Re-Introducing Myself: My Journey from losing everything to finding a way

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)


 photo 1780731_10154751598495311_151187133794301277_n_zpsasxj4hm4.jpg

Account Recovered; I’m back! I thought I’d lost all of my info and been locked out for good. But I’ve regained access to this steemit account after nearly 2 years. In which time, there have been so many changes, in my life and the world. Where to begin?

Why don’t I just dive right in...

For the past two years and before I’ve had to live with the effects of PTSD and CPTSD including hypervigilance, dissociation, frequent panic attacks, insomnia, TMJ, and more.

These symptoms when they get bad enough compound one another and lead to agoraphobia, I literally don’t want to leave the house, ever. It doesn’t help that I live in a very small town and despite my best intentions, motives and personal conduct, I’ve inadvertently made a few enemies here, people you don’t want to mess with.

It’s always darkest before the dawn

I have flashbacks, depression, fatigue and dysregulation of my emotions.
I’m not crazy, though sometimes It’s felt that way. But, what may be worse than all of that, is the feeling of sometimes being completely out of step with the world.

As an aside: I’ve had a number of unique experiences I know most people may not be able to relate to. Beginning when I was very young.

Hitting rock bottom

Hitting Rock Bottom

I wound up homeless for a time, because of my symptoms, a dark night of the soul (not my first) that would eventually bring healing; Yeah, that’s not what I expected either. It was through that experience my heart really opened up again, after many years of walling it off (unconsciously and unknowingly), operating mostly from the mind and my personality structure. I allowed myself to receive again, to ask for help when I needed it and then I began to see others again, clearly, in a way I hadn’t seen people for quite some time and when I gave, I gave more fully from the heart.

It’s a difficult thing to convey. My experience can’t be easily described in words.

I’ve spent most of my life focused on the wrong things.

I'm aware that what I thought I wanted, what I thought was necessary for a fulfilling life is merely a byproduct of something much greater.

I’ve felt and come to know the presence of the divine.
It’s no longer a question or a matter of faith or lack of faith for me.

The Kingdom of God is Within

I discovered through my experience what the words ‘The Kingdom of God is Within’ really mean. My life now is one in which I’m thankful every day to have a roof over my head, food to eat and clothes on my back.

My life depended on me finding a way, a way through, a way to heal.
I’m still healing, it’s a process. I’ve come a long way and learned a lot, from the ground up.

Throughout this process of healing, I’ve spent countless hours immersing myself in learning psychology, comparative religious and mystical traditions and techniques to learn what others have known as it relates to my firsthand experience.

The past couple of years the insights have sort of incubated.

I’ve been able to test many of my theories and look long enough at the problem(s) of trauma and pain for patterns to emerge, then by corroborating what I’ve learned, refine, retest, look for parallels in others' experiences, then, finally derive a conclusion.

Higher ground

By getting in touch with what you might call my higher self—through this process, I’ve learned to pay attention to the signs and synchronicities unfolding daily. This is simply part of my life now that I can no longer deny or pretend away as I reconnect to Spirit.

I’m frequently surprised to find how closely what I’ve learned and theorized - based on my experience - coincides with what I find in a book, or other resources. Because I’m always intent on connecting the dots. The knowledge I've built is extrapolated from various insights and theories, guided by intuition, filtered through critical thinking. Though often the information comes to me like an epiphany, directly from that part of me that's connected to something larger.

For me, the hard times, the shit, has been fertilizer for new growth.

I'd like to share the knowledge from that development with you.

Right Way

I still struggle to make my way financially because of my symptoms, but I’m getting better, healing, and reconnecting to myself again to a degree I wouldn’t have thought possible only a couple years ago.

As I’ve uncovered ways of healing myself, I’d like to begin sharing some of my lessons and insights. As a planet right now, we seem to be going through a time of revealing, as the ancients prophesized. Perhaps others who are experiencing similar situations or symptoms may find relief through the methods and techniques. If you haven’t experienced the dark & the light in such a way, perhaps you’ll be more interested in the meaning. Maybe there’s something deep within, calling you to reconnect too. Or maybe you won’t be interested at all. That's ok too. I'm willing to take the risk, even if it means alienating some people by aligning to what's true.

I don't mean to be provocative. My hope is that Steemit is still a place that values uniqueness, where one can freely share perspectives, even if they're outside the box. Thanks for reading.

New Growth

Photo Credits:

Cover Photo: Adam Scott Miller, Adamscottmiller.com
(Used with permission.)
Photo #1.) by Luke van Zyl on Unsplash
Photo #2.) by Daniel Olah on Unsplash
Photo #3.) by Elaine Casap on Unsplash
Photo #4.) by Jaime Casap on Unsplash
Photo #5.) by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @adamthor.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem adamthor! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Your experiences seem similar to mine in a lot of ways. Especially the psychological stuff which led you on a spiritual path to come to terms with the suffering.

Have you ever looked into vipassana meditation (dhamma.org)? If not, you definitely should. I have done several retreats at this point, but I was really relieved of the suffering caused by my dissosiative disorder halfway through my first 10 day intensive meditation retreat.

It is nuts when we begin to realize just how much misery we generate for ourselves by blindly reacting to our conditioned perceptions of reality.

The cycles are started by trauma of some kind, but can overcome by learning to observe without reaction.

I've heard of vipassana, yes.
Yes, I've also had similar experience, in nature, simply observing and letting go.
For me, the acute trauma related to PTSD is fairly recent, making it more difficult in many ways.
But, I've also got a process for that. It works at least 90% of the time to detect onset and walk-back-down the fight/flight/freeze response. It's sort of like a muscle though, my techniques aren't really stand alone strategies, it's..more of a shift in paradigm. I can't guarantee it would work as well for someone else, as it does require a high degree of awareness. A lot of that has to do with being connected to the heart and spirit. I can't personally take credit for what I've discovered.

Thanks for sharing your experience with me @nuthman.

Here's to mutual healing.

Congratulations @adamthor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14