My Formal IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself7 years ago

Hellos, My name is Dillon. (I go by Niko.)

This will be my formal introduction to this great community.

To start off, this is my third post I've made, and I feel confident that I won't be too harshly judged.

My life has been alright compared to a lot of the population of the world, however; for me, it's been really difficult and full of obstacles I've had to and still have to overcome.

I'm a current foster youth and foster youth advocate with California Youth Connection. This is one thing that I take pride in for my achievements.

I've been in foster care since I was 5 and I've just turned 19 on July 4th. I'm in an extended foster care program which helps support me monthly, which I do take a small amount of shame in since I get so much more support than others do at my age, but still want more support.

Schooling has been fairly difficult for me, but I have found that going to alternative schools was better for my learning experience and grades. I'll be attending community college in the fall, and I'm not too sure how I'll do, but I'll be taking about 14 units. So, I'm nervous about my performance.

The main certificate that I'll be going for is Network Administration then eventually a degree at a university.

So... That's essentially all I can think of that I describe myself as, feel free to ask any questions.

Thank you for reading, hope to see you all around!
Dillon (Pfiffel)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @pfiffel I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey! Thank you a ton!

A new Steemian :-) hello @pfiffel I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thank you for the reply and welcome, buddy! I appreciate it!

my pleasure! :-)

Welcome, Niko! I didn't know there were extended foster care programs, but that's a great idea. There's no shame in it. Those of us that were blessed with being raised by our parents take advantage of their help when we transition to independence. Even the kardashians lived at home as adults. Good luck in college!

Thank you for the reply and welcome! There are now extended foster care programs (at least in California) under Assembly Bill-12. I feel blessed to be able to have it, as so so many others didn't have it. It lasts until one turns 21 and the medical insurance stays until 26, which is so wonderful. Thank you for the words of encouragement, and thank you for the blessings. Hope to see you around Steemit! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37