A Walk in the Clouds to the Stupa

in #travel7 years ago

stupathumb

The Tashi Gomang Stupa - Crestone, Colorado

Although this is our home, every so often we must walk to appreciate the beauty of the magnificent spiritual traditions that surround us.

stupaselfie

This particular day was my 34th birthday, and I wanted to walk up to the Stupa, perhaps the most peaceful place in the area.

pathwalk

This walk in the clouds was a little bit longer than we remembered.

Tibetan flags and prayerful objects were laid all along the sides of the path.

creek

We saw a beautiful sunny storm on the valley floor.

stormy

Finally we glimpsed the Stupa through the trees.

stupathroughtrees

We were all alone at the Stupa. No meditators today.

carrieback

This is my favorite shot that we took. Breathtaking.

stupastair

backback

sunflower

stupaself

stupa2

I am not a student of Buddhism, but I walk a spiritual path.

There is a great deal of wisdom in acceptance, peace and silence.

creek

To learn more about this Stupa, visit http://www.kttg.org/

To learn more about Crestone, Colorado and the wonders it contains, follow me and my wife, @carrieallen

creekpic

Now everyone go find something beautiful and share it with the world!

Sort:  

Purely beautiful, Chris!

I am actually planning on heading from Florida, NW to Colorado for many reasons, including the hurricane and I'm looking for my next place to settle down, and Colorado is my favorite state 😄 It would be awesome to meet up for a bit! Never had a smoke-sesh with somebody from Steemit yet 😏

Fantastic! We're pretty much in the middle of nowhere. But safe. Literally, we're surrounded by a giant wall of mountains on every side. A lot of people are moving here.

I'm praying for your safety, and the safety of everyone down there. I can't imagine.

I would love to get together if you make it this way. Thanks!

I have visited Colorado at least 5 times in the last 3 years. We typically stay in Parker. However, we have ventured into the smaller towns and further into the mountains. Always a pleasure to visit such a beautiful place! I just left Grand Lake on the 30th.

I am not familiar with the Stuppa/Crestone. I appreciate the link to learn more of it. Followed you both!

That is a lovely monument. Do you find that the atmosphere changes when you approach a site of spirituality or mysticism? They are sites in which we invite individuals from the aetheric realms...if we switch our frame of consciousness, we can really tap into something.

Absolutely. I really feel it when I get near to these kind of places. But nature in general does it for me too.

The whole community we live in is a very "spiritually charged" place. Some of the crazier folks call it a vortex.

They say that we're exactly opposite Tibet on the globe. A lot of pilgrims from different religions have set up practices/foundations here.

It's a pretty interesting place.

Thanks!

Looks like a beautiful spot!

It most certainly is. But then again, it's hard to look in any direction here with seeing something beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31