Hi Everybody, I'm New to Steemit! I'm a Writer, Artist, Photographer, Programmer, Speaker and Adventurer, and Want to Share my Passion with You!.

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,

I hope everybody is doing well. My name is Andrieu and I'm excited to finally make my first foray into the world of Steemit. I've been meaning to check it out for a long time now, but never got around to it. Given that I've been into blockchain for some time, Steemit should have been something I'd joined long before, but alas not. Well, still, better than late than never I suppose!

Painting

I have many passions. One of those passions is painting. I love to paint! I wish I could find more time to put brush to canvas, but work commitments often mean that I can't paint as often as I'd like. I'm not particular about what medium I paint with, but I tend to be partial towards oil paint loaded with liquin lately. I love the way liquin looks - that sort of egg-shell finish, and I also love the way it dries quickly, but not as quickly as acrylic, allowing you to apply glazes like no tomorrow!

Here are is a painting of my dog, done in acrylics:

dg.jpg

And here is a visionary art peace of a Cosmic Peacock painted in oils with numerous glazes.

pckock.jpg

I hope to share with you some of my painting techniques, as well as find fantastic artworks and lessons here on steemit. I'd love to teach, and I'd love to learn from all of you. There's so much to learn out there, and you can never, ever know everything about your craft! As the great writer Chaucer once said:

"The lyf so short, the craft so longe to lerne..."

Life is too short to learn everything! We can only learn as much as we can.

Writing

Aside from painting, I also love to write. Poetry, prose, whatever. I look forward to sharing my writing here with you. I have written at least a million words of prose, and perhaps 100,000 words of poetry over my lifetime, and although most it is not very good, I still love to share anyway. In writing, as in art, there is a lifetime of learning to hone one's craft to the point of mastery. It almost seems impossible!

My favorite authors include: Stephen King, Clive Barker, Nietszche, Joseph Conrad, among many others.

Technology

I'm also passionate about web development, programming, bitcoin, and all things tech! The bitcoin bulls are running at the moment, so let's hope they don't lose steam!

Travel and Adventure

Finally, I am a keen traveller, and an avid adventurer. I love visiting wild, far-flung places. My dream is to one day trek to Everest. I try to travel every year or two, finances permitted. I have had the privilege to travel to the arctic circle, the antarctic circle, and numerous places in between. The world truly is a magnificent place, and for us to be able to fly in this modern era is amazing; we should feel blessed and grateful that we can do so many things that our ancestors couldn't even dream of doing.

I have various expeditions planned for the coming years. In a month I will travel solo to Mt Kosciuszko in Australia and camp overnight near in the snow. I'm excited about that. Although Mt Kosciuszko is an easy hike, in winter it is a bit more challenging. It also happens to be one of the 7 Summits. I'll document this journey right here on Steemit, as well as at other locations online.

desert.jfif

My other long-term adventure is a solo unsupported walking journey across the Simpson Desert in Australia. That is scheduled for July 2020. Few people have attempted to cross the Simpson solo and without support. It is a journey of 400km (248 miles), along rugged, sandy terrain. I anticipate 10 to 12 hours a day of forced marching at a pace of 2 miles per hour. I have been in training for this adventure for the past 3 months. Ruck training with 80lb to 100lb on my back whilst marching for 2 to 3 hours at a 4 mile per hour pace is my standard "easy" workout now. Consider that I suffered from years of deep suicidal depression (a horrible place to be, and I will discuss it at length in later posts), the world now looks bright. I want to challenge myself. I want to surpass myself. In the words of the great mountaineer Reinhold Messner:

"I do it to know myself."

I hope to document all of my journeys here, and I hope you will find the stories I have to share with you inspiring and valuable in your own lives.

Anyway, that's all from me. I wish you guys all the best! Take care!

Sort:  

WOW AMAZING PAINTING! BOTH, THE PEACOCK! WOW! HI , MY NAME IS FRANCESCA @PRETTYNICEVIDEO . WELCOME TO STEEMIT AND STEEM BLOCKCHAIN! IT CAN BE CONFUSING AT TIMES SO IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, JUST ASK! IF I HAVE QUESTIONS, I'LL ASK TOO. LOLOLOL

Thanks Francesca!

Welcome to Steemit! You sound like a very interesting person and I'm looking forward to seeing you around. I can't wait to see more of your artwork as I really like those two that you shared. I'm also looking forward to your travel adventures, especially the one that you planned for next year. It's going to be extremely tough (I guess) but you seem to be highly motivated and disciplined in preparation so I'm sure that you managed.

There are many communities and contests that you could join depending on your interest. You can also join discord groups related to travel, art, etc.. You can use travelfeed tag for your travel post and you can also pin them to the Steemitworldmap if you want to reach wider audience..

I wish you a lot of fun! Have a nice day!

Thanks @delishtreats! That's some great information, and for your awesome comment. Yes it will be tough, but tought things are often worth it!

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thanks - checked it out and it looks interesting. It's great to find like-minded people. Thanks!


Welcome to Steemit @awmobbs!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome Andrieu,
to the Steemit platform, Yes its happening you are a steemian now. This is the moment to warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper.
To easy post use Partiko and to control your account use Steemify.
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
It gives you insight on what is happening in your account.
Maybe great to join Steemterminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.
Here is what we do :
https://steemit.com/heyhaveyamet/@heyhaveyamet/meet-the-hhym-and-the-steem-terminal-crew-part-one-hhym
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Welcome awmobbs!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello and welcome to Steemit Andrieu, receive a vote to support you. I invite you to read my guide about Steemit: https://tinyurl.com/BasicSteemitGuide and my blog about technology https://toninoxp.blogspot.com/p/topics.html

Welcome to Steem awmobbs! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hello and welcome to the Steem platform @awmobbs.

Thank you for taking the time to introduce yourself on here.

That was a really well written and in-depth post.

I wish you all the best and plenty of success on here. 👍

Also I really like the cosmic peacock 🦚 painting, it looks amazing.

If you have any questions on how to navigate the page or Steem in general, feel free to reach out to the community members.

We‘re glad to help.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your comment and for the welcome, patrizius92!

Congratulations @awmobbs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48