An Introduction to Me: jessandthesea // SKIN IS MY CANVAS OF CHOICE

I started a project where I write my poetry on people's bodies. It's called Sex on Sundaze. I write a new, original poem inspired by the model(s) it is written on for a unique episode every Sunday. My plan is to someday (hopefully sooner than later) write on Ellen on her show. And Rihanna. And maybe Bernie Sanders would be cool too :)

I'm new to Steemit, and I thought this might be a good forum to share what I am doing. This is Episode 81: Natural Melancholy, published a few weeks ago for the first time. I wrote this one on myself because I recently moved to Mexico City and have been feeling really sad and antisocial. Too antisocial to have been putting myself out there to meet people and get close enough with them to write for/on them. The poem reflects that, and the photo too. It was kind of hard to write on my own face, but less hard than before; I have had lots of practice. Anyway, this is the raw me.

I'm Jessica Lakritz. I'm 32. I'm an ENFP and an existentialist. I am a poet. My dog's name is Luna, and she is my world. I'm from the US, but I have been living abroad for a long time in various places (I am a nomad). Telepathy is 80% noticing. I'm not usually so consumed by negative feelings, but I guess it is just washing over me for now. I expect it to go away soon. It already kind of has a little bit. I do feel better than I did when I wrote and painted this on myself.

If you like my work, I would love to hear from you! All the positive things add up, you know?

xoxo

(Below the photo is what appears on the website with the photo, the poem written out, and a "bio.")

81 natural melancholy web.jpg

//EPISODE 81//

Natural Melancholy

I wept to a bird
who drank bleach
from the hands
of a psychopath.

MODEL: I wrote on myself again this week because I meant to find someone else to write on, and it just didn’t happen. I have been pretty sad lately, from natural life things. Moving to a new city is of course exciting and amazing and full of cool wondrousness. It is also lonely, frustrating, exhausting, and hard. Most times you don’t hear much about the latter, more difficult parts of what it’s like to move to another country. Social media is all about sharing the exoticness of it, the perfect adventure. All of this hardship I’ve been dealing with will pass, as everything always changes whether or not you want it to. In the meantime, I do think it’s important to acknowledge it as a part of my life right now. Talking about my sadness is a helpful step in overcoming it. Not talking about it and ignoring it generally just makes it worse. So here I am, and here is the poem I wrote for myself, to share a piece of what is going on inside me lately, a bare vulnerability which I hope contributes to shining some light on the darkness. No need to worry. All emotions are fuel for growth, which I fully intend to use in recovering my zen.

Sort:  

I do like your STEEMIT post @jessandthesea … nice one … look forward to future posts as are been waited; so hope for you the best in this much interesting & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life, politics to science, food and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/lgbtq-s-continues-to-be-discriminated-against-in-most-of-the-world

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/facebook-is-moderating-my-writings-are-my-rights-for-freedom-of-speech-taken-away-does-this-depends-on-whether-i-say-i-love-you

https://steemit.com/security/@indepthstory/how-is-it-that-hackers-steal-information-from-companies-read-this-easy-to-understand-information-sure-it-will-help

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my UPVOTE tick for the post, and hope you will FOLLOW to be up to date on posts ..!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Poetry on bare skin. It's a breathtaking concept. As a newbie myself, I intend to post about my journey as I begin developing documentaries on the empowerment of women around the world with the belief that men and women can stand strong together, but I'll also be posting fiction and topics of personal interest, like my family's connection to an infamous serial killer and a royal family. Lots of love, @aescholer

wowowo, beauty. I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Welcome to Steem @jessandthesea I have sent you a tip

<3 thank you!! Hope you liked the poem <3

A big warm Steemit re-welcome goes out to you Jess&Thesea.

Upvoted and High Pawed! :-D
IMG_1439.JPG

Flatrider

You're welcome! :-D

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

thank you so much for the tips @tinashe <3

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

that sounds a bit eerie haha, what kind of surprise?

You will see :)

Welcome to steemit! Enjoy the trip!

Your right. I think acknowledging your hardships, as well as the fact that your getting through them is very important to properly move forward.

I'm getting there! Thank you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15