Loosing My Steemit Virginity

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

I have been meaning to get around to writing my first steemit post now for quite a while, so here I go…

Although it says New Zealand in my bio section I am originally from England but I have spent allot of time in Kiwi land over the past few years.

New Zealander’s seem to have travel in their blood and living in England seems to be a right of passage for most kiwi’s. As opposed to many English people I know who aren’t interested in travel one bit… Including my grandmother who died at the age of 82 and never set foot outside England. Can’t fully understand why… but there you have it…

I also have spent allot of time in Bali (Ubud) which amounts to something like a year in total. The local people are so friendly and helpful which makes every trip there special. I highly recommended it if you haven’t been.

CSC_1056.jpg
A Balinese stand up comedian - scary or funny or maybe both.

At the time of writing this I am living in the East of London and I have only been back in the country for just over a week.

The first thing that hits you when you come back to England (apart from the cold continuous rainy drizzle) is the amount of people. It never ceases to amaze my that it is possible to be on a really big beautiful beach in New Zealand with no one else on it. Try finding that in Europe!

DSC_0792.jpg
Piha beach - 40 km's West of Auckland

The last time I checked, considering New Zealand is 25,000 square kilometres bigger than the U.K it has only 4.7 Million people were as the U.K has over 66 Million..
Amazing difference…

I originally come from a town in the North West of England called Wigan, although I left there in ’96. The people coming from my home town are known as “Pie Eaters”
(The meat kind by the way… just in case you are from the states)

Apparently it has nothing to do with the large amount of pies that are eaten there, it was regarding a miners strike of the 1920’s. They broke the strike and were forced to go back to work and had to eat a metaphorical humble pie.
The nickname for “food” in my home town is “Jackbit” and hence my user name.

My greatest memories are of trekking (or tramping if you’re from NZ) around Nepal back in 2012. Not just because of the sights but the people I met along the way.

s1.jpg
Near the top of Kala Patthar

My fundamental belief is that happiness is created by having a purpose that excites you and in over coming the challenges along the way…and moving towards your goal…creates the happiness.

The ironic twist being it’s the problems (challenges or whatever word you choose) in life that creates the potential for happiness.

To quote the irrepressible Tony Robbins, “Progress equals happiness”

So, fellow steemian, I wish you success in setting and achieving whatever goal excites you. Maybe quotes are over used but I can’t help thinking this is a great one by Amelia Earhart...
“The most effective way to do it, is to do it” …. Or was that Nike?

Sort:  

Hi welcome to Steemit community good luck dude

Welcome to the platform. Nice to meet you as well. We happy to have you here!

I am very happy with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Here are link you might find useful:

http://www.steemapps.info/

This blog is a list of the best web apps interconnected to Steem Blockchain. Moreover, any useful feedback on our blog would get back a shared reward. (COMING SOON)


Kind Regards,
@lytieulong

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thank You, I appreciate it


Welcome to Steem @jackbit.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Happiness comes from just doing it like Nike said, to go on adventures, to share experience, wisdom, life, love, destiny, and I love your photos here and I was in Hawaii, Canada, Vietnam, but have not been to Bali yet like you or Knife Absent London haha. Losing my Steemit Virginity, great title. Very creative. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thanks Joey

Hilarious! I will Upvote and Follow! Thanks for sharing

Welcome to steemit 😊

When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜


Welcome to Steemit @jackbit!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @jackbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @jackbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85