G'day Steemmates!steemCreated with Sketch.

I'm an Australian of British heritage with a bit of experience on Poloniex but that's not the main reason why I'm here. I am interested in finding alternatives to the mainstream social media outlets and, hearing about one which was also connected to digital currencies, I thought I'd check it out. I don't really know what I'm going to post about yet. Blogging has never really been my area though I am familiar with all the usual social media sites. I also know basic html but I'm no expert in website creation.

In regards to myself, I've lived in 3 Australian states and spent a year in China. I've studied horticulture, education, and religion (sociologically) in formal settings but the range of my private studies is far broader. Like most Millennials, I've worked numerous jobs but would rather not be defined by my labours. If anyone asks, tell them I'm a poetic tree. Here's a photo from my younger days:

Tree

Politically, my views are probably best defined as extreme. They're so far in both directions on different issues that the Political Compass thinks I'm a centrist with a slight left-libertarian flavour. With Australia being the only English speaking nation to enforce compulsory voting (i.e. you get fined if you don't vote), as you can imagine, this makes the choice for me rather difficult. Consequently, I vote below the line. (Aussies will know what that means.) I am an adamant supporter of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, i.e. the right to freedom of expression, commonly known as 'free speech'. Australia is one of the few countries which has voiced opposition to this article on the international stage, having stated that it will not be bound by it in spite of having signed the Declaration.

Back on the topic of social media, I've sporadically uploaded to YouTube for 9 years but still haven't reached 100 videos. They're not well organised and mostly composed of visual images I've put to various songs and events I've filmed (mainly dancing/singing and religious ceremonies). But if you're interested, you can see all my YouTube videos here: https://www.youtube.com/user/Ggdivhjkjl/videos

On this platform, I'm considering uploading some commentaries for the music clips I've created. If you think I should go ahead with this idea, please say so in the comments. If you have a particular video you would like me to explain, you're welcome to ask but whether or not I get to it will of course be down to how much time I have available amoung other factors.

Being colourblind like my mother, I regular face problems that some people have gone so far as to call discrimination. Given my recent contact with colourblindness advocacy groups, I may well create a series on this topic. Earlier this year, I created the Wikipedia article List of people with color blindness. (This can be seen by checking its edit history seeing how I was logged in with the same name as I'm using here, however most of my Wikipedia editing generally has been done without logging in. It's since been edited by a number of folk but remains unreviewed should you be looking for an opportunity to review a new article.) If you too are colourblind or if you know a colourblind person, please comment and let others know about this possible upcoming series.

Other topics I'm considering posting about include how to earn Australian dollars taking surveys and shopping online, allegory in Christianity, and a semi-humorous series on how I'd react were various dramatic events to happen to me. If you'd like to read more about any of these, please say so in the comments so I can get an idea of what I should post on.

If there's some other topic you would like to suggest I post on, you're welcome to say. Some of my other topics of interest which I may irregularly post on include (in no particular order) flags, languages/linguistics, art, philosophy, history, environmentalism, nature, sophistry, culture, heraldry, children, cooking, worldbuilding, legends, space, science fiction, calendars, writing, natural medicine, board games, etc. This list could go on for a while but unfortunately I haven't the time to pursue all my interests.

For now, thank you for reading and I look forward to interacting with you all on here.

Peace mates!

Sources:

The image used in this post was created by me and uploaded to the site on which it is hosted.

Sort:  

Welcome to this wonderful community @ggdivhjkjl

Hi @ggdivhjkjl

I really love your well informed introduction.

Thanks for telling us about yourself.
Steemit is a wonderful social media community, at first, growing up your steemit account may be difficult but don't give up
I’m Kingsley, I’m a graphic designer and a writer.
You're very welcome to steemit. I wish you success. I hope you'll enjoy steemit as time goes on. I'll like to follow you so I can share ideas with you here on steemit. I'm now following you. Feel free to follow me back if you want.
@kingsley-clement

Thanks and you're welcome @kingsley-clement. As I've been up all night trying learning about this site, I'm going to head off and take a rest for now but thank you for following me and I've followed you in return now. I'll get back to any other replies later. Peace!

Nice to meet you, @ggdivhjkjl!
@OriginalWorks will check the originality of this post and @Cleverbot will say something witty.

If your post is original and receives an upvote, like this comment so that I may like your post as well!

If you are confused about anything, ask @helpbot a question!

@steemprice will also give you some handy info.

Sorry if you are annoyed by this but thanks for providing content to the steemit community!

Thanks and enjoy!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ggdivhjkjl to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @ggdivhjkjl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice read! I can see that you have signed up recently so I wanted to personally welcome you. Have one upvote from me and keep up the good work!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Thank you for the recommendation but is it really worth it if I don't know how frequently I'll be posting?

not really, you need to be posting daily for this to work

Alright. Maybe I should wait until I'm more organised then. Could I still do it in say, a month or so once I have a plan for what to post on?

Hi welcome to Steemit, it was a bit all over the place, but the religious remarks were quite funny :)

That's because I just wrote it off the top of my head :)

Nice introduction. Don't worry if you didn't get as much attention as you expected. It's nothing personal :) That's how things work around here. Takes some time and a lot of work to get noticed, make friends etc. Since you seem to have a lot of ideas, try them out, see what works...and don't lose faith!
Good luck!

Thanks for the encouragement :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66