Introducing myself with a short story

Hi, My name is Jared, New to the world of Steemit but excited about the potential. I'm hoping to use this blog and website to put my budding art and writing out there into the world for critique and constructive advice. I'm 22 years old, living in Western Australia and have always had a passion for writing and creating art but never the drive or the motivation to execute my ideas until maybe a year or so ago. (Here's one of my more photogenic photos) Steemit.jpg

On this blog you will find and follow my journey as my skills (hopefully haha) progress. Expect a wide range of things to be posted but the primary focus will be my writing and any paintings I do.
To give you a rough idea I've attached a recently finished short story

Time

“You can’t run from time”

The old man said, his words full heavy and full of sorrow
“Times passing is inevitable, no matter how much you sleep the days away, distract your stressed mind or try to ignore it time will move on”

“You will grow older, your teeth will fall out, your hair will go grey, maybe even fall out. You will die”

A log in the fire cracked as the wood rearranged itself,
The old man readjusted himself and extended his stiffened hands towards the heat.

“Yes, yes one day you will die, and hiding from that fact, hiding from the inevitable entropy of life will only make it seem to come all the more sooner”

“One could say I have many regrets, but this isn’t true, I have but one. My only regret is that I tried to hide from the constant change happening in my life”

He lets out a sigh and his eyes take on a glazed over look

“When you live in the memories of the past and shield your vision of the future you don’t move anywhere. You become a toy thing for the changing forces of the world and you go where it wills rather than forging your own path”
“You can’t hide from time”

His voice seems firmer and he starts to talk louder over the cracking of the fire place .

“When you try to hide, life takes on a grey filter, holding onto the little happiness the past had to offer you miss out on the possible happiness of the present”

“I was already old by some standards when I realised this, but the day I realised I was putting up with a life of fear is the day I started trying to truly live.”

Thanks for reading, any advice and critique welcome

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @jarude-sandstorm!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome in steemit my freind ❤️


Welcome to Steem @jarude-sandstorm.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks dude, glad you liked it

Wellcome To Steemit

Have a good time!
share your best and earning by blogging


Thank You

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

Hi @jarude-sandstorm welcome to steemit, i hope you enjoy here have fun :). Don't get tired writing an article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71