Hello everyone, new guy here, follow us on our journey.

Hi, my name is Branden and I live in central Pennsylvania, US. I recently joined Steemit in hopes of documenting me and my loves new journey (as well as some other hobbies of mine). My wife Tabitha and I recently purchased some land with a barn, and over the next year or so we are going to be converting the barn into our home. We want to try and slow down and live a simpler life and actually get to enjoy friends, family, and each other. We are tired of the everyday grind and decided at this point we work very hard and have alot of nice things but if you can't enjoy them and share them with others then what is really the point. As I get older I realize time is the most valuable assest and we want to enjoy the time we have here.

rainbow.jpg
This was taken along the Susquehanna River a couple miles away from our new barn.


We want to take this property and make it into something that we can be more self-sufficient. We have some ideas of doing gardens and raising chickens and rabbits. Cutting our own wood for heating, also working with neighbors by helping each other and bartering. This is going to be a big project but we are dedicated.




20170710_184539.jpg
Looks pretty rough right now!

20170710_184546.jpg
Sun coming down on the hill after a long day.

20170714_161744.jpg
We recently got some of the brush mowed down around the perimeter of the barn in this one.




So if you're interested check in from time to time to see what kind of progress we are making. I will hopefully along the way be posting some how-to's for some of our projects as well. But I'd like to keep you up to date on some of the stuff that we like to do for fun too. Thanks for reading and I hope you'll come with us!

Sort:  

Welcome, I hope you choose the right pill.
I followed you and resteemed your post, follow me back please :)

Thanks for your attention.

G'day and Welcome, I love your barn and in such a beautiful location, best of luck with your journey and the sharing of it. @kiaraantonoviche shared you post here in the SteemitHomesteaders Slack channel so I came to greet you from there!

Hello, thank you so much, we are in love with it! Can't wait to make progress and show more. Thanks @kiaraantonoviche for sharing, I'll have to setup Slack so I can check it out.

welcome @Banewrath to Steemit ! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Hi there, thank you! I followed you in return.

Awesome! Welcome to Steemit guys! As @overthewait said, you were featured on our "new-steemians" channel on our Slack community. So... welcome (again)! That barn look amazing, what character. I really like the stacked rock basement/foundation. Also what a great looking property! 100% upvoted and following you guys.

I see now, you're on the slack channel. :-)

Here's a link to the announcement post for the SteemitHomesteaders community if you want to read up more on it, etc.

https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

I thought the same thing when I saw that foundation. I have a crazy love affair with old buildings

Thanks for the kind comments, looking forward to contributing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by greenacrehome from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to Steem @banewrath I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi Branden, welcome to steemit. If you are looking for like-minded people here you might want to check out the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit :

If you would like to be added to the list let me know.

Welcome to steemit, there are a lot of homesteaders here also, I will share this to get you seen...

Hey bro welcome to the team! I hope you will have an amazing journey here, make a lot of friends and have a lot of fun as the rest will follow. The land that you purchased looks very nice... hmm and looks like you and your wife will have a lot of work to do but please don't forget as well to be eco-friendly... and always Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51