❤️ A Place of the Heart ❤️ Crestone, Colorado, USA ❤️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

welcome to crestone sign.jpg

Greetings, Steemians!

I would like to present you Crestone, Colorado. My home.❤️

The below text was written by long-time resident, Katherine (Kairina) Danforth, and asked I present this to you with the accompanying video. It's less than 9 minutes long and is FILLED with stunning pictures of vast open valleys, mountain peaks, spiritual centers and more. All video credits will be found below (copied from Youtube description). Hugs! ❤️carrie signature.gif


Welcome to Crestone!

Historic Crestone, Colorado is a small community nestled at the base of the spectacular Sangre de Cristo mountain peaks.
Pic taken by @chrisroberts and edited by me.

Miles off the beaten track and surrounded by 14,000-foot mountains, the Crestone area has attracted spiritually-minded travelers for hundreds, perhaps thousands of years.
stupa path sunflowers.jpg Pic taken by @chrisroberts (the hubs). For more on the Stupa visit his blog HERE.

We know from archaeological finds that “first nation” people came here and performed ceremonies long before European or Mexican settlers brought Christianity.
sweatlodge vision quest.jpg Pic by @chrisroberts. Sweatlodge at supporters camp during Vision Quest.

Crestone was incorporated in the 1880’s, a gold mining town.
Screenshot (64).pngImage from Town of Crestone

Today the Crestone community is blessed with creativity of every kind, including internationally known visual artists and well-recognized poets and painters, opera singers, jewelers, writers, healers, filmmakers, muralists, and creatives of all types who are drawn to the elemental energy and scenic grandeur of the area.
purple  weed.jpg edit.jpg
Pic by me, no filter, just unabridged beauty.

The Crestone area is also a mecca for alternative buildings, using methods from straw bale to air block, from yurt to corn-cobb.
strawbale house.jpg
Straw bale home construction image from HERE.

Lodged without our boundaries, we live at the nexus of ley lines, one of the highest energy centers in the US., like Mount Shasta and Sedona, a sacred land, named by the US News and World Report in its special edition of November 28, 2007 as one of thirteen of the world’s most sacred sites.
Screenshot (68).png
Pic by William of Yeshe Korlo


Crestone Films created a short movie about Crestone, which examines many aspects of Crestone today, the arts, the community, the Spiritual Centers, and the relationship they all share with nature.

A very long time ago, the Native-Americans had a name for Crestone. It was O-taynang, which meant a place of the heart.

Please enjoy Crestone, "A Place of the Heart".❤️

Crestone Films created this piece for the Crestone Creative District to help promote responsible tourism in our 'place of the heart'.

Funding was provided to the creative arts district by the Saguache County Tourism Council and by a Saguache County Sales Tax Grant from the Saguache County Board of County Commissioners. The Crestone Creative District exists with the generous support of Colorado Creative Industries and the Boettcher Foundation.

A Film by
Douglas Beechwood & Mark Elliott

Executive Producer: Kairina Danforth

Production Assistance: Catherine Wylie & David Elliott

Poem: ' All is Well' by Anam Thubten
read by Mark Elliott

Music:

'Kahawi'tha' by Joanne Shenandoah
from the CD Matriarch
Silverwave Records
www.silverwave.com

'Ancient Artefacts', 'Power of Nature', Ancient Civilizations'
by Paul Lawler
De Wolfe Music

A Crestone Films Production
www.crestonefilms.com
©2015 Crestone Films, Crestone Creative District


I will also be introducing Kairina and her late husband, HOB, by sharing their works in a series: Honoring yourSelf: A Guide to Overcoming Addictions.

For transparency I will be formatting Kairina's posts:

Honoring yourSelf: title of post


To meet William Martino of Authentic Healing click HERE.
Authentic Healing.png


As always thanks for stopping by!

memoji see you soon.png

💖 carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 2.png

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Hey @carrieallen, welcome to the community! Good post, looking forward to more. Keep Steeming!

Thank you kindly, sir. I certainly will. It's becoming more of my favorite thing every day. 😍

Wow, you've got such a beautiful hometown Carrie!
Amazing pics!

It's true. I love it here. Even on the worst days I just go outside. So magical. 😍

Hi @carrieallen Awesome pics. Crestone looks beautiful. You ever try a sweatlodge? Good luck with Steem. I just joined myself. Have a killer day.

Thank you!

And yes, indeed. We practiced all Native American Ceremonies (with and without medicines) for several years. Sweat lodges are LITERALLY my FAVORITE THING IN THE WORLD. It's like the most safe & beautiful place I could ever imagine being.

I'm working on a Native American Ceremonies and Traditions posts. I have LOTS of info, experiences and photos to share.

Have you ever heard of a Yuwipi Ceremony? There aren't many Yuwipi men left in the world, but we have one here. I'd actually say, this may be equal or top sweat lodges for me. It's like a dance party for the spirits. So much fun! (If you're okay with magic. 😉 Or things you can't explain in this life).

I LOVE Steemit! I just passed my 60 day mark.

Welcome! I'll give you a follow.

Hugs! 😍

Pro Tip: You can use markdown in comments and posts.

Here's a good place to start : How to Liven up your Steemit Posts

Good luck!

Hey @carrieallen! Very cool. Not familiar with Yuwipi Ceremony. "Dance Party" sounds awesome. I'm thinking of putting together a Steem Convention here in Las Vegas in March. Love to pick your brain. Bounce some ideas and thoughts off you.

That sounds awesome. I'd love to help any way I can.

I'm on Steemit.chat as carrieallen and on Discord as carrieallen AND transientflowers. Though I stay logged in normally as transientflowers (on Discord). I also run that cannabis curation page/group here. 😃

Find me on either 😍

@carrieallen got you a $8.04 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@carrieallen got you a $8.04 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more! @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carrieallen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Heck, yes! That's awesome!

Crestone is a pretty magical place.

😍 The MOST magical. 😍

great job @carrieallen

YES! I love that guy. And I LOVE slow claps (I think that's my internet....😏) Oh... oh! It's faster now! Yay!

Thank you!

Here is your reward. A beer: 🍺

This is really nice , I would like to visit some time, really great pictures 😊😊

Thanks so much.❤️

It is the BEST place to visit.

Hugs!😻

This is not an intro post. Please use that tag for new user introduction only.

I'm introducing myself and where I live. AND introducing Kairina, the Mayor of Crestone. I will be doing a series on her as well.

Is this really not appropriate?

Let me know. As I assumed 'introducingyourself/myself' could be just that... I follow rules like a boss. 😎

OH! And if you must know, I NEVER did an intro post on myself. I just started steeming. :) I couldn't really figure out what to say. PLUS! Why introduce myself to NO followers. After sleuthing around I found most do it well after 300 followers... which makes sense.

Hope you have a great day. Sorry you feel I've "done wrong". For real I am.

With no actual RULES to follow around here, things are 'best guess'.

Please don't send any bots or hate my way. Pretty please.

Yes, Reserve those tags for the new steemians who come into this network. If you are interested in further introductions to people from your community give it an appropriate tag. If you continue using this tag you may catch the attention of steemcleaners who may flag you.

Thank you for clarifying .

Have a great day Steemin'! 😻

Dude. You should check out the introduceyourself post now. Every day people are in there that 'shouldn't'. You successfully TERRIFIED me into NOT posting (and now... if you look back, I never did a real intro post...) Maybe you can go scare others.

I'm being serious.

If you got the power to scare 'em. Do it. I do not...

It's sad seeing people with HUGE power and following constantly using that tag. However, I don't feel like it's my place to tell people what to do.

My focus is helping on formatting and generally getting around here.

If ya end up 'laying down the law'- thanks! 😃

I have lived in Colorado for 23 years, such a beautiful place. Makes me smile to see others here on steem it from Colorado.

We (Coloradans) have started to do little meetups (in person). They just had one last week in Colorado Springs and are planning another for Denver I think.

Join Steemit.chat (It's external, you'll need to set up an account. Use your steemit name there too.)

Once in, find me @carrieallen in general chat and I'll get you in the rocky-mountain-steemit channel. You may be able to request... I'm not sure.

Welcome to steemit!😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28