Steem surf photo giveaway [Week 11]: 4 prizes worth 5 SBD

in #intrepidsurfer6 years ago (edited)

 I had an idea.


I thought about how to give this surf photo giveaway more soul. In the sense where we can actually see the community and all its interactions. Then I thought about mapping all the photos as they come in. So I made a map. 

Instead of scrolling over feeds. Feeds that are lost out of thought too quickly. Why not present the giveaway as a growing community with a lot more to offer.  Essentially looking at our map, yes our map, it gives it way more life. It is only in it's humble beginnings, but I welcome ALL input and we can make this great. 


Intrepidsurfer's Steem Surf Photo Giveaway Map

To make this work, please include the general location of where you took the photo and I will plug into the map. 

There will be four weekly Steem surf photo giveaway posts:  Wednesday to announce the start of the week; Thursday to announce the  previous weeks winners, Monday to remind everyone with a last call of the week, and: Tuesday is voting day. Voting day is when I will make a special post and place all photo entries in the comments section. Here you get to vote for your favourites. 

Week 11 prize pool is 5 SBD and will be disbursed as follows:

1st place: 2.5 SBD

2nd place: 1.5 SBD

3rd place: 0.5 SBD

Best wipeout: 0.5 SBD

All you have to do is post an amazing surf shot that YOU have taken. A quick description of the mood of the photo would be nice. I am not expecting that you tell us all which spot it is or roughly the area. 

Rules:

1) First tag must be  intrepidsurfer

2) Title must include "Steem surf photo giveaway [Week ..]

3) Please indicate where the photo was taken. This will be plugged into the map. 

4)All photos must be original and only posted here on Steemit. There is a zero tolerance to plagiarism.

5) Add a link (plus picture) to your surf photo to the comments section of this post. 

6) Spread the word to your friends. Easy way to meet people and potential get rewarded.

The winner will be decided by a public vote on a post I publish on  Tuesdays. In the event of a tie: I will decide and award accordingly. 

Happy surf sessions everyone. 

Bonus section:

This giveaway is kindly supported by @rephoto . Rephoto will upvote and resteem any surf photos that participate in this giveaway. 

If you would like to see my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Photographed in Sydney, Australia! May be the largest city in Australia but the surf pumps!

steem10.jpg

https://steemit.com/intrepidsurfer/@cam.mcfarlane/steem-surf-photo-giveaway-week-11

Hey mate, here's two entries from me. - https://steemit.com/intrepidsurfer/@revo/steem-surf-photo-giveaway-week-11-i-think. Both are posted to my social media accounts as well.

Cheers!

hello @revo and very nice shots. I like the second one most. I know you don't want to name the spot, but if you could indicate the coastal area and I will plug it into our Steem surf photo map. cheers @intrepidsurfer

Cheers @intrepidsurfer. The top one is Fingal Heads and the bottom one is Cabarita. Fingal Heads isn't very renowned for surfing, except when we get a cyclone swell and they sometimes tow in off the headland. Cabarita has some good waves and some really good surfers there. These breaks are just down the road from the famous Super Bank (Snapper Rocks to Kirra on the Gold Coast). So it's probably not surprising that we get really good surfers at Cabarita at least.

oh nice one, but cyclone swells are relentless once you are in the water and it only gets bigger :) I just plugged a photo to the world steem surf photo map.

totally right on week 11. My bad.

Beautiful light mate!

hey bru, good to see that place! I just put your post on the Steem surf photo map: https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?hl=en&mid=1rm_OuBUIHhweDRciuJeKhdRqs7Uk_k4u&ll=13.67360882625408%2C-162.04696555000004&z=2
plus my fault, but it is week 11 and not 10.

sweet :) tonight was an a good sunset for the winter solstice here. I just plugged this photo in the Steem surf photo map

thanks! not much going on here near Barcelona as far as sunsets :(

sweet :) and good to see Woolli again. I surfed there loads and loads. Just put your post on the Steem surf map: https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?hl=en&mid=1rm_OuBUIHhweDRciuJeKhdRqs7Uk_k4u&ll=14.917873202303392%2C-124.4347133&z=2

That's so cool - it's a small world.

Awesome - I wasn't able to view the Google map without permission, so I've just requested access with my Google account 'ben.adaptnetwork'. 🤙

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50