The Very First One Is Always The Most Special

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

A Random Thought Albeit The First

As the title suggests, like everything in life, there's always something special, something that's somehow constructed in a manner that neatly fits into your softest part of your tender heart and stays in there for an eternity. That special someone, that first gadget you bought with your first paycheck, that life-changing moment you see your firstborn. You cannot forget it, for better or worse so most of the time, I would say to most people: make it count. That first Steemit post.

I have to say I cannot remember my first Facebook post. I cannot remember the first tweet I made (or was it just a retweet?). I cannot remember the first thing I did this morning even. I can, however hope that, I will remember my first Steemit post (especially I got Arrow Season 4 playing on Netflix on the second screen while I type this after some cross-training reps) because I'm writing something that has gone beyond a primary school composition word count.

Most of the time, I, very much, prefer the anonymity of the Internet. It's not so much to say I hide in the shadows and represent myself with a hacker-worthy screen-name. It's more a game of numbers where I'm betting on the chance that I get lost in the crowd. I would rarely meet anyone I know virtually and am free to speak freely, but responsibly.

So what gets me going (and I'm saying outside of family, health, money, blah blah blah)?

Technology

Nothing fascinates me more than technology. It goes beyond the tedium of the simple gadgets that's on everyone's hands or the high powered piece of hardware that shades the polygons the right way so that it looks pseudo-real on that expensive screen. Don't be mistaken. I like a spanking new piece of hardware in my dirty paws anytime. It's just the fact that we live in an age where we are innovating anything and everything and constantly looking for that breakthrough to something that most say is quite impossible. It's just rubs off me the right way.

DSCF2094

Photography (and to a lesser extent, videography)

The timelessness without the possibility of sepia unless quite intended, in today's context captured by binary information is quite a love of mine. It's the one hobby that is not absolute. Unlike technology, it doesn't always have a 2-state possibility of an outcome, i.e., it works or it doesn't. A blurred image is what we say when the photo fails to work for us. Beautiful bokeh is what we exclaim when we think it's a work of art for another who appreciates the same perspective in a totally different light. It brings about balance for me. Videography, in the strictest sense, is a series of photographs in succession so one might argue to say it's really one and the same. I would argue same same but different (have lots of respect for the videographers out there).

The Eye

Travel

Nothing provides chicken soup for the soul-type of remedy for weariness quicker than a deviation from routine. Travel is exactly that for me. The mere crossing of invisible borders that presents vast opportunities to new levels of imagination, sights, sounds, colors and culture experience, can inject a renewed sense of purpose albeit not infinitely. Not to mention that I get my technology and photography fix in the meantime too. The solution is quite elementary really: travel more.

Cheon Ji Yeon Waterfall @ Jeju

Knowledge

Curiosity kills the cat as you would have learned in school. Satisfaction will bring it back. Never stop learning for knowledge is power. Be it information, trivia, gossip, life-saving processes, how to cook a runny egg to perfection, it never fails to intrigue me. I would love to learn anything and everything (sounds a little creepy as a certain Irina Spaiko comes to mind and how she met her end) and more importantly, share them.

DSC_3411

In Closing

In any case, do I care that I gain some fame or infamy in the process of posting on Steemit moving forward? Not really but hey, I'm happy to just throw in a few quips here and there or a few insights and get some cryptos in the process. And FWIW, I think Steemit needs a mobile app (iPad first, please!), as they say it in France, "maintenant, s'il vous plait!"

Sort:  

Congratulations @ginozac! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Gооd аrtiсlе

Thаnks fоr thе gооd аrtiсlе

Congratulations @ginozac! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ginozac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55