I was going to write a standard introduceyourself but instead I thought of this!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi Everybody!

My name is John and I'm a thirty something, software engineering husband and dad of a beautiful one year old daughter.

I thought instead of me listing random facts about myself I'd tell you what my next adventure is:

Early next year I shall be cycling Lands End to John O'Groats in the UK, its around a 1000 miles give or take and will certainly put me outside of my comfort zone! :D

I think everyone needs to do something that slightly scares them once in a while and I thought in order to get some comments flowing, you fine steemians could tell me what is going to / has put you out of your comfort zone recently?

I hope to be following you all soon!

Big love,

John

Sort:  

Welcome! Gave you a follow!giphy.gif

Welcome to the Steemit community @johnriv!

Good to see you enjoy getting out away from the computer screen. Much respect to you for your intended bike ride from Lands End to John O'Groats. At some point on that trip, your legs are going to be killing you.

A couple of Steemit tips, ignore the automated bots, they do nothing for you and just earn from your votes.

We love original content! Many other newcomers try to cheat with copy and paste from other websites.

Be patient with building an audience. Steemit is not get rich quick scheme. It is about the people the relationships you build here.

For many new people, the voting and points system seems complicated at first. Here is an excellent post and entertaining video about how it all works.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sethlinson/announcing-steemit-explained-a-new-animated-series

Welcome aboard and full Steem ahead! =)

Thanks for the heads up. :)
I feel I have a small learning curve to negotiate!

You do, but you are a software engineer, so I believe you are up to the task ahead of you. ;-)

Welcome to Steem @johnriv I have upvoted and sent you a tip

have fun cycling and have fun in steemit! welcome! followed you, hope you follow back :D

Thank you, it will be a challenge. Following you back

Welcome to steemit :)
I gave you an upvote and a follow, looking forward to see what you will post.
Feel free to follow back so we can get a larger network.

Thank you :)
Following you too.

Hi!!Nice to meet you and glad to see more people like you in this comunity Steemit! Becoming a steaminion is a great adventure, a good idea and a good hobby! Here you can win money while bloging and writing stories from your life! The start it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write cool stories and everything will be verry good. Wish all the best! Seya!
With love, @dianamihaela!

Nice to meet you too :D
Thanks for the advice!

Hello @johnriv and welcome to steemit!

Have UPVOTED You :)

This is a great place and with a great community @theinspirator :)

Here is a gift for you to watch! There are 4 main factors that you need to-do to be very successful on steemit! Watch the quick video: https://steemit.com/steemit/@theinspirator/4-tips-for-massive-long-term-success-on-steemit

Thanks and nice to meet you. I'll give the video a watch!

Thanks and nice to meet you too :) Video well worth watching!

Welcome to Steemit friend @johnriv, if you have any questions, ask here: https://steemit.chat/channel/general

Greetings,
@ddot

Hello and welcome to Steemit Community!
This is a great place that you can share your posts in this great community.
Nice post, I gave you a upvote and a follow, looking forward to see new posts from you.
Feel free to follow me back at @chantha so we can get a larger network.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51