Hello Steemers! My name is Fede, I'm an author (WIRED, New Scientist, BBC), Singularity University/NASA graduate, activist, researcher and public speaker, excited to be on Steemit!

Since everyone's doing it, I figured I'd do a proper introduction.

I graduated in Computer Science at the University of Verona, and later at Singularity University, NASA Ames Research Park. I wrote for Forbes, New Scientist, CNBC, Wired, and my work has been covered by The Economist, the European Commission, The Huffington Post, MIT Technology Review, and many others.

My life and Steemit

I discovered Steemit about two months ago, read the white paper, and immediately saw the potential. I posted my book for free on Steemit and tweeted about it. That caught the attention of Max Keiser, which I thought was pretty cool (he retweeted it to his 150K followers).

But I'm getting ahead of myself, let me take a step back :)

Some background

For the past 12 years or so I co-founded several activist, human rights groups, social movements, non-profits, open source projects and social impact companies.

Five years ago I decided quit my job as a web developer/sysadmin/videomaker. I wanted to follow my own path and turn my passions and interests, which I was pursuing at night and weekend, into what I do for a living.

As you can imagine, this was not an easy decision, one that in fact attracted the bafflement and in some cases the anger of friends and people who knew me. To give some context, it was 2011, I had a stable and good paying job with essentially the equivalent of tenure, in a period that is considered one of the worst economic crisis in Italy, where youth unemployment was as high as 45%.

Anyway, I wasn't looking for security. I was looking for excitement and for making a change in the world. Well, at least trying.

After years of work and research I published my book "Robots Will Steal Your Job, But That's OK: How to Survive the Economic Collapse and Be Happy".


Practically everyone I talked to told me that I would have never made it. They said I'd never find a publisher. And even if I did, they would pay me little to nothing. Well they were right. The offers I received were ridiculous, almost an insult.

If instead I decided to self-publish, the common wisdom was that it would end up nowhere. When I looked at the numbers coming out of 99% of first-time authors, I concluded that they were probably right again. My chances of being successful very slim-to-none.

To me, the deciding factor was another.

I didn't do it to "be successful". I did it because I had a message I wanted to get out to the world. I had story to tell that I thought was important.

So, without any consideration for financial stability, I went on and self-published my book, against all odds.

If Steemit had been around at that time...

Anyway, to my amazement, the book was an international success. It was a best-seller on Amazon for a few weeks, and it's now published in Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian, English, Complex and Simplified Chinese.


Top-left to bottom-right: Nigel Ackland (first Human Cyborg), Jason Silva (Shot of Awe), Exponential Finance in New York (one of the leading crypto-conferences), Tony Robbins (leading motivational speaker), Howard Bloom (microbiologist and best-selling author), Avi Reichental (CEo of 3D Systems, world's top 3D printing company), Devin Fidler (research director at the Institute For The Future), Mike Butcher (Chief Editor At TechCrunch)

The book got me a full scholarship for Singularity University at the NASA Ames Research Park, where I met legends such as Peter Diamandis, Ray Kurzweil, cryptography pioneer Ralph Merkle, SciFi author Vernor Vinge, co-founder of WIRED magazine Kevin Kelly, and co-founder of Sun Microsystems and mega-billionaire Vinod Khosla, among many others.


Me with Peter Diamandis, founder and chairman of the X Prize Foundation, co-founder of Zero Gravity, Space Adventures, International Space University, Planetary Resources, Human Longevity, and a bunch of other incredible companies. You can see him on the right floating in zero-gravity with James Cameron and real-life Tony Stark Elon Musk. He told me he's secretly more proud of the picture on the left. [1]


With Ray Kurzweil, Director of Engineering at Google and inventor of the first charge-coupled device flatbed scanner, the first omni-font optical character recognition, the first print-to-speech reading machine for the blind, the first commercial text-to-speech synthesizer, the Kurzweil K250 music synthesizer capable of simulating the sound of the grand piano and other orchestral instruments, and the first commercially marketed large-vocabulary speech recognition.

Then things went insane. The Economist, The Wall Street Journal, the BBC, The Financial Times, Vice Magazine, CNBC, Forbes, even freaking Japanese Magazines covered it. I could hardly believe it.





I went on lecturing on AI, automation, existential risks, the Future of Work, and the need for a new socio-economic system at universities and conferences in more than 20 countries, including the European Commission, the Italian Chamber of Deputies, Google EU Public Policy, The Nobel Peace Prize center, The Institute for the Future, and The University of Oslo.



Social Impact, Addressing Humanity's Grand Challenges

I've always had a thing for trying to solve big problems, but things really took off recently. For the past year and a half I've been involved with the XPRIZE, a non-profit organization to bring about “radical breakthroughs for the benefit of humanity” through incentivized competition.

Basically we find things that are terribly wrong with the world and that could be solved with breakthrough technologies, we raise $10-20 million dollars for a prize and give the money to whoever can prove they can fix the problem.

So far the XPRIZE raised over $100 million for Suborbital Spaceflight, Oil Spills Cleanup, a Lunar Lander, 3D Mapping for restoring the health of our Oceans, the Star Trek Medical Tricorder, educating 800 million illiterate kids with AI, and so on.

It's pretty f*****g awesome.

The Board of Trustees includes Elon Musk, James Cameron, Larry Page, Arianna Huffington, Ratan Tata and other cool people.


I'm a fan of decentralization. Can't help but bringing it up any time I have the chance.

I spoke at their last VISIONEERING conference on the topic "Future of Work", and I had the pleasure of working with Google X co-founders and directors Astro teller and Tom Chi.


Director of Google X Atro Teller (center-right, with he goatee). Just the place where they created Google Glass, the Google driverless cars, Google Contact Lens, and Project Loon.

The project I presented with Tom came second place.


Tom is also pretty badass. He's the original creator of the prototype of Google Glass and a pioneer of the concept of rapid prototyping. He's also one of the smartest people I've ever met.

Crypto&Me, love at first sight

I've been involved with the crypto community since early 2011, more than five years now. When the first US Bitcoin physical stock exchange opened (Satoshi Square, NYC, in front of Wall Street), I was there.


Reason.tv covered the event, they caught me while scripting some stuff. This was just before Mt. Gox collapsed. Ah, good times!


That's my computer on screen, running by hand the physical crypto exchanges on a Vim terminal. Ah, the good times!!! :D

Reddit and Steemit

I'm an active contributor at reddit (I did two AMAs), one of which is the second-most upvoted of all-time in /r/Futurology, a community of 7 million futurists.

I'm looking forward to seeing the growing community on Steemit develop a Futurology section, maybe I'll do an AMA here too!

Recently I published a paper with Prof. Yampolskiy on "How to create a Malevolent Artificial intelligence", which was covered by many publications, including MIT Technology Review and the World Economic Forum.


This was also the first-ever scientific publication entirely published on Steemit.

All my works under a CC-BY-NC-SA license. Sharing is caring.

I spend a lot of time time studying and researching, and I'm curious to see where Steemit might be headed. I wrote some of my thoughts on that here.

The #SteemTubeExperiment

I have an ongoing experiment where I post my YouTube videos on Steem ( #SteemTubeExperiment ), record the results and feedback, will document the process and challenges I find as a creator on Steemit. If my experience on Steemit is positive, I will tell other YouTubers about it, including the 450+ Superstar YouTubers in the community I manage.

Thanks for the warm welcome so far, I'm super-excited to (perhaps) be part of the future of online creations together with you!

Live long and prosper.

\ \/ /,

Notes

[1] No he didn't. Come on.

Sort:  

Wow! Welcome Fede! I have been reading your stuff for years now. I am an ardent follower of r/Futurology too, and of course I was there for your legendary AMA!

This is a huge win for Steemit! Can't wait to see you blog on Steemit.

A real pleasure to have you here. :)

Thanks! Glad to see you here too.
Seem like this post won't get far until a whale takes notice, it's at 52 upvotes and still under $10. Oh well, we do our best anyway. Best of luck with your posts too!
Cheers,

whales on steemit always catch up ;)

I knew they would help ya! Just got to give @berniesanders a little time ;)

There you go Fede, trending big time!

Indeed, have a positive attitude worked out! 😊

when a 15-year-old NASA scientist make more on one post than you do in half a year.

Are you going to write an article about Steem on wired magazine?

Don't fret it. I'm confident the whales will notice your work! But you are a seasoned blogger, you don't need me to tell you that. :)

#1 on Steemit! Now you are under intense pressure to deliver some awesome content. I'm sure you will, but can't wait for it. :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@minion/youtube-vs-steemit-enemies-or-siblings

[IMPORTANT] This post covers the Similarity between YouTube and Steemit as well on How to use Steemit and It's OFFICIAL CONTENT RULES.

Welcome aboard, I'm very glad and honoured to be part of this project with you along for the ride. Thrive on and namaste :)

Everyso often a really interesting person comes along on introduceyourself , that really has something to offer, instead of just showing pictures of their travel or culinary skills ( nothing wrong with these, i read them as well) Your post is one of those outstanding ones and I for one enjoyed reading it. For someone you looks so young you have done amazing things so far in your life - I shall enjoy seeing more of your posts. Thank you

Thanks, it was getting a bit frustrating indeed. I've been browsing a lot looking for quality content, but it's hard to find.

I wonder what changes would be required to make quality content more visible, instead of what's popular. Perhaps a curated section on a separated project? I don't know. Something to think about.

Well, it looks like truth, now I understood why you’ve downvoted my post:)

But as for me this platform is going to be a big thing only if it have a variety of different characters, from which everybody can choose something worthy.

And it’s not about to tell others how cool you are in your travel or how good you can cook (I’ve seen a ton of such people in real life and understand your scepticism),
but to find a cross points between the experimentators and theoretics, or field researchers and talented coders, or whatever separated clusters of enthusiastic people is forming here.
Because the most exciting things often appears on a borders of two bubbles.

Unfortunately, here on a little island where we staying now, the active community is mostly represented by enlightened hippies, so Steemit is the way to catch a pearls in the sea full of plastic waste, like everywhere - if you know what to look for.

I’m glad you’re here, this platform needs more fresh minds in it, despite its self-regulatory!

at the moment the trending page has nothing to do with what's popular but more to do with what whales like or think might be popular or useful to attract as many signups as possible.
on steem we have not seen the wisdom of the crowds at work yet, pretty much the opposite.
currently the trending section is infact a curated section (by whales)
I 'm sure you noticed this as your intro quickly gained votes but didn't gain any traction until a whale spotted it.
I think most problems will be resolved when the platform reaches wide adoption , then tags and sections will have more importance and the swarm effect might mitigate whales influence.
btw a huge welcome. me and I bet many others share your interests and I'm sure in time there will be a market for every topic. that's when I'll bother blogging myself.

We've come up with something... called Red-tagging and Green-tagging.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@cogliostro/2-cocky-new-curator-tools-for-steemit-green-tagging-and-red-tagging

Not sure if devs are paying attention, though.

Note that the data is all on the blockchain, which is public and open source, so anyone can create a new UI that promotes content on different algorithms. You can also post arbitrary data to the chain, so you can implement different voting semantics if you want. Of course, that won't generate payouts, but there's probably some hybrid approaches that would utilize the existing payout voting structure and add some useful other data. Sky's the limit. :)

Wow, what an introduction!

"Hi, I'm basically every cool thing you've ever heard of and I've come to dominate this place."

Well deserved, for sure. Seriously, welcome!
LoL Suddenly I feel so inadequate.

> Suddenly I feel so inadequate.

Well don't! 😊

Over the years I've become pretty good at public speaking (or so they tell me). Then I went to Singularity, and I found a guy who beat me to a pulp at it.

My reaction?

> This is so awesome! I wanna learn from you!

Result? We're now super good friends. He invited me to speak at his many schools in Brazil three times, invitation that I gladly accepted, and we'll be doing more things in the future.

Very cool! That's how good friendships are made, definitely!

Actually, I just thought of something. We've got a philosophical discussion going on that I'm curious what someone of your background has to add to it. I'm not usually one to drop links to other stuff going on, but in this case the link doesn't belong to me, it belongs to @lukestokes .
Feel free to drop by and offer some words of expertise-backed wisdom. :)
https://steemit.com/philosophy/@lukestokes/determining-determinism

Welcome! I saw your lecture when you were in Norway in 2012 or 2013, can not remember correctly. It was a very inspirational and optimistic take on the future :)

Best intro post ever.

Nobel Prize Dress Code: dark suit. sneakers with neon laces optional.

Why hello there you excellent human being.
I just read everything in one go, your 2 month old post and am just fascinated. I wanted to buy your book in audio format with btc, couldn't find any on here: http://robotswillstealyourjob.com/
I am glad to have ran into your post today and be a part of the early community of this revolutionary site, can't wait to read/hear the book. :)

Also I'm an (ex) redditor and have been subscribed to r/futurology for forever. Its one of the most "woah" moments of subreddits ever.

Hey @acidyo,
The audiobook is a work in progress, if you support on konoz you can get access to the chapters as I publish them, and in high-quality DRM-free MP3 files.
Here you can get a sneak peek of it, it was voiced by the immensely talented Ben McLeish.

Do androids dream of electric sheep?

Although you've been here for quite a while: Welcome aboard...

Thanks for taking the time to make the intro. Very good.

Welcome onboard man! Excited to have you around here! Loved that book, hoping to see more of your work on Steemit! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59