Litecoin mining story from 2012

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

I thought I'd introduce myself with a quick story from 2012.

It was around the time when Litecoin was relatively new on the scene and I had developed a strong desire to start mining. I was a broke 18 year-old willing to try pretty much any "get-rich quick" scheme I could find. And no, at the time I didn't really understand the value of Bitcoin or how ground breaking blockchain technologies were going to be. Anyway, as I was just finishing up high school I didn't have much money to invest in my own hardware. I ended up loading the mining software onto a USB and visiting the local computer shops during lunch hour and copying the miner onto the desktop. I'd set it running on as many machines as I could, then leave.

Rinse and repeat.

A little mischievous yes, but boy was it better than a soul-sucking part-time job!

Here's to Future Shop, a local Canadian computing retailer that has since passed us by.

Future_Shop.JPG

Best,

Cameron

Sort:  

hello Cboyce I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Hey there @cboyce! Welcome to the platform :]

G'day @cboyce! Welcome to the platform :]

So are you in for this for the long ride? Hope so !!! I am also kind of new in this so, in short, wish you good luck. Writing is hard but if you enjoy it you’ll be ok. Find topics that you can share and all will be ok.
Check here on of my posts and place any comments you wish.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/i-hate-math-i-love-math-is-it-me-and-only-me-the-one-with-this-dilemma-the-importance-of-mathematics

If you find it of value and interesting UPVOTE and/or please click on the FOLLOW and let’s exchange comments in the future.

Good luck,

@indepthstory

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Congratulations @cboyce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69