A few words about myself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody, my name is Ron, and I'm excited to join the community and try out the platform. I've been interested in Crypto for a long while now and I've decided its time for me to change course, learn the technology, contribute, and make it my main focus, at least for a while. I thought I'll document my progress here in this blog.

This is me, looking into older technology. The picture was taken a few years ago in a day trip we took to Acre. Highly recommend it; amazing history and fun city.
akko.jpg

For the last 5 years I've been the lead developer in Swifto dog walking. Most of the development there uses PHP over the Drupal CMS, and small nodejs applications running on Heroku. Lot's of integrations with other services, and leverage of various AWS services including lambda functions, Rekognition, etc. Interesting stuff. However now that I want to start a new, I feel that I need to come up to speed and learn some tools and technologies I missed during this time. So here is a list of things I would like to play with and familiar myself with.

Server side language: Golang
Single Page App: Vue.js (jump over React and Angular...)
Etherium: Understand better. Write contracts. No focus yet.
Lightning network: Initially focus on that. Understand and hopefully contribute.
Docker & Kubernetes: Feel comfortable with those two.

I'm married and have three kids. I like trail running. I haven't decided yet how much of my private life I want to share here.

Happy days!

Sort:  

Hello bluetegu! Welcome to Steemit! We believe you'll like the great community here. Here are 5 essential tips that will help facilitate your onboarding process:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account so keep all 4 keys safe and secured.
  2. Get Steem rewards: You can earn 2 types of rewards: author rewards and curation rewards. You can also choose how to receive your author reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". Which option is preferred can change over time.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published. Also make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert your Steem into Steem Power to have greater upvote values.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thanks for the tips!


Welcome to Steem @bluetegu.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

See you there.
We will get to communicate more.

hello and welcome to steemit @bluetegu ! Good to have you here :)

Good to see you are interested in helping out w/ Lightening...I know more dev power is needed to get that tech to prd.

Of course, always a good idea to be cautious about sharing the bits of yourself in the public...the savages at the NSA don't take a break and they will harvest your lunchtime breadcrumbs in the park before the pigeons get them if they think there may be valuable intel there ;)

Steemit is a fun platform, try to be as active as you can, the experience seems to get better the more you put into it. BTW, I'm @danielshortell and I write short fiction here (a sidestep of sorts with respect to sharing the pieces of oneself here :)

Hi Daniel, thanks for the welcome. I'll be following your story telling!

Interesting article, you're done! Welcome to Steemitt, I wish you successful development. I followed you, I hope you will follow me.

Hi Dmitry, thanks for the welcome. I see we have common interests. I'm following you too.

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,It takes patience,commitment,perseverance and dedication to succeed on steemit.you can follow me @donkelly

Hi Don, thanks for the welcome. Interesting posts you've got on your blog!

Thanks bro,i feel encouraged

Hi and welcome to Steemit. Love your introduction post. If you have some questions or need any help, feel free to follow me @cryptomoneymade. Best regards :)

Hola que tal, muy buena tu presentación, sera un gusto seguirte y ver el desarrollo .éxitos en los que emprendas.

Welcome
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! 🤛 and You Will earn money. 💴💸💰be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!❤️
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland

Thanks Britt and Josie for the welcome. Thanks for the tips!

Hi @bluetegu and welcome to Steemit!

I never heard about Swifto, but god I wish there were a service like that where I live in France...

Good luck on your familiarization with everything's interesting you, I personnally enjoy Vue.js for a month now, and can't say more than : go have fun with it ;)

Hi raseliche, Thanks for the welcome. Great dog posts! Swifto unfortunately provides service only in NY. Late January this year, SoftBank, the giant Japanese investment fund invested $300M in a dog walking company, wag labs, which started in 2015, and copied what they could from us. I guess they'll be providing services around the world in the coming year. I hope with this amount of money they'll be able to improve their services too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77