MY INTRODUCTORY POST

Hello! Steemians, my name is John and I am 24 years old and I am from Omu-Aran, Kwara state Nigeria. I was introduced to the steemit platform by a friend during my National youth service corps (N.Y.S.C) program in June 2019. Although I signed up on the platform on the 16th of June 2019, I didn't find myself interacting on the platform until now.

IMG_20200525_115108.jpg

I am born into a family of six, my dad and mum with three siblings. Growing up in a slum was hard but imprinted exciting memories.

When I was fourteen years old, my father slumped and died of cardiovascular disease. As long as I shall live, I do not believe that I will ever forget the first moment I saw my father's once vibrant face in that cold and unforgiving casket. Since that moment, I have felt as if all my grief and longing resides underneath my skin with nothing to relieve the pressure. Unbeknownst to me at that time, I had lost so much more. The financial burden of his death was now the responsibility of my mum, my elder sister, and myself.

IMG_20200525_115155.jpg
Myself and my mum.

Having completed my university degree as a biochemist in 2018, I was posted to serve my country (N.Y.S.C) in a very remote village in the northern part of the country. During my course of stay there, a lot of parents prefer their ward go into begging alms or menial jobs than education. It was a major task for us to convince them to come to terms that education is meant for all. Although we were able to solve some of this by organizing sports competitions which undoubtedly interests many of those children at that time. My experience has a young struggling child whose mother went the extra length to make sure I was educated, made me believe every child deserves a quality education. And I'll stop at nothing in making sure every child around me is educated.

IMG_20191003_152950.jpg
During my service year in kogi state Nigeria

IMG_20190712_114347.jpg
One of the awareness program during my NYSC

I'm an agriprenuer, and I'm currently working on a small poultry farm capacity. I love photography and I don't mind sky diving in the nearest future. I am all about happiness. I've seen a lot of people that are happy for nothing and I am one of them. Why I am happy? Because I don't have a reason not to be happy. I'm excited to be using this platform, I love the structure, and from what I've seen so far the friendly community.

I seek for your support and encouragement.
Thanks.
I'm here to steem
Upvote
Comment
And Resteem
Reach me on twitter
www.twitter.com/dayoaademola

Sort:  

image.png

Do you want more influence and voting power but don't have the budget to purchase a lot of Steem Power? Simply visit https://dlease.io/market and place an order to lease Steem Power at a fraction of the cost of owning it!

Already have a lot of idle Steem Power and want to earn good returns ? Visit https://dlease.io/market and delegate to open lease orders of your choice to earn double-digit APR returns!

Hi @johnademola, Welcome to the steemit world!

Hello John, and welcome to Steem!

I am so sorry to hear about the death of your father. I can imagine that that was a very traumatic, and life-changing experience for you. I am glad that you and your mother were able to get through it! I am very inspired by your work in trying to help children get education, and I think you are going to do really well here on Steem! I look forward to seeing some of your posts about photography and Sky Diving :)

Thank you for joining Steem! I hope that you get much success and happiness through your experiences here! If you wish to learn more about Steem, check out this article, and the Steeming Curators community!

Best regards!
@cmp2020
Steem Greeter

Hello @, I'm @mariita52 from Steemgteeters.
Glad to see your post , sit at home
It was touching to read your story, I am very glad that you have come out ahead.

Now there are some groups that support creators and artists.

You can use the hashtag # art-venture and #art You can also post from the communities https://steemit.com/trending/hive-103219 of @roadofrich

and https://steemit.com/trending/hive-185836 from @xpilar

We hope you enjoy your trip to Steemit, here are some tips!
Follow @steemitblog for fun news, information and challenges to get involved. A good way to get to know you!
To position and give visibility to your publication, the first 5 labels are taken into account.

If you participate in the @steemitblog challenges, use the hashtags # the100daysofsteem and #steemexclusive

Always feel at home and have fun!

Thanks for the tip..

Hello brother. Great introductory post.
Welcome to steemit. Have fun...

Hi @johnademola welcome to Steem Community. Checkout @steemingcurators for tips and guide on Steemit.
Follow @ steemitblog run by The Steemit Team for news, information and fun challenges to participate. They also offering an opportunity for you to contribute in the community moving forward. Have a nice day!
Yours,
@cryptokannon, Community Steem Greeters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26