Brighton Beach - Letting Go Of Stereotypes

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

When most of us think of beaches, we think of a long sandy terrain with white sands going as far as the eyes can see. We also think of blue, blue waters with huge waves crashing on the white sand. We picture ourselves taking long walks on the beach and maybe surfing the waves. Cue Brighton beach. Brighton beach has none of those qualities. The beaches are stony, the waters are not blue (they are bluish green) and there are no waves (at least there were no waves while I was there). This is the major reasons why I grew to love it so much.

Being at Brighton beach allowed me to let go of all stereotypical ideas of how a beach should look and instead appreciate this beach for what it is.

I went ahead and took a walk on the stony beach. It hurt my feet but I didn’t care. I loved it. I lay on the pebbles. It hurt my back but I didn’t care. I loved it. Then my imagination kicked in. I wondered how the pebbles felt knowing that unlike their fellow "beach colleague' (hehehe), no one wanted to walk on them. I felt sad for the pebbles and wandered what it was like to live the life of a pebble. What is the pebble’s point of view?
Well, here it is (All photos are mine)
IMG_2327.JPG
IMG_2340.JPG
IMG_2344.JPG

As you can see, their point of view is actually quite beautiful. They have an unobstructed view of the sea in front of them, the pier beside them, as well as the city behind them. They actually have it good.

Then I started to think of myself. I come from a country which has a lot of stereotypes attached to it. When I meet people for the first time and mention my country of origin, people instantly consult their list of stereotypes and expect me to fulfill them all. Some react with pity because they assume that I am extremely poor, while other react with veiled fear and uncertainty because they assume that I will attack them or defraud them. They expect all these characteristics from me without getting to know me and appreciating me for what I am. Just another person.
Little did they know that I actually have it good. Unlike what they see on TV, I am pretty comfortable. I am very well educated, I have ZERO debt and I can afford to go on a vacation to anywhere in the world. Just like the pebbles on Brighton beach, my point of view is actually quite beautiful.
It remembered my feelings towards the pebbles on Brighton beach. Remember how I felt pity at first? It occurred to me that I was just like those people. I judged the pebbles before making an effort to understand their point of view. I saw that I only learnt to appreciate Brighton beach for what it was by letting go of my stereotypical expectations and getting to understand its point of view.

We all need to teach ourselves and others to apply this knowledge to everyone and every situation we find ourselves. That way we are able to appreciate life for what is, instead of what we expect it to be.

I have to mention that I am by no means perfect. My learning is slow but I am taking small conscious steps each day to be better at this.

Please join me in my journey towards letting go of stereotypes. Thanks for reading.

Bonus photo for those that stuck with me until the end :)
IMG_2350.JPG

I just realized two things about this photograph that I had not seen before. One, My dress matches the sky and the other is that there is a sign beside me that says "toilet" and points to me! oh how rude! This sign needs to let go of its stereotypes LOL...

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 18:37:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 44.40/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me.If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Congratulations @oncebey60! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @oncebey60

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84