Howzit Steemit!! another sun-bleached surfer joins the ranks

Hey guys! It's really rad to finally be here! I have been scoping Steemit out for a while now (as I'm sure everyone does while they wait for their account) and it looks like a pretty cool place, hope I'll able to connect with like-minded people and make some friends along the way

20160723_124031.jpg

I am from Durban, probably the best place to live in the whole of Africa. Grew up right on the beach, and as a result developed this itch that only the sea can scratch. Super hooked on surfing, froth about the waves all day. I really enjoy any kind of outdoor activity, especially those that involve lots of speed and adrenaline! Skateboarding, bombing hills, mountain biking - anything to get some flow when the waves are flat. Another nice thing about SA is police have bigger fish to fry than pulling over super bikes, so you tend to get away with alot. Enough said. long time gamer too, PC mostly. Remember having to memorize code to type into the command prompt to jam games on Dos - Yeah, i'm an 80's baby.

Ansteys2 4April.jpg

The thing about extreme sports is you generally have to keep pushing the envelope, going bigger and faster, to get the same level of excitement you felt when you started (that's why bikes like the hyabusa and zx14 exsist, because yeah, after a while your 1000cc super bike starts feeling kinda sluggish)
For surfing our 'hyabusa' so to speak is big wave surfing. As for me I'm pretty happy sticking to the 1000cc class, and luckily for me at my local spot Cave Rock and along the KZN coast there's plenty of horsepower.

Stoked again to be here! will probably be posting a lot of surfing travel stuff, action sports videos (wish steemit had a vid section, so we didn't have to upload to youtube) oh, and some engineering stuff too!

                          {insert cool surf inspired stamp here}
Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! I really enjoy outdoor activities as well, but due to health issues, I have been sidelined. That doesn't mean I can't watch what you do by following your posts! By the way, I'm also an '80s baby! Traveling is my latest passion & I will definitely be visiting a lot of African countries.

I've got kids and they're young. Once they're a little older, we can begin our journey.

Hey! thanks! Ah, sorry to hear that, really hope you're able to get well enough again sometime soon

travelling is awesome! Africa is pretty epic, some awesome trails/hiking if you're into that, plus some of the friendliest people you'll meet!

Hey man!! Welcome to
Steemit!! So a surfer huh?? Yeah I will say I have never been surfing I am from Colorado, so we are a tad far from the ocean! Lol! But anyeho man welcome I will be following your progress enjoy and have a good one! :)

Hey thanks man! hope you get a chance to one day ;) look forward to seeing some of your posts as well in the future

Salute! I can see that you have signed up recently so welcome to steemit. This post was nice so I upvoted it and bring on the next one!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.
PS! If you would like to get free cryptocurrency by airdrop then www.powtoken.com is giving away free tokens to everyone who signs up using only a facebook account!

Congratulations @erlankslabs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @erlankslabs! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @erlankslabs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello :) Cool bike ! Do you do surfing? If you have some time - say - would you consider making network of followers and upvoters with me? If yes, please write how many minutes a day you have for steemit and I will put you in an certain group accordingly. It will take few days probably as I am new, but you can do the same thing.

Hey! yeah I surf! yeah sure, kinda new to this but hit me up. Hard to say how long a day right now tho

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43