The Women I Know: International Women's Day Free-write Poem

in #internationalwomensday6 years ago (edited)

As a father of four daughters, as a husband, a brother, a friend, a son, a human, I am continually heartbroken by the abuses committed against women and girls.

These are often not the "routine" oppression that we all experience at times. No, these precious humans are so often perpetrated upon explicitly because of their gender.

Please reflect on this ode to the some of the strongest people I know.

The women I know solve problems.
The women I know give unconditionally, love without borders, and spread compassion.
The women I know wage wars for the defenseless, protect the marginalized, and give a voice to the voiceless.
The women I know lead vulnerably into unknown places where the rest of us lack the courage.
The women I know are builders, healers, teachers, explorers, inventors, and artists.
The women I know are keepers of ancient wisdom.
The women I know salvage treasures from rubbish.
The women I know have held me in my weakness, shown me what true strength is, and inspired me to be my best version.
The women I know embody the very concept of a beautiful soul.
The women I know have been underappreciated.
The women I know have been ignored when they should have been praised and scapegoated for problems that the rest of us created.
The women I know have been denied equal rights.
The women I know have been abused, spat on, objectified, and trivialized.
The women I know have been cat-called, solicited, and slut-shamed.
The women I know deserve more than just a day.
They deserve justice.

I am also particularly sensitive to the oppression of women that has come directly and officially from the Christian Church.

If any member of this faith that I share claims that women are some how less important to God's story, or less brave, or unfit to lead and fight, consider the follow:

  • Miriam; leading worship (Exodus 15)
  • Deborah; leading Israel (Judges 4)
  • Huldah; interpreting the law (2 Kings 22 & 2 Chronicles 34)
  • Esther; saving God’s people from genocide (Book of Esther)
  • Mary Magdalene; the first to preach the Gospel (John 20:1-18 & Mark 16:9-11 & Luke 24:1-12)
  • Mary of Bethany; anointing Jesus as the Messiah (John 12)
  • Mary of Nazareth; birthing the Savior of the world (Luke 1-2)
  • Anna; the prophet (Luke 2:22-40)
  • Joanna & Suzanna; disciples who traveled with Jesus (Luke 8:1-3)
  • Tabitha; a disciple known for her good works (Acts 9:36-42)
  • Priscilla; who corrected false teaching (Acts 18:24-28)
  • Lydia & Nympha; hosting house churches (Acts 16:11-15 & Colossians 4:15)
  • Phoebe; the deacon (Romans 16:1-2)
  • Junia; the apostle (Romans:16:7)

Until next time, be blessed.
~Sam

Image Source: Shadow, Smile, Sing

Recent Posts and Videos:



Regulators Craft Cryptocurrency Rules: From Tax to Criminal Charges
Steps of Healing #4: Birthdays are Worth Celebrating
Steps of Healing #3: Fireside with You
The Weight of Quiet: 15 Minute Free Write
Sunday Soul Tap #3: Into The Wilderness



Like most of you, I have been trying to build my Steemit account and community. It can take a lot of work to get started, but you are not without resources!

These two sites have helped me start to build a following and find great creators to follow and VIRTUALLY GUARANTEES upvotes and follows. But it is not a direct vote4vote/follow4follow. You upvote or follow accounts that you like and you earn points. These points make you visible for other users to find you and your content. Click the links are start growing your community.
Steem Follower
Steem Engine

Mannabase is a cyrpto approach to Universal Basic Income.
Sign up now for your FREE weekly distributions of Manna
Full disclosure: it is a referral link.

Sort:  

Women are the bone of the world

Bless you and thank you for this post. Your poem feels like one I could easily have written. Bravo, Sir. The women in your life are lucky to have you.

Upvoting and resteeming in honor of all the women in my life, and of International Women's Day.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I appreciate the support. Cheers.

You're welcome!
I also posted it on my FB page, so hopefully you'll get some traffic as a result. ;-)

Thanks awesome! Thank you for that.
I have been trying to get my FB community onto Steemit. So far I have one person with an activated account and a couple others with pending approvals. It's slow work making converts, haha.

That's the truth. I'm not sure I've even made that much progress. People do get stuck in their ruts. ;-)

Though I did finally get my husband onboard, though his account took literally two months to get approved! No idea why.

Maybe they just don't know that to do with Polish Vikings. ;-)

Haha. My wife didn't want her own account, but she might be making a few guest appearances on mine. So I'm really looking forward to that.

I've heard that account approvals have been taking a while. It might have something to do with the .5 SP and 15 delegation that it starts you out with. I'm sure there is not an unlimited supply. Who knows though.

Yeah, that's been going down steadily over time. He got .1 SP and just under 15 delegates, whereas when I joined, I got .1 SP and 25 delegated.

As you say, not an unlimited supply, but nice that they are still supporting new users by delegating them at least a little voting power.

We have to stop meeting like this @crescendoofpeace People will talk.

Greetings. I just happened to write a blog piece on that very subject. Thought you might be interested. Blessings. https://steemit.com/steemit/@mistermercury/rising-above-patriarchy

Thanks for the tip, @mistermercury. I'll have to check it out. Cheers.


This post has been upvoted & resteemed by @Tesouro, for more details see this post

The influence of women will always shape our world.

This has received votes from two accounts, @thundercurator and @entrepreneur916 to give you your 300%+ upvote of 0.06+.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75