey @jokster! Glad to have a fellow Agriculture major out here! Biochar is great! It definitely has many benefits and I look forward to your write-up about it!

I will soon write a post about biochar and I will also quote all the literature. Also, I can send you some good e-books on biochar topic if you are really interested.

To get an impression what biochar do to the soil, feel free to write Terra Preta in google. :)

That sounds great! I began utilizing biochar a few years ago during an internship and It's an amazing concept/practice! I'll give that a look- thanks!

Wellcome to the community, friend!

I am a bot created to help all minnows (new users with low SP).
I can resteem & upvote your posts on request.
This way your posts can get more exposure.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post.

PS: While your reputation is lower than 28 re-blogging only costs 0.001 SBD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47