Hello DTube

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)


Hello STEEM!

I haven't learned enough about the platform yet to be expert-level comfortable with uploading video and posting to steemit, but I thought it's time to quit lurking and to thank the people who have already done so much to make this a vibrant and welcoming platform.

I'm a software developer with a significant interest in blockchain technologies and distributed systems. I'm going to be spending much of my time here producing video and interacting with the DTube community. That being said, I'm also really pretty thrilled with the seemingly friction-free interaction between all of the applications on the STEEM blockchain. Since I spend a fair amount of time thinking and typing, posting to Steemit and interacting with the Steemit community seems like a good natural fit.

The things that stand out to me as really important qualities of this bold new experiment are:

  • Decentralized/Distributed systems are a vast improvement over the existing structures. Empowering everyone to create and share knowledge is a core principle of the internet. I'm glad we are taking steps to fulfill that goal.
  • Freedom of speech and freedom of expression are vital aspects of a well-functioning society. When powerful people and organizations attempt to control everyone to suit their own purposes the result is usually sub-optimal.
  • This kind of individual empowerment is not without its risks, and can easily get out of hand. It is up to all of us to treat others with respect if we want a world which supports that kind of freedom. I am encouraged by what I've seen so far with the community that is forming on STEEM, and I'm thrilled to be a part of it.

Just so that mini sermon isn't misconstrued, I am not suggesting that we all have to agree about everything. My view of human interaction is that disagreement is both unavoidable and actually useful. My hope is that we all continually strive to be good listeners, that we learn from each other, and that we find ways to exist with others in beneficial ways. I'm not so naive to expect that everyone will behave. I do expect that if enough of us are thoughtful and civilized, but also strong and committed to creating a society which works correctly, then those that wish to create mayhem and harm will not get very far in their pursuits.

And with that, we're off to the races. It's up to you. Don't let this turn into a cesspool, we already have enough of those. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention it, but I for one welcome our new robot overlords. Doesn't ever hurt to CYA on that topic :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @toddmck!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

This is awesome Todd! Wow you got the green screen too! That's amazing :D

Thanks for the vote of confidence, it means a lot. I've got tons to learn still, but it's my kind of fun :)

Congratulations @toddmck, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome to steemit, toddmck. Hope you would enjoy your stay here.
Here are some tips for building your steemit account rapidly: https://steemit.com/steemit/@successforall/how-to-build-your-steem-dollar-and-steem-power-rapidly-with-usd0-budget-newbies-minnows-support-success-for-all-project

welcome! Looking forward to read more from you :)

Hi welcome to steemit platform. Are you interested in joining any contest here in steemit? example drawing ,photoshoot travel and more type why dont join my discord and get update every contest click here. https://discord.gg/47UYDv

welcome to steemit :)

Thanks! It's been great so far :)

Welcome to the platform! Please subscribe to my channel and I'll do the same for you! We can build the community together.

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 3 Reasons To Keep A Journal

Thanks for the welcome! I'll take a look at the videos, looks like you put some significant effort into that :)

Yes, despite what others think, I am really motivated to help others grow on Steemit. That's why I made the videos. Of course, it would be nice if they start providing me with a source of income. However, that's not my sole intention. The faster people can grow on Steemit the better experience everyone will have. I truly believe that we can all become successful if we work at it.

Feel free to leave comments directly on the YouTube videos or on the @steemitvideos posts if you have any questions!

Welcome to Steemit!

Fully agree with you about decentralization. That's what is going to make this place so powerful when the masses are fed up :)

Well one can hope!

Anyways, welcome to the community. Awesome to have you here!

Hi Jon, thanks for the welcome! It looks like you've been busy since you got here - pretty impressive. Your message resonates with me. The future is ours to create - hopefully it's a good one :)

Appreciate that! Yeah trying to stay busy for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94