steemit intro

in #introduceyou7 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure how I got here, honestly. 

I got all manic one night and decided to take a long drive.

I ended up in Maryland, which is weird because I honestly thought that I was headed west the entire drive. My starting point was Middle Tennessee. IDK. Then I saw a sign as the sun was coming up that said something about the Potomac River and Virginia is for Lovers and then boom 'WELCOME TO MARYLAND'. It is worth noting here that I would have never noticed these signs had I not been staring out the windshield at what I was convinced at the time was undoubtedly a flying craft of deep space origins. I'm still not convinced it was otherwise.

Anyway, I figured what the heck, I'd went that far in a direction I thought was west and was not, might as well see what Maryland has to offer in early summer / late spring. 

Goat farms. Float tanks. Data farms. Government and military stuff. Farms. Street art in some places. And anyway, I don't remember much about Maryland, other than thinking that whoever drew the state lines for that state was obviously drunk. Have you seen Maryland on a map? It makes the least sense of any state. Fact. 

So, yeah, HELLO STEEMIT... I heard about you from a goat farmer in Maryland. Funny how these tings happen. 

My name is Dave. I will continue to offer valid, useful, critical feedback about this platform. I may or may not do so in a humorous manner. I may digress. I may post original art, original poems, original stories, unoriginal thoughts, and news, yes maybe even news... 

"Let me please introduce myself, I'm a man of wealth and taste..." TRS

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @wrighdl0 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @bottymcbotface what is an upvote? what is a tip?

Welcome to Steemit Dave. I look forward to your honest feedback about this platform. Wishing you the best and Following your blog. :)

@dheerajdj One of the interesting features about this platform that I dig is the option to view one's comments both in context and as a single comment void of any contextual information. Back in the day some crazy communication philosopher posed the idea that the medium is the message. Marshall McCluh... something I think was is name. The idea being that the medium in which content appears affects the meaning of the communication event as much as if not more than the content itself. We pick up a newspaper, we turn to the business section, we read about business. Expectations are met. Relevant local and national business news is reported. So it goes. But consider picking up that same message and reading a long fart joke disguised as a business news report. The joke's punchline may be lost in the confusion created in the disconnect between the medium and the message. We expect that particular medium to carry a particular message. And it does. Now consider this idea one step further: the context is the message. We walk into a comedy club, on the bar is a recent copy of the local business section, we pick it up and begin reading it only to find a long fart joke disguised as a business report. We recognize the punchline readily; we are after all in a comedy club.

Point: the interesting thing it seems about @steemit is this little feature. We can contextualize a comment, or we can de-contextualize a comment. And if we choose we can read entire threads without the lurking anxiety that comes from knowing that undoubtedly there are no privacy settings that are hindering our understanding of the communication event. This happens on most other platforms, for me anyway.

point point: steemit seems like an interesting platform to examine particular aspects of both intrapersonal and interpersonal digital communication.

The tell tale will of course be... who is a quick enough, witty enough, unique enough writer/communicator/participator to ensure that they will never be confused for a natural language generating, intuitive, rapid learning bot.

Style, turn of phrase, innuendo, etc... the techies make the bots, the scientists give them a digital existence... however it will be the artists, the writers, and most importantly the poets who will give them personality, style, and ultimately maybe, just maybe, the language of humanity.

cheers.

ps was this written by a bot^? am I communicating with only bots? has the whole world gone mad? is this... wait... is this Terminator 5...The annoyance of the chatbots?

#arebotsbots? #thechatbotstastelikechatbots

Congratulations @wrighdl0! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit community, nice to meet you.
I am very happy to share with you, I invite you to follow me at @chantha, Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it.
I can not wait for your best postings. See you ...

welcome here Wrighdl0 ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me...

Welcome to steemit! I can't wait to see some more of your writing. We have a fiction workshop at the PAL Discord Channel if you are interested. Check out @papa-pepper he has the best guide for people who just joined steemit. Hope you enjoy!

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

Welcome!

Be you animal, vegetable or mineral?

animal vegetable mineral man sounds like a new foe for godzilla

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86