Give A Man The Power, And He'll Tell You Who He Really Is

in #inspiration6 years ago

It's funny to observe how people act when they are in a position to hold power. It doesn't matter which kind of power. It could be something like being just some small boss of only two or three people, having any other higher position in the company, or in politics being a member of Senate or parliament, having some ministerial position or being the head of government or even a president of some country.

It's all the same. The higher position is, and the more significant amount of power is available, the better people will show you who they really are. It's almost unbelievable how precisely right, and straight to the point Abraham Lincoln was when he said,

"Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power."

Man in PowerImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to Skitterphoto for man-power, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

I'm watching that phenomenon all my life, and every time over and over again I'm surprised how that rule of giving a man the power would reveal his character to the core of its bones.

One would show you their true inner rudeness or even cruelty. The others, especially if they don't need you in their further climbings for the even higher position, would show you their true carelessness, insensitivity, selfishness, egoism and self-seeking.

Running ChickenIllustration Source: Pixabay. Credits to Clker-Free-Vector-Images for poultry-running, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

Some others might surprise you by revealing how big chickens they are, in fact.
Such "chicken heroes" could uncover the astonishing amount of hypocrisy that may extend to the point where they wouldn't have guts to contradict even their yesterday's opponents, not even for the most righteous reasons and causes, and all of that, just not to eventually lose their current position and avoid to bring themselves into the slightest inconvenient situation.

I think that I "adore" that last group the most!

However, you don't have to go far away to search for such personas. It's enough to stay on Steemit and better look around. If you think I'm targeting with this the whales only, you would be very wrong. I've noticed the same pattern among members at all levels, from the smallest to the highest. The only difference is that at different levels a different amount of one's true character will be revealed. Nothing else! No other differences! Everything per the amount of power in holding and given authority.


DiamondImage Source: Pixabay. Credits to PublicDomainPictures for diamond, used under the CC0 Creative Commons license.

But there is also another group of people, although rare to find and a fewer group of individuals. That's those men and women among us who with bigger power become more giving, sharing and selfless, more helping, caring and supportive. They become more gentle and compassionate, with extra patience.

It doesn't mean that they are fools. Quite in contrary. They were walking ones along the same or similar path as you do now, and they still remember how it felt. Free of every self-seeking interest they would use all their power and authority to help you walk through the thorny part of the road faster if they can't remove you from it entirely.

That's most often self-effacing, and not highly exposed individuals, but therefore rare and hard to find true pearls and diamonds of every team, group, network or society.

Any kind or amount of power given to such people it's never going to be wasted!

Go and find them!

Don't listen what man talks, watch what man does, and you'll recognize them!


Posted on Tuesday, May 15, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

This remains that Good people are so hard to find. Man is bound to swell at any title given to him/her and when they don't turn out that way, people view them as Too good to be true

Nice piece you have there! Seems you've been studying human behaviour for long.

Well, if the years of experience and observing the world around me may be counted as 'studying human behavior' - then the answer would be "yes!" 🙂

The title immediately drew me in, I like these topics and you really wrote it good!

I really try to be in this last group you mentioned. My reasons that I want to be big is that I can help others. Nothing else. It's maybe hard to believe and I see a lot of people who even ''know'' me that they don't believe me 100%on that. But what can I say? I'm like that... I often say that this is not my time in this Universe to be, because people are very ugly inside and I still want to help them while they laugh at me why I'm even trying...

Anyway, I never liked power. I loved that quote ''Power is only given to those who are willing to lower themselves to pick it up'' - This here is more about that corrupt power that people are willing to pick up and stay down with it.

Also, that quote ''Don't walk behind me, I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me, I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend'' - This is the power I want, the one that is not superior or inferior to anyone, that kind of power that is easy to share! It doesn't mean that I don't want to be a leader, but instead, I want to show others that they can also be.

This leads to the quote I said on Steemit probably few dozens of times ''If you want to go fast - go alone. If you want to go far - go together'' - Meaning that if we go together we don't need to worry about crazy world things, we just move forward with much more ease than before...

Thanks for sharing this great post with us! Have a great day!

WOW - what a comment! I like it!
Especially I like the quotes you've mentioned here among which I would peek the following one as my favorite, only because it made me laugh aloud picturing some people lowering down to pick that power! 😉🙂

''Power is only given to those who are willing to lower themselves to pick it up''

Everyone wants to be in the giving group. I hope I can be there too. I hope I will not chicken out when I am in a higher position :D

This just reminded me of someone from work before. It took almost forever for her to be confirmed as manager. When that time came, that power went to her head. She even went on to say that there is a bridge between us and her and that we can never cross that bridge, meaning she is god and we are just mere pests.

I appreciate the people here who help newbies especially. They always think of ways on how to help.

hahaha - Your short story about the woman who finally got that manager 'chair' she was apparently craving for made me laugh and reminded me of some individuals very alike her.
That 'bridge' thing, on the other hand, reminded me of something opposite that happened to me several years ago when one of the cleaning ladies in the company approached me by saying, "You know, you are not a regular and normal CEO!"
I was like - What? I didn't know what does she means by that, and my first thought was as they were always (when things were going smoothly) accusing me of being too strict and demanding (and over a sudden change the opinion at stormy times), so while I was thinking, "What the heck did I do now to become additionally irregular and abnormal?" - she continued, "On any of my previous jobs, I have never met a CEO who truly listens and talks to everyone equally, willing to help as much as he/she can, but you do!"
I really didn't see that coming but I felt like I just received very unique and entirely unexpected beautiful present.

It just shows how humble you are and how much importance you give to people around you, above you and below you. Respect begets respect and that is what makes people succeed. To me, those are people who are the true leaders. I hope everybody can be that but even if the world will end, that can never happen.

I think you are too kind to me, while on the other hand, I believe she just had a very bad luck and quite ugly experience with her previous bosses and company managers. According to what she has told me, some of them were even mean.
Disregarding those who were not able to "cross the bridge" just to reply to simple, "Good morning! Good evening!" or, "Hello!" with the same or similar at all, by that showing the luck of some essential good manners, she was hurt the most by those who were purposely, e.g., dirtying the floors or toilets just after she cleaned them and stuff like that.
And I'm not talking about something that could happen by accident once or twice by one or another person. The stories she told me about few of them really were on the edge of horror from my point of view and nothing else but psychological maltreatment from some frustrated mean bastards.
I'm always wondering, don't those people know that the wheel of life is constantly circling, as well as everything we do to others will come back to us as a boomerang (with 100 times stronger force sooner or later), or those people just chose to ignore that fact!?!

Some others might surprise you by revealing how big chickens they are, in fact

Or how big of cocks they are. Sorry couldn't resist :)

But seriously great post @ana-maria. I think what you say is so True. I see it as well.

I will never understand some people and how they wield their Power. I know there are many here and they are just reckless and irresponsible and greedy..

But I also see some wonderful people who use their Power in such a humble and beneficial way that helps the rest of our Community.

You're right,,,we should always been on the look out for them :)

Thank you very much for your comment, and I'm glad to hear that we are on the same page, especially when it comes to search for those pearls and diamonds among us! 🙂

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

💓💓💓

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55