Learn what you don't like.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit! I’m Hong. This is my first post on Steemit, I'm so exciting. I am 19 years old. I am Thai.I’m currently a English student at the university in Bangkok. I chose to study in English major but actually I’m more interested in music, art and design.
I started to like music when I was 5 years old because my father is a music teacher and when I grow up I know my father was a musician, so I want to be a musician like my father. I started from singing in small church. And I became interested in musical instruments. So I began practicing guitar. I choose to play guitar because when I saw my father play guitar I feel he is very cool. I spent 2 years learning to play guitar. After that, I learned to play drums, piano and other musical instruments. I invited my friends to set up a band when I was 15, as I was a singer and play guitar. We have been playing music in various events. And we enjoyed it a lot. It was a very happy moment.
But when I graduated from high school, my mother doesn’t want me to study music or art, design. I was angry with her and I didn’t talk with her for several days. But I know my mother wish well to me, so I chose English major because I want to improve myself in the language and I don’t want to study math anymore ha ha.
After that, music and singing became my hobby. When I have free time, I usually record videos while I sing and play guitar. And I upload it in my Instagram. And sometimes I sing when I'm sad. Although it makes me sadder, But I like to do it ha ha ha.
Another thing I'm interested in is art. I love drawing and art since before I was interested in music. I can draw all day, it made me relax and forget about the strain. I was chosen as the person who painted the school shirt logo. I think drawing is what I do best in my life and that's what I'm most proud of, because I practiced it by myself. I never learned to draw. But when I was at university I didn’t draw so much because I didn’t have enough time to do it. When I look at my old drawings It made me think of those moments. And my friend also likes to hire me to draw a picture. It's a job I love ha ha. And this is some of my drawings
40317170_649952862071476_1862525186524315648_n.jpg
40232979_262029654418323_3132738623032524800_n.jpg
40211696_1686826044779423_4740460197502255104_n.jpg
40171993_241560586700148_7662161019715715072_n.jpg
Finally!! Some people may sad because they don’t study what they love or good. But I think it is good to do what you love goes along with self-improvement. There will be times that I miss doing what I love the whole day. But seeing yourself develop is a good thing, right? Finally, I hope you will be happy with your life. And thank you for reading my post. Love you all ♥

Sort:  

Hey hongkhd

Heyy qmarpot!!

Congratulations @honghkd! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Welcome to Steem @honghkd.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hey @honghkd - Amazing artwork. I'm also new to Streem, as a new person, its nice to see other new people coming to the platform. It assures me that its not a place thats dead, but one that still captures peoples interest.

Welcome!

Hello Hong! I enjoyed reading your self introduction and impressed by your drawings. Indeed, you are good at it.

It is good that you understand your mother only wishes you well with the course that she wanted you to take. I have known people with different cases in terms of the courses they took. There were those who have taken what they think is what they wanted to do but ended up to be someone else. I also know people who claimed that they were forced to take a course they do not like but ended up enjoying it as their career. Lastly, there are also those who said they were forced to take a different course but were able to find a way and mix their course with what they love to do. I think you can do the last example and mix English with what you love to do.

English is an interntional language which will make you more marketable in the global workforce so that is to your own advantage. While you love arts like singing and drawing, you can utilize your English knowledge to compose songs or get an inspiration from for your drawings. English language and arts are not extreme strand of knowledge. Both are under Humanities so I am almost certain that you can find a common ground to practice them both.

Welcome to Steemit and good luck on your studies! 😊

Edit: Since I like your post, I featured it on my article Pay it forward: Learning what you do not like and making the most of what can still be as an entry to the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. This contest is open to everyone so you are also welcome to join.

Thank you for reading my post and good comment for me. I'm very exiting to be part of your article.
But I don't understand about Pay it Forward Curation Contest but I need to try!!

You're welcome. 😊

Do you already have some exact ideas what you are going to post about? Some art of yours? Or even some series of posts perhaps?
I've also just recently joined Steemit myself and I find the community to be really chill for the most part, however I guess you won't really be into the stuff I post about :) it's about gaming

I just want to say about what I love to do and why I choose to study the English. I may not be good at composing, but thank you for your comment and I like to play game very much haha.

Welcome to Steem, @honghkd!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3186 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to STEEM community

Thank you :)

Hola @honghkd, es muy bueno poder hacer lo que te gusta, llegue a tu publicación por la entrada de @macoolette en el concurso semana 22 - Pay It Forward organizado por @pifc .

What a great way to start. Thanks for your introduction... and welcome to SteemIt, a great place where you'll find a lot more aspiring artists!

PS: I've found you after @macoolette suggested this post as part of her entry in the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you for your interest in my post. I will do it better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63