Steemit Gods, I am not spam!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi All! This is my first blog on Steemit...and first blog anywhere.

I've been reading about Steemit and watching on the sidelines for a few weeks. After watching a few videos by @boxmining @dollarvigilante @jerrybanfield @crypt0 I decided to sign up. I followed the process to get approved, bought some Steem on Bittrex, and started getting excited. While waiting for the confirmation email I was telling friends about Steem and how great it sounds. The excitement started to fade over the next few days. I emailed support, read every FAQ I could find...same answer every time, "Be Patient...they just want to reduce spam accounts". ...7 days go by and still no progress.

Then I found the post from @anonsteem in the FAQ, paid 0.6 Litecoin, and signed up. Instant account!!

I've happy to finally be on Steemit, but that wait was painful. Everyone I did talk to was very helpful including @timcliff but it would be good to give people a heads up that 2-3 days isn't the true estimated wait time anymore. Let's be realistic, Steemit is blowing up, users are flooding in...some people will be okay with paying upfront if they get it back in Steem dollars. I assume most people get on Steem and then buy Steem anyways to powerup?

Why I'm here?

Anyway, rant is over...excitement is back. Steem, I ain't mad at ya. I'm a believer in Steemit as a platform and as an investment. Not a fan of the inflation, but it makes sense with the powering up and incentive structure. You can see from my wallet that I powered up with around 3k steem (as soon as bittrex lets me transfer). So much easier than mining and even easier than staking in most other currencies. I'm looking forward to talking about altcoins and getting feedback on my crypto portfolio.

Who Am I?

I'm Indian American, in the cusp of mid to late 30s and live in Raleigh, North Carolina. I'm married, have 2 beautiful 6 year old puppies, and a baby on the way! I'm an entrepreneur, investor, and work for a tech company in operations/finance. One of the puppies getting some beauty sleep...

I stumbled across bitcoin around 2013 and have been hooked ever since. I've been researching and trading cryptocurrency with some mining here and there. It's hot in North Carolina in the summer, so mining is only an option in the winter.

For fun, I like to kayak fish and improve the fishing efficiency of my kayak. You'd be surprised at how fast I can locate fish, get lines in the water at various depths with a the beautiful array of baits, and still not get a bite. Theoretically I should be catching a lot of fish. I think it'll happen soon though. Besides that, I spend time doing DIY stuff around the house, working out, and taking road trips with the wifey and pups. We are lucky to be just 15 minutes from lakes, 2 hours from the beach, and 4-5 hours from the mountains.

If there are any basic beginner Steemit suggestions/tips anyone has for me, please share!

Sort:  

Congrats on the upcoming fatherhood @financialcritic!!

qxy0g.gif

Welcome to Steemit!

I'm glad that you made it :D
@shayne

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem

Thanks! Didn't know about the first image thing..good stuff.

Awesome! welcome!
Although it sucks it took a long time, its cool to hear because i signed up in may with virtually no wait! its crazy to see the growth here! good luck fishing,.. both here and on the water!

-Dest

Welcome to Steem @financialcritic I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @financialcritic :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Hello there and welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome aboard the Steemship! I hope to catch up on some of your fishing excursions! Keep On Steemin On! I also kayak fishing! 🎣

Thanks! Will follow you and hope to hear about your kayaking as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95