Heraclitus Once Said "We Cannot Exist Without Strife" But That Does Not Mean We Cannot Co-exist Without It

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Heraclitus Quote by Anike Kirsten

This is my philosophy, one I hope is shared amongst people across the world, from the privileged and the disenfranchised, the lower and upper classes, the East and the West, and everyone in between. Why? For equitable approach. I support the notion of equality, but I do not believe its current campaigns warrant utmost devotion or attention. Instead, we -- especially those of us with privileges -- should be focused on implementing campaigns and initiatives of equity. Where equality is the big picture, so to speak, equity is the brush strokes, the colours used, and the style techniques of this big picture (really, painting, for the metaphor).

I do not advocate the approach of taking from those who have and giving to those without; the world is not that simple, as critiqued by William J. H. Boetcker when he said "You can't strengthen the weak by weakening the strong..." along with the other 10 Cannots. No, it is my opinion that making opportunities more available to the oppressed as well as making resources and education more accessible, is key in establishing the foundation of equity and, thereby, equality.

These are my sentiments, of which I aim for in delivering, through narratives in both fiction stories and non-fiction articles, arguments and observations. I am Anike Kirsten, an emerging social science fiction author from South Africa, new to SteemIt and therefore a minnow, and this is my introduction post.

Anike Author Photo

The Basics:

I am, at the time of writing this, 28 years old and born female (and would rather not comment on how I identify). I'm married and have two children. I began writing several years ago, but never took it seriously until 2016. I have a passion for the social sciences, specifically sociology and anthropology, as well as for the physical sciences, especially in cosmology and quantum mechanics. I am also a Layman, having no tertiary education due to socio-economics, though I do not let that hinder my pursuit of understanding. My goals for writing include being professionally and academically published, establishing authority in the sociology and science fiction fields.

Of Beasts and Men Auriga Of Constructs and Men

The Writing:

I am an independently published author (read: by choice) as far as books are concerned. I have released two titles thus far, the third will join them in February, and have had two flash fiction pieces published, not yet professionally although my non-fiction work has been mentioned in Geoff Ryman's series of articles published in Strange Horizons magazine. I am also a member of the African Speculative Fiction Society.

Anike Identity Verify 28 Nov 2017

I do look forward to integrating into the SteemIt community as a contributor and I thank you for taking the time to read this. I wish you a good day further.

Anike Kirsten

Sort:  

"You can't strengthen the weak by weakening the strong..."

Welcome! Have you read Kurt Vonnegut's "Harrison Bergeron"? I like to use that one with my students.

Unfortunately, no. I've been meaning to read his work, but haven't yet.

Whoa. That's dark! Lovely critique on equality and the dangers of affirmative action.

I didn't realize you were out of the country when I was talking about SFWA, as though it was the end-all-be-all organization. Sorry.

The magazine I write for, IGMS, has done some themed anthologies by partnering with a Brazilian organization. It might be cool to do some African anthologies, to broaden the horizons of Americans. How much is written in English, as opposed to Afrikaans or some other language?

Most local SFF is written in English, same with most of African SFF, too. There have been several initiatives for African anthologies, but nothing prestigious or endorsed by the SFWA that I know of. But yea, SFWA is a big deal here as well, it carries the name and that can make an author alone.

Hey @anikekirsten,

Good post. Two things we have in common. I'm also located in South Africa and I like fiction as well. More the movies than actually reading the books. It looks like writing is nothing new to you ... Maybe you can give me some writing tips ...

Anyways, welcome to Steemit. Steemit has lot’s of potential. As a newby you must have some questions. I know I did. I created a few articles as I went through my learning curve. For a fast start you can check them out at:

Hope this helps. This is it from me for now.

As a fellow Steemian
Thanks for being here.
You're awesome and I look forward to seeing your content …

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Thanks a lot! Great to see other South Africans on board.

Congratulations @anikekirsten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit dude!

Thank-you! I'm already loving it.

welcome & great to see you getting active here! :)

Thanks! I look forward to finding some great reading material on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99