A look at one of my first forged knife

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

This knife I decided to make is a Tanto knife, I tried to keep a pretty standard shape, went with the appropriate Japanese tanto tip. I also wanted to practice making a convex bevel so I went with that.
The bar I am holding is what I started from, 6" by 1.5" by 1/8 1095 High carbon steel.
I had to hit the bar to thicken it and get it down to about .8" wide. This was annoying as I didn't have the proper tongs

Message_1465871058774.jpg

After the initial forging, I let the steel cool down in the forge to normalize it, then proceed to grind off the scales and start to roughly shape the bevel

20160523_154226.jpg

This is after the heat treatment, more grinding (In which I messed up the tang) and I am getting ready to drill the hole for the handle, and some sanding, lots of sanding.

20160524_155637.jpg

As you can see, I'm need some practice at making handles, but oh well, doesn't look great but it feels good in the hands, the knife is surprisingly well balanced. But ya, we got the pins in the holes, epoxy for extra strength, and at this point I just need to sharpen it and buff it to make it shine!

20160614_215157.jpg

And here is a close-up after some polishing to show the final result.

20160719_012134.jpg

Hope you guys enjoyed!
This was one of my early project I did last year, I have a few upcoming project that are going to be pretty exiting, one of them is going to be a full wushu spear with a custom and bad ass spearhead!
Please follow and vote if you like my post!

Sort:  

Welcome @Hawking its good to see more new users around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Congratulations @hawking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steem @hawking I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thanks! will check it out!

Welcome to steemit. I am posting stuff about knives and sword myself and I am really glad to see im not the only knife geek in here. Good luck with your blog. I for one is following and look forward to see more. btw where do you get your steel. I have found it difficult in Denmark where I live to find high carbon steel in bulk.

Hey, I have been getting steel from https://www.knifemaker.ca/ which probably doesn't help if you are in Denmark. have you checked if you can get some shipped from the US?

Congratulations @hawking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the Steemit community, @Hawking !! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

Hello, thank you for taking the time to create this post. It appears to be in the wrong category. You have tagged this post into one of the introduction categories, but it does not appear to be an introduction. For any error in this assessment I apologize, you have not been flagged.

If you need help finding new tags, please review the sortable list at https://steemit.com/tags , there you will find many options that are very active with their own community. If you would like to post into introduction tags, feel free to do so on the premise of telling everyone more about yourself, even a whale can tell us more.

Thank you for reading this message. STEEM ON!

awesome! i love watching forged in fire too. following you @hawking.

Ohh wow, look pretty cool! Great job! Haha, always watching this tv show "forged in fire", seems that's really enertaining thing to do! Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58927.54
ETH 2514.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48