Why are my posts dead in the water?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Maria 5.jpg
Well, things started off well. I joined a month ago and now I've got over 100 followers. My first two posts did quite well but after that, no views and only a couple of upvotes on any subsequent posts.

People have said, 'post good content'. What is considered 'good' content is a very subjective view, isn't it? I don't think I have posted anything that is rubbish but I could really do with some feedback please because I just don't know what I'm doing wrong
Big hugs
Maria xxx

Sort:  

Wellcome to the community!

Welcome to family :)

Keep it going, don't worry about the low numbers. As you gain more followers you're numbers will grow. Be consistant. Post 2-3 times a day and comment on other posts often. Followed and Upvoted!!
You are now being followed!

Blimey! Two or three times a day? I'm going to have to work harder lol x Thank you for your reply and encouragement xxx
Where do you get your GIFs from? x

That amazing place...... Google lol

Just keep doing your thing!Imagine doing 100 POSTS before looking back...as your"Power Grows" so will your post$.. just dont check yer-self too soon!! You got THIS. Your thumbnail is what sells your clickability.... like youtube, its alllll thumbnail ;)
x

Thanks for this and for the encouragement. Yes, I've got the thumbnail bit lol x

Hi Maria, I really know how you feel and I have settled my mind with these feelings by setting a daily bottom line. I wrote a post that you may find useful about managing your expectations. The system is not fair at the moment, but it is still such a new concept and these teething problems will be ironed out in the future, I'm sure.
https://steemit.com/money/@flatrider/what-s-your-daily-bottom-line
I hope you find this useful and just keep ploughing away. Don't be dissuaded to keep posting. Upvoted and Following! ;-D

Flatrider

Oh thank you! Thats a really useful post. Thank you for your encouragement xxx

You're welcome! Keep Steeming Maria! ;-D

Welcome to Steemit @guided!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Just be true to what you know and care about and post as regular as you can :-)

Here Here! :)
or is that Hear Hear! ????

It's hear hear, because you agree with someone so much you want to draw attention to what they are saying :-)

Thanks for clarification bud :)

Just keep in mind that you are among the "pioneers" of the platform and that your $.95 post will be worth $9.50 in a years time. And in 2 years, when the hype kicks in it will be worth much more.

Hi Maria, I'm a bit late to the party here but reading the other comments pretty much sums up my thoughts too.
I've been on here about 2 months now and I had lots of content to share. All my old flying/experimental youtube videos plus more recent bushcrafty stuff. I've had a few 'hits' but plenty of 'misses' too but I'm now running out of steem and having to think harder now for new stuff to post. It's very frustrating to see a post that you've just worked on for 2-3 hours make only a few cents but perhaps in the future and with more followers in tow, I might start regurgitating (not copy/pasting lol) the old posts to a fresher/bigger audience.
I've also found that 6.00pm GMT/UTC seems the best time to post in terms of upvotes.
I try and spent 10-15mins each day on the 'New' page and upvote/follow one or two steem-meisters to slowly build things up,..... hopefully one or two of those will follow back.

I've thought about adding saucy pics of me for the thumbnails (clickbait) but I doubt a mid-forties, over-weight male with greying hair will pull in the big cash lol ;) x

I've found that people really like to upvote things of culture. Art, photos, stories are all very popular... Also look at your tags and make sure your post has been tagged the right way. I've done pretty well working with steemit support communities like MinnowSupport and Whaleshares. Here's a post I did about them:

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@ldauch/need-more-steemit-attention-minnowsupport-and-whaleshares-are-here-for-you

Best of luck! Don't give up.

Hey, this is wonderful. Thank you for your advice x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69