Introducing me... a Ruby coder, guitar/bass player, singer/songwriter, football fan and admirer of creativitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians,
First of all, I apologize for not posting this before my other articles. I hope it's better that I'm late to the party than not ever to be found.

My name is Ryan and I grew up in Houston, TX. I went to Cypress Springs High School, but admittedly, I wasn't the best student. I got into computers and stayed up late playing Quake in those days which caused much of my sleep to happen in class. Adding to this, my family also moved around quite a bit causing other issues and eventually I found myself in Bellingham, WA. I did happen to pick up the guitar during my time in Texas, so it wasn't all for not.

I likes Music

young-guitar.jpg

In Bellingham, I joined a semi-successful band and even found myself touring the West Coast one summer. The band was International Businessmen (or IB). There's not much to be found of the project on the web, but I was able to save a morsel here (I apologize ahead of time for both the subject matter AND the peaked audio):

I ended up leaving IB in 2003 because I really wanted to front a band; not just play guitar. I spent a couple years writing some less than charming songs and in 2005, I formed Strait A Students. For about 3 years, I poured my heart and soul into that project and we did some pretty cool things... like getting ourselves on Pandora and also on some of those digital jukeboxes found in bars. We also made this really stupid music video:

I likes Footballs

I'm also a big American Football fan and was fortunate enough to see the Seahawks win a title with some of my best friends:

seahawks-sb.jpg

I also watched the Hawks lose one the following year... and in the most depressing fashion.

y-u-no.jpg

Even Demaryius Thomas would have wanted Lynch to run it in...

demaryius.jpg

Ok, maybe not, but yes, that's me with DT. My Wife is from Colorado. Her aunt, uncle and his family used to live right next door to him. It was pretty surreal meeting one of the NFL's most prolific wide receivers, and I'm so glad I was wearing my Lynch jersey that day! Speaking of my Wife, we dated for eight years and finally tied the knot last year at the beautiful Lairmont Manor in Bellingham, WA. Our friend Jed drove with his family all the way from Montana so he could sing the song for our first dance.

married.jpg

I likes Code

I'm also an aspiring software developer as of 2012. After doing sales and marketing for roughly 7 years, I decided I would like to acquire some new skills and landing a job writing SQL. I've learned a fair share of HTML/CSS since then, too and have become pretty handy busting out small web apps with Ruby on Rails. As of 2015, I spend my days writing PHP and Ruby for the Cloud Security Alliance.

I also very recently threw together a small crypto tracking app called MyCoinBag. You can use it to track your crypto holdings. Here's a little screenshot:

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 11.35.25 PM.png

I have many deeply rooted friendships here and had no idea, when I moved to Bellingham in 2000, that I would still be here 14 years later. I am so incredibly fortunate to have found a place I can call home in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. That's about all I have, so I'll leave you with a photo of my friends and I doing our best 80's impression.... thanks for reading!

theme-parties.jpg

Sort:  

Hey friend! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you're enjoying the community here! Followed! :D

Hello @unrared Great introduceyourself post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a a month, a can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB
Usefull steemit tool
The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!

Here is one post from @yoda1917 That i think Is useful to have a look too
just halt for a moment

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Thanks for providing these resources. It looks like RandomWhale is sitting at 25% vote power. Is this normal? Still worth it?

That's true, since I made The randowhale post It makes several changes on its rules, most of then was good, like now you only have to send 1 SBD but its vote is really low
I just made a try some minutes ago, I paid 1 SBD and it votes at 2,03 $ in my post, I guess it is still worth but not as much as before, for now I'm more like watching and waiting for the whale to "take a nap" and stop voting to recharge its power, but I have no Idea when its going to do it, So I would say best thing now is hold a little to see what happen
thank for your reply !

Steem on!

Yea, it's still good, but sounds like not as good as before. I found @worldclassplayer is of better value, but I think he's doing upvotes manually. I got two upvotes last night, but waiting on 3 others. He also resteemed one of my posts which I was really surprised about.

oh I didn't know about this one !!!
thank you so much to share ! I'll check it out too!

Steem on Bro !

I'm gladly following you too ^^/

nice introuction. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Great intro and welcome to the Steemit community man :)

HiiUnrared nice to read about you.i am surendra from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck.

Welcome to Steem @unrared I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Nice! Looking forward to more posts from you, keep up the good work! Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Welcome Unrared !! hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

You Received an UpVote from @worldclassplayer. To Learn More, See DetailsHere

Welcome to steemit :)
I gave you an upvote and a follow, looking forward to see what you will post.
Feel free to follow back so we can get a larger network and upvote my recent post: https://steemit.com/movies/@bachone/must-see-horror-movies-part-1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29