The story of my life; How steemit found me.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

5pics.jpg

I came from the family of seven. Four boys and three girls and I found my humble self in the sixth position and maintained a good character in order to avoid been bullied by my elder ones. I concluded my secondary education in 1996 but unfortunately, that same year; I lost my lovely mum and my younger sister. That why how I invariably become the last born of my family.

I sat for West Africa Examination Council; popularly known as WAEC before relocating to Lagos from Zaria, Kaduna State where I was bread and buttered. I lived with my elder brother in Ilasamaja Mushin Lagos. Living with my elder brother was horrible because he wasn't caring and accommodating. I do wake up as early as 4:am to start the day's chores despite it was just a room. I tried about two jobs but couldn't cope because of their unbearable conditions. I discovered that working with SSCE exposes one to molestation so I decided to go back to Zaria to further my education. Luckily, I gained admission into Federal College of Education and acquired National Certificate in Education.
2pics.jpg

I studied English Language and Social Studies for three years. After I concluded my NCE programme, I proceeded to acquire my first degree in University of Ado -Ekiti where I studied English Education. Ready for exploit! I decided to go back to that place I left. Lagos! But it wasn't what I expected at all. Things have really changed. My brother whom I want to stay with has relocated from Mushin to a suburb of Lagos,Iba! A lived by commoners and job opportunity is very poor. I got my first job as a teacher in S-Triumph College to teach: English Language, Literature in English, Government, CRS and Social Studies for N6500 which is $18.5 in the current exchange rate. I worked like and elephant but eat like an ant. In order to manage the pittance: I eat twice a day. Bread and beans in the morning and Eba and Okro soup in the night. I wouldn't mind for meat because I was very judicious. When the management became unbearable, I decided to get a better job and luckily for me, I got a job in Saint Mary's College. I teach English Language and Literature in English and was paid N8500 which is $24.2 in the current exchange rate. I continued my low key lifestyle but this time; I was planning to rent my own apartment because my elder brother' s wife was seriously frustrating me. I struggled to rent my own room apartment in a face me I face you compound. There are only twenty eight rooms and we share a toilet and bathroom. I have to join the long queue as early as 4am to have my bath. My room was nothing to write home about because I spent the whole money I have to pay for my rent. I was given a mat, three plate and a bucket by one of my cared friends. That was the only property I have in my room, apart from my clothing. Life as a teacher in Saint Mary's College was fun with some challenges. Firstly, I made them love my subject by been friendly with them and attending to their questions and challenges Out prejudice.
3pics.jpg
In order to inculcate reading habit into the students, I organized a reading club known as Young Readers Club. I gathered novels from different sources for students to read within a short period of time and they return after use. This helped my students a great deal and their reading habit improve to a great extent. I organized inter- school debate and quiz competition for my students and their performance was impressive. The relationship between my students and I become stronger by the day and they see me as their role model. In every twelve, there is always a Judas but all their bad plans to frustrate my effort in the upbringing of my students was futile. This is because I resilient in my job. Having worked for fifteen years, I resigned from Saint Mary's College and set up my own coaching centre known as Celebrity Tutors: It is a preparatory class for JAMB, WAEC and NECO. Now, I live better than before. I now live in two bedroom apartment and can't remember when last I ate Beans and Bread! I got the information of Steemit from one of my students @sir.skillful1 and wish to use this platform to write absorbing stories, poems and drama.
PicsArt_04-08-04.15.28.jpg

I want to extend my greetings to @dan and @Ned for this great platform and all Steemiains @surpassinggoogle @onequality @ogoowinner @greenrun @delibrator @wafrica @steemgigs. We all shall be great!

Sort:  

Hi @celebritypoet, you have really been through a lot, all these experiences makes us better and stronger . The sky is your starting point. I am glad with what you have acheived and i know better things are coming as you have found this platform.

I want to specially welcome you and we @greetersguild are here to help you learn, earn and grow. you can tag your post with it and if it is of quality, it would be upvoted by members.

I found you at the right time because we are currently running a contest for newbies and i am here scouting for quality post. I would love you to participate. All you need to do is drop a link to your post and write that you were nominated by @gracefavour. There are lots of prizes just for newbies. Here is the LINK Today is the 3rd day of the 7 days contest and i would love you to participate.

So happy to see you reaching out to others @gracefavour!

Thank you so much @beeyou i appreciate. you inspired me to do this. Thank you for everything. :)

YOU are the one taking time to help others. It was all you from the start when you offered to help others with resteems. I'm happy to bump into you out here. I don't always have the chance to get around, but always do love running into @gracefavour. :)

Thanks for the compliment.

You are welcome, Do let me know when you have done that.

Welcome and enjoy the fruits that Steemit has to offer. There is a great community here.

Hey @celebritypoet and welcome to Steemit! Glad to see you in the discord chat earlier :) so happy to hear @sir.skillfull got you onto Steemit - I see his posts around a lot, he does good work :)
It sounds like did great things for the children you were teaching, but I'm glad to hear you've started making more money ! I hope you do well here on Steemit.
#NewbieResteemDay.png

I really appreciate that. Promise not to dissappoint all Steemians.

Welcome @celebritypoet, and I saw you on Discord earlier as well. Sounds like you've had a rough time to get to where you are now, and from a fellow African I say well done! Teaching and encouraging others to read is wonderful, and doing it for little or no reward is commendable. I am a preschool teacher/administrator and we try to inculcate a love of reading and books from an early age. Good luck, and looking forward to your next post.

It was really a great experience. Thank God for where I am today and where I am heading to via Steemit. It is a good thing to be appreciated by u and I am greatly honoured.

Welcome to steemit @celebritypoet, I am sure you will enjoy your time here, while it may take time to earn any significant monies, the rewards from the people and engagement is priceless. If you have any questions, any of the people you mentioned above will be more than willing to help, and if you find them to be just a bit to busy, any of the greetersguild members or members of newbieresteemday will help as much as they can.

Thanks alot. I am really optimistic about this platform and promise to give all my effort on it.


Welcome to Steemit @celebritypoet!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

What a well written introduce yourself post @celebritypoet! You gave me a chance to learn about you and the challenges and achievements you’ve journeyed with in life. Despite hardship, you empowered yourself and others and turning your life into a positive one by all indications. Good for you! I’m happy you made your way on here. There are definitely many great people here you could connect with and possibly help to further enrich your life and those lives you touch with your teaching.

Oh! It is a very experience parthetic expeeience which I now find interesting. It has not only help but people that surround me. Thanks for your compliment. It really inspire me.

Welcome to Steemit! Happy to see you in our Discord room.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Welcome to Steemit @celebritypoet,

Looking forward to your articles. I wish you a lot of deep thoughts creativity!

..@bifilarcoil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55