Story about our 6 years old daughter who suddenly got Diabetes

My life changed at the moment our 6 years old daughter suddenly got Diabetes type 1

First off all I want to take this moment to apologize for my bad english.
I'm coming from the Netherlands, but I want to share my personal story with you in english, because most of the Steemians are writing in english.

As said before I live in the Netherlands, together with my wife and two daughters. The oldest is 9 years old and the youngest 6 years old. We were one big happy family and doing the stuff like anybody else does. Working, Kids to school, Play time , trips and so on.

In May kids don’t have to go to school for 2 weeks, because of a holiday. So we decided to plan a vacation trip to Florida for a roundtrip with the kids. The kids were looking forward to it. Everything went fine. The flight was very long but the kids we just watching some movies and did a sleep. After 11 hours flying we landed in Florida. Because of the long flight also the timezone was a little bit different ( -6 hours back in time) so when it was 4:00 pm in the Netherlands it was already 10:00 pm. So the kids were very tired. We went to our first hotel in Miami and the next day we started our roundtrip.

Suddenly after a day of three our youngest daughter was saying she was very thirsty. It was very hot those days so we gave her some extra water. I must say that I also was drinking more than usual at home. In the Netherlands the temperatures in May are around 64 Fahrenheit but in Florida it was around 93 Fahrenheit. We went to the disney park and we had a very good time. After doing some attractions our youngest daughter was complaining that she was very hungry just after eating our lunch. We said to her that she already had lunch and must wait till later. Later on she was still hungry and thirsty so we gave her something to eat. In the evening we wanted to watch the firework show at Disney Mainstreet. We were standing in the crowd and our youngest daughter was suddenly crying. She told us that she was really tired. So I picked her up and we went back to the car to drive back to our hotel. It was already around 9:30pm so we thought that she was tired for the hole day walking and doing stuff at Disney.

Back at the hotel we quickly showered her and put her in bed. We all slept in the same room. In the night our youngest daughter was moving around from side to side in her bed. I woke her up and asked her if she was dreaming. She just wanted to sleep. I dragged her to the toilet room and when she was sitting on the toilet she had a big long pie. Maybe she drank to much????

The next morning we all woke up early and our youngest daughter went again to the toilet. Another big pie. Her breath was also smelling a little bit. She drank to much and her stomach was empty???

3 days later our vacation was over and we flew back to The Netherlands.
Again there was a difference in timezone and we did get jetlagged.

In the last weekend of our holiday we where back at home and our kids where playing together.
Suddenly I noticed that our daughter had very blue lips and her face was white. She was complaining that she was very tired. Maybe because of the jetlag? That Sunday she went early to bed, because the next day school started.

Not so good

Monday morning my alarm clock went off and I got out of bed. I went to our youngest daughter’s room to wake her up. She was very tired. When I looked at her face she still had blue lips.
She stepped out of bed and she again complained that she didn’t felt good. She didn’t want to go to school. My wife was already at work and the only thing I thought was, this isn’t good at all.
I called school that our daughter was ill and I went to the doctor for a checkup.
The doctor did some tests and she asked me if she could do a fingerprint with a little needle to check her blood. The device was beeping and she said: this isn’t good.
Right at that moment I thought: Fuck, there’s really something wrong.

The doctor called the hospital, because she wanted the hospital also did a check for her blood.
She hang up the phone and told us that we could go right away to the hospital.
I went back to the car and when we were driving I called my wife that I went to the doctor and that it wasn’t good with our youngest daughter. She was choked and I told her that I keep her informed.

At the hospital they did a quick check up at our daughter and we were told to take place in the waiting room. I think 2 or 3 minutes later the pediatrician told us to come with hem.
He showed me the results. Her blood sugar was so high. I thought: Fuck Diabetes ! Our little girl has diabetes. That poor 6 years old girl.

The pediatrician gave her a injection to lower the blood sugar.
From that moment everything went in a rush. I called my wife to come to the hospital and after 30 minutes we were informed about diabetes. Both in choke of the diabetes.

From that moment we count carbohydrates, give her insuline injections for every meal and check her blood sugar. (I can tell you, that this is a whole job every day. ) If the blood sugar is to low you must interact but also when it’s to high. She will never be the child who can eat what she wants.

For example. When it’s her friends birthday and they give a party she cannot eat what she wants like the other kids at the party. :(

If she was born in 1897, the average life expectancy for a 6-year-old child with diabetes is about 1 year.

So I’m glad she was born in 2011 and that they still do the research and create the technologies.
An pancreas which automatic control the insuline and bloodsugar like your own pancreas is now in development stage. They think it will become available in 2019 but is very very expensive. We are putting our savings aside to help her.

I want to thank you for reading my story.

Donations are very welcome for the pancreas:

ETH: 0xbe31fc364a18ac657365e37fdc32af96586c98fc

NEO: AJPNFmHoh9CoEvj4umHUdA6wcuoJBAaFbN

ETP: MKzYTSG1eXG2JnwVrH8hgxuF25r6EN8Now

Sort:  

What a story. I've send you a little donation

That's very kind of you. Thanks

Did you know that diabetes is linked to deficiency in minerals, and that it can be reversed overtime when such minerals are taken daily?

Been working in this field for ten years, and have seen miracles. You can reply to this in case you wish to connect.

There are solutions, and they are mostly based in medical nutrition.

Congratulations @fuckdiabetes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fuckdiabetes! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fuckdiabetes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Whuddup! I can see that you have signed up recently so I'd like to offer you my welcome. Have one upvote from me and keep on steeming!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63