Intro to me

in #intro7 years ago

I'm a 33-year-old network engineer. How I got here is way more interesting that where I am by itself.

My life began as a struggle. I was born blue; the umbilical cord was wrapped around my head. My mother was on the common sedatives they gave at the time, and had some pretty funny exclamations when she saw me. I had a birthmark on my behind that looked like a heart (not so much anymore), so she said, "I have a carebear!" I've only recently shared this with people outside of my family, mainly because of how much the family that knew made fun of it. Eh, whatever...

I had a pretty basic childhood. I played sports, did ok in school, but then got into some trouble at 12 that had me change schools. At 13 I became the "man" to do things at my house. My dad had an accident that left him handicap. I tightened up and graduated high school at 16. However, at that age I didn't know what I wanted to "do", and after being with the football team at a community college for a year I left school with a "without failing" grade. I went to work and worked labor jobs until 20. I was working at a crane manufacturer and worked long hours often. I was able to save $10k in 10 months, but I was unaware how quickly that would go away.

In March of 2005, I broke my neck in a car wreck. The facts surrounding the incident are shady, but after beginning to go into that story, I don't think it's necessary here. If anyone wants to know I'll tell. So, I was in a medically induced coma for 3 weeks, during which my family was told that I was brain dead. I would need to be taught to read, write, walk and talk again. When they woke me up I ripped all the wires hooked up to me off and tried to leave. I had no idea what was going on. I had screws in my skull and bars in front of my face. They ended up sedating me and strapping me down. I was blessed, though. I healed faster than they thought I would and I was ready to go back to work in 4 months. The crane manufacturer held my job for me, which was nice, but I knew I needed to get out of manual labor if I didn't want to stay in pain my whole life.

I now have a Master's in Internet Security. I manage the network for multiple entities across the state and love what I do. I'm not sure what the focus of my posts will be here. Perhaps it will be random, as diversity is what I seem to be able to manage the best.

Sort:  

Lets buid network
I followed you Follow me @hirennamera i will upvote you and help in earning

Lets buid network
I followed you Follow me @hirennamera i will upvote you and help in earning

Congratulations @sivadm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sivadm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sivadm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47